We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 3 hotels in Plympton

The Smithaleigh Hotel

211 reviews
Save
Traveler (34)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (6)
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good27%
  • Average22%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travelers talk about
“function room”(7 reviews)
“new carpet”(3 reviews)
“full english”(10 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Pets Allowed
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (211)Write a Review
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
64
57
47
20
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
64
57
47
20
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfunction roomnew carpetfull englishwithin easy reachan evening mealfriendly hotelroad noiseplenty of parkingbed was very comfortableweddingdevonweybridgeferryensuite
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 210 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2017

Time has forgotten this place which is a shame. It seems to be run by just a few folks on a shoestring and as the guy said, it just doesn't pay as a hotel - so they run it as a B&B. The room was...More

Thank UttoxeterPedro
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

I am afraid our overnight stay was very disappointing. The farmhouse annexe we were directed to seemed to be situated on a building site in progress, scaffolding and a pile of rotten wood outside our room. Our room 24 shabby and smelt very stale. Adequate...More

Thank BarbaraMuir2017
Reviewed August 29, 2017

Stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. Nice clean hotel. Bed was very comfortable. Room was nice and clean with a good powerful shower. Breakfast was extra (but we knew this before travelling) and very good with a choice of cereals followed by...More

Thank CazBracknell
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

We booked this B&B as it's low priced and as we intended to be out and about every day we didn't need anything other than a comfy bed. Unfortunately we didn't even get that as the bed was uncomfortable and creaky, the floor boards were...More

Thank Anika M
Response from Donna A, Manager at The Smithaleigh HotelResponded August 22, 2017

Hi, We do not advertise/describe that we have a bar or restaurant. We offer rooms, serviced apartments, residential apartments and breakfast facilities. However, there are several pubs and restaurants with close proximity to The Smithaleigh. We are sorry you feel that we don't represent value...More

Reviewed August 2, 2017

We stayed two nights here,The Owner was very pleasant and helpful.The breakfast was excellent,With a choice of Cereals,Yoghourts or a Full English. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Also Free wI-fi was an added advantage.

Thank J3807LZjohnh
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345642
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Conference Facilities
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$62 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$62 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (34)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (6)
Pool & Beach (1)
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Business Center & Event Rooms (4)
Bathroom (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fatwelshman1
June 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kevinc728 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry can not help we would never stay again it was a dump when we stayed it needs a big upgrade Hope your wife is all better now
0
Votes
jalota71
February 21, 2017|
Answer
Response from Donna A | Property representative |
Thank you for your inquiry. Our cancellation policy . Winter season We have a 48 hr policy whereby if you cancel prior to 48 hours before your booking date you will not be charged . However if you cancel within the 48... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ground floor if possible"
Read review
"Room 27 perfect for families and quiet."
Read review
"Go to a different hotel"
Read review
"Find out if there is a function during the evening and where is your room situated."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite