We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lugger Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lugger Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

747 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 737: English reviews
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned from a four day stay at the Lugger. What a wonderful experience! This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. The staff were amazing and happily attended to our every wish. The food was fab, as was our room (which was separate from the actual building, in the old lifeboat house). The little extra... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AngieCEssex
Kieran L, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AngieCEssex, Thank you for your review, its nice to hear that you enjoyed our extras and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Best wishes Kieran Lynch General Manager More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a very last minute booking and having known nothing about it, we were more than impressed. Staff a very courteous and attentive. Room and bed was huge. Very clean. Food was great and breakfast even better. Would highly recommend for romatic break, friends meet up or special occasion.

Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha1811
Kieran L, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trisha1811, Thank you for your comments and recommendation which I will share with all of our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon on your next visit. Best wishes Kieran Lynch General Manager More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This still is an unspoilt part of Cornwall with fishing boats still going out. It is very quite with only a hotel & pub. It is the part of the coastal path so good walks are the order of the day. The hotel is lovely & the restaurant is excellent but the menu does not change much & is very... More 

Helpful?
Thank pkt117
Kieran L, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pkt117 Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us but sorry to hear that our menus did not meet with your expectations. We do change items on our menu daily, and with advance notice we can make dishes to order providing our chef can source the ingredients. Best wishes Kieran Lynch General... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Lugger was our second port of call. The first being The Old Coastguard in Mousehole and the last, Tresanton in St Mawes. All very different establishments with varying standards of decor, cleanliness, food and facilities but in my opinion all equal in offering a super-special memorable experience. It was hot, dry and breezy when we arrived at the Lugger... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gelajon2
Kieran L, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gelajon2 It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your tour around the Cornish coastline, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes Kieran Lynch General Manager More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Second visit to the Lugger. The location is great if you like walking the coast path. The restaurant is fantastic with some great seafood. However the room was slightly cramped with limited headroom. Sitting outside watching the comings and goings in the cove is great in the evening

Helpful?
Thank Tomlondon80
Kieran L, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tomlondon80 Thank you for your review and yes some of our ceilings are quite low given the age of the building, but I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, our restaurant seafood and spectacular views. Best wishes Kieran Lynch General Manager More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dropped in for lunch whilst walking the coastal path. Lunch, was as always fantastic, but hearing male staff swearing from a room adjacent to reception was unexpected! Do these people not know sound travels! Unfortunately, the hotel was just looking tired and need of some TLC, the location cannot be beaten, but it doesn't mean standards can slip, thank goodness... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becks98
Kieran L, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Becks98 Thank you for your feedback and it was good to hear that you enjoyed lunch with us. Please accept my apologies regarding our personnel in reception which I will certainly look into. Best wishes Kieran Lynch General Manager More 

Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the moment we arrived the 5* treatment started. We had chosen the hotel from recommendations online for our honeymoon and we weren't disappointed. The room with an amazing view greeted us with a bottle of the finest champagne. Dinner in the evening was exquisite. The service friendly but professional and respectful. Again the food is amazing, dinner of fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank stupix
Kieran L, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stupix It was great to hear that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us, thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and wish you well for your future together. Best wishes Kieran Lynch General Manager More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this lovely hotel for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The Hotel Staff are so friendly and helpful. The food is amazing. Slightly disappointed with our room, perhaps we expected TOO much? Expected Luxurious 100%. We had a balcony which we could walk out onto and a good view but the whole thing needed a good jet blast clean, sat out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pauline K
Kieran L, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pauline K Thank you for your review and I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken you comment on board, and hopefully we will have a more suitable room for you on your next visit. Best wishes Kieran Lynch General Manager More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted a hotel that was off the beaten track, somewhere quiet with stunning views. Well you cant beat this place for any of that. we travelled to Cornwall on one of the busiest Fridays in August but when you get to Portloe, there is no way on this earth you would recognise its the height of the holiday season.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Covbusinessman
Kieran L, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Covbusinessman Thank you for your feedback and I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at The Lugger. I look forward to welcoming you back to our quiet haven again soon. Best wishes Kieran Lynch General Manager More 

Vancouver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Matt and his team show you just how a small hotel should be run from the attitude of the staff and the smiles that they always greet you with,fantastic food andvery nice ambiance in the small village of Portloe,special thanks to Penny for our water and snackson leaving and the hotel for increasing my waistline!!! Thank you to everyone who... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peterpascoe
Kieran L, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peterpascoe Thank you for your comments, and I will share your feedback with all of our team. Best wishes Kieran Lynch General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

224 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (219)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
3.9 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
16.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
9.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
10.5 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
19.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Price Range: $166 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay