We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Diamond Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponteland
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Diamond Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 98: English reviews
Bridge of Allan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent 2 nights, lovely stay. We didn't eat there in the evening so can't comment on that, but the breakfast was lovely. Beds very comfortable & warm, shower very good. Whole place very clean & I'll happily marry the breakfast chef!!!

Helpful?
Thank Ann-Victoria M
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night on Wednesday 13th July in room 5. I found the staff very friendly the food was good as was the beer. Whilst the room was very clean sadly the single bed was very uncomfortable, also despite numerous attempts I could not get an Internet connection in my room which was not ideal.

Helpful?
Thank caymankai
TheDiamondInn, Front Office Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear caymankai, Thanks for taking time out to write a review! I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your food and drink. And the staff will always endeavour to be helpful :) With regards to your room.. I shall review your mattress issues with housekeeping. The WiFi connection is sadly something we've had intermittent problems with lately but hopefully they... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A great Sunday lunch. Could falter it at all. I am glad they have finally sorted a chef as for months you never knew if they were serving food or not. Good service. The pub itself has an odd decor as half has been done up and half is oldy worldy. Good atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Alison B
TheDiamondInn, Front Office Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear Alison B, Many thanks for your "rating". We're pleased you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch and hope you make it back again for our new Head Chefs other delights. Our décor ( although new ) has purposefully been designed with our loyal customers in mind. Keeping one side as to what they are accustomed and the other for our dining... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

We held our silver wedding party upstairs in the diamond it's a good size room food was fab if you are looking for some where to hold a party it's a great place we stayed over in the rooms next door very comfy rooms good breakfast the next day staff all very friendly

Helpful?
Thank eileen171306
TheDiamondInn, Front Office Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear eileen171306, Thank you for your kind words :) We are so pleased we could contribute to your VERY special occasion! Yours sincerely. Front Office Manager. More 

Wylam, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

I called in to the diamond inn with my son for (what else can I say) but a fabulous Sunday lunch! The service was absolutely amazing, table checking and recommendations by the girls that were looking after us was faultless. Cannot wait to return for a lunch through the week. I heard that a new chef has just arrived and... More 

Helpful?
Thank stellycind
TheDiamondInn, Front Office Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear stellycind, This is great to hear, "music to our ears". Its sounds as though everything went to plan. As you mentioned the girls are great and full of enthusiasm. Our first service with our new Chef ( Steve ) went completely hiccup free :) I had the pleasure of a Fathers Day Lunch also with my daughter and I... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

I have been staying here since 1993 and continue to return! Ponteland is a super clean village with lovely restaurants and only a mile from the airport and very close to Newcastle. The Diamond Inn have really lovely rooms and facilities and reasonably priced. Breakfast is fantastic as are other meals. The people are just so very friendly and welcoming... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
TheDiamondInn, Front Office Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear Anthony M, Thanks for your kind comments. They are very much appreciated. We're pleased you keep "coming back for more" and hope you continue to do so. See you next time. Kind Regards. Front Office Manager More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

My wife & I had a overnight stay at the Diamond and we could not fault the place, Everything about it was great, the welcome, the staff, the room in The Smithy - Room 9 was perfect. We only had one regret and that was we were only there for one night whilst visiting Darras Hall for a birthday celebration.... More 

Helpful?
Thank nigewend2016
TheDiamondInn, Front Office Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear nigewend2016, Thanks for your lovely comments! They are much appreciated :) We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards. All at the Diamond Inn. More 

Larbert, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

Recently stayed in Newcastle for training. Decided to explore the nearby village Ponteland. We came across his lovely little inn and decided to give it a try. On first impression it was beautifully well kept and newly refurbished with a sleek clean feel. We ordered some drinks, I had a carefully crafted Disarano Sour cocktail...Delicious! My boyfriend opted for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachael T
TheDiamondInn, Front Office Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rachael T, Thank you for your kind remarks. I will certainly pass on your lovely comments to Diane. We're happy you enjoyed your visit and Diane's renowned hospitality. Should you ever visit the area again, please get in touch in advance and I'm sure we can continue your experience in one of our recently refurbished rooms. They're lovely! We're... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

The Diamond Inn is an old building. The rooms are in an adjacent building which used to be called the Smithy. Our room, number 6, was upstairs. The window was a velux window in the ceiling. The shower room was excellent. Freshly done and very good. Shower was certainly above average. Twin beds were comfortable and the linen was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank DoriWoodger
TheDiamondInn, Front Office Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear DoriWoodger, Thank you very much for taking time to review The Diamond Inn. From your comments I can see you understand our aim at providing an excellent hospitality experience from drinks to overnight stays. Unfortunately your stay didn't quite meet both our expectations... * On occasion. It has been noted that traffic can be a source of noise in... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

We have stayed here before but never again. Was kept awake by other guests tv from 3am. The breakfast service was none existant. Basil Fawlty would have done better, considering we were the only ones in the bar for breakfast. The the final insult the prices had gone up by 50% since last time we stayed to £99 b&b. Keep... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terry P
TheDiamondInn, Front Office Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear Terry P, We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to our usual standards. We have tried to tie in your visit with our records but the details provided do not match our actual rates. Our prices have not been increased for 3 years and certainly never by 50 percent. The... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponteland
6.0 mi away
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
4.8 mi away
Close House Hotel
Close House Hotel
#41 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Est. In the early 1700's as an old coaching Inn. The Diamond Inn is located in the heart of Ponteland with a country Pub feel, that offers a wide range of Real Ales, real food, real fire and a real atmosphere! We are popular with locals and tourists alike for our friendly smile and warm welcome! We have a large selection of beers, wine and spirits that can be enjoyed in our spacious & comfortable bar or in the purpose built outdoor patio area. Our food is locally sourced and freshly prepared by our family run kitchen... Who love to cook! We offer excellent en-suite accomodation with beautifully furnished non-smoking rooms and ample, safe parking. Ideally located just 5 minutes from Newcastle International Airport and only 15 minutes from the vibrant, bustling City Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Diamond Inn

Address: Main Street, Ponteland, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ponteland
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Diamond Hotel Ponteland
The Diamond Inn Ponteland, Northumberland, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing