We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Jubilee Dr Walton, Wellesbourne CV35 9HG England
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Mercure
$64
View deal
Expedia.com
$64
View deal
FindHotel
$48
View deal
Booking.com$64
Hotels.com$64
ZenHotels.com$69
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1798)
Room & Suite (451)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
3.9
Value
3.9
The Walton Hall Hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious countryside overlooking a lake, yet is within easy reach of the historic towns of Warwick and Stratford-upon-Avon. Discover Shakespeare in Stratford-upon-Avon and medieval history in Warwick Castle, then explore the beautiful Warwickshire countryside before enjoying the collections in the Compton Verney Art Gallery. Offering a peaceful retreat it has 149 standard and 37 premium rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
3764Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,318
  • 1,094
  • 661
  • 365
  • 327
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Imi N wrote a review Yesterday
Cairns8 contributions2 helpful votes
I was recently a guest at a wedding. The wedding planner Nikki was absolutely brilliant. She went above and beyond to make sure ever guest was well looked after, even lending me her new shoes when I left mine in London! It was a joy to see the wedding couple so happy. Everything ran smoothly and looked beautiful. She even adjusted the schedule seamlessly when the make up artist was late, and accommodated llamas in the garden! Thank you Nikki, you’re fantastic.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Manchester, United Kingdom2720 contributions22767 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
We visited Walton Hall Hotel and Spa after booking it back in September 2019 for my brother’s May 2020 birthday. It goes without saying that the Covid 19 pandemic was responsible for the delay! We arrived and after passing a number of beautifully restored Lagondas’ (there was a convention there this weekend, unbeknown to us!) check in was simple and the staff courteous. The Manor House was just so special with its nostalgia and character. We loved it. Very grand indeed. Yes the building showed some signs of age, but the room was comfortable and had everything we could want. The Orangery is where we ate our meals and the food was exquisite (see my separate review). The staff worked so hard for us all and on the first night of our stay there was a wedding as well as the Lagonda convention so it was busy! The following morning breakfast was extremely busy and the staff were pushed to the limit. But we were happy enough if others were less patient. Can I just commend Sharon our waitress who was not only super efficient but took time to talk to us and make us feel very welcome. Thank you so much! Amazing service We swam in the pool and used the spa facilities. The chap in there was very friendly and efficient. The surrounding countryside was so peaceful and there was so much wildlife to enjoy 🦆 Amazing place and would we return. Yes we would.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
54 Helpful votes2 Reposts
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanne Hammick, General Manager at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded Sep 28, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Walton Hall. I am very pleased you had a great stay. Thank you for being understanding and patient with our team while we are working our way out of what has been a very challenging time for our hotel and the entire industry. Sharon will be very happy with her special name mention. Your review is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Joanne.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane L wrote a review Sep 27
10 contributions3 helpful votes
The service and food in the restaurant is dire ! We have had a really bad time on our first eve . The items on the menu were not normal choices in our view . We ordered soup which came cold , my fish dish (haddock ) was full of bones and tasted vile . Veg was cold and chips horrid . My partners pie was not nice either . We ordered sticky toffee pudding which came as hard Xmas cake . The waiting time was horrendous . We came out and cancelled our next dinner . We asked for a refund which we got . Breakfast next morning was not much better . Sausage full of fat and bacon too . Coffee was cold . Our final breakfast was better as we opted for fruit and poached eggs on toast . The pool on site was lovely as were the surroundings . That did not compensate for the poor food , poor service and too soft mattress on the bed . My back has suffered as a result . Must mention suyog who was helpful at breakfast on our last morning Would we return ? Doubtful
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
philb92 wrote a review Sep 22
Meltham, United Kingdom299 contributions184 helpful votes
Stayed one night at this hotel. It is situated down a very long drive with lovely grounds and views. We were able to check in early and were allocated room 23 in the old hall. Absolutely huge room with king size bed, very comfortable, soft pillows and very large bathroom. The room also had a seating area with two armchairs, settee, two desks, coffee table and large wardrobe and still had plenty of space. Evening meal was very good and service was good, despite the restaurant being full. Breakfast was good, with a variety of food on offer. Staff, especially the receptionists, were all friendly and efficient. Would definitely stop here again, it was so quiet and peaceful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms in the old hall are good
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Selsdonian2 wrote a review Sep 22
Croydon, United Kingdom48 contributions43 helpful votes
I posted an enquiry re the 4-star rating of this hotel a short time ago. The management responded but their response was incomplete and not accurate. So now a fully review. I was part of a tour party arriving by bus. I was allocated a room on the floor with 300 series of room numbers, near the reception building. The lift was out of action - apparently had been for some time. Quite a few steps to the room (but we had booked porters to take the luggage up). The room was fairly small and had no opening window. It therefore relied on working air conditioners. No instructions for using the AC included in the room. The room was not made up for three nights. One we returned to the room to find the AC inoperative and the temperature in excess of 25°C. A helpful member of staff (Jess) came to the room, could not get the AC working, and arranged to move us to another room (quite a long way away from the Reception/Restaurant area). This replacement room was much nicer. There was no room service available in spite of this being included in the facilities at the hotel on the web site. If you wanted room service you could order what you wanted and then collect it from the bar area - note earlier comments about the one lift not being operational. Being part of a party we had to preorder dinner from a fixed menu with options (which seems to have a recyle period of less than a week). This is understandable given the numbers. However, on two occasions the food provided was not exactly what was ordered (on one occasion a different soup; on another a different dessert). The menus were not always provided at dinner the evening before. We did not use the spa facilities so cannot comment on them.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Try to avoid 300 series rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Herman Muller, Owner at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking time to write a review for Walton Hall. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay with us, I sincerely apologise for any shortfalls in the standard of service that you received from the team. When tours stay with us they do have a shortened menu, this includes a choice of three starters, main courses and desserts - the Menu is changed on a daily basis, we will also accommodate any special dietary requirements as and when necessary, these menus are given to he tour guide each evening for the next day and they will distribute them to the members of their tour. We do hope that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards Sharon Wood Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HolidayExpertUK wrote a review Sep 21
Leicestershire, United Kingdom47 contributions24 helpful votes
We have recently returned from a wonderful, relaxing weekend break, staying in Walton Hall. We were allocated an amazing room in the Hall, overlooking the beautiful gardens and grounds. We love everything about here - a chance to escape, but close enough to Stratford Upon Avon if you wish to visit. We had breakfast included, which was tasty, and we ate in the hotel bar one evening too, which was good quality. We have stayed here numerous times over the years, and we still love a stroll around the grounds and enjoying a cold drink in the victorian garden. We also enjoy a swim in the leisure club pool. We will be back again soon for another relaxing stay - thank you
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nasje N wrote a review Sep 20
1 contribution
As a regular bus driver of the oad razin i woud like to say a special thank you to Elea. She was the best waitor and nothing was too much of a ask. Matty was increadible and was a asset to walton hall. I love coming here due to Elea and matty. They are amazing Thank you for all your hard work elea and matty
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Herman Muller, Owner at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Good afternoon Nasjen, Thank you for taking time to write a review for Walton hall. I am so pleased tat you enjoy coming to visit us. Thank you also for your kind words with regard to two of our youngest team members, Matty and Elea. It is always lovely to hear that members of the team can make such a positive impact on a guest's stay. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sharon Wood Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James B wrote a review Sep 20
2 contributions
The overall experience was awful, this was booked for a girls day for my birthday the place was cold. The water itself in the pool area was cold and there was alot of complaints about it from other guests and still there was no improvement. Each room had a funny smell, not your normal nice smelling spa smell. The drinks machine in the spa lounge was terrible and the drink weren’t consumable. The products that was used wasn’t the normal high standard from other spas. When we arrived we was asked if we received the email but we never. It was explained there was only 1 member of staff on which meant we had to instead of going in twos we had to have treatments through out the day 1 at a time between the 4 of us. The reason for the 2 star was based on the the lady completing the treatments was good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Herman Muller, Owner at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Good afternoon James, Thank you for taking time to write a review for Walton Hall Spa, I am so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your day at the Spa. Please may I ask you to contact James or Saffron in the Spa to enable them to discuss your issues in more detail directly. Kind regards Sharon Wood Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sandeep g wrote a review Sep 17
1 contribution
Upon arriving we were asked agressively 'what do you want?' by a young woman, which is not how one wants to be welcomed to paying customers. An older lady was very helpful and professional. There was no gas for the beer, and the staff didn't know the difference between whiskey and brandy. A trolley with leftover food was left in the bar for the duration we were there. The whole place has seen better days and it is sad that it hasn't been looked after the way it deserves. Do better Mecure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Herman Muller, Owner at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Good morning Sandeep Thank you for taking time to review Walton Hall, I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay with us, sincere apologies that you were not initially made to feel welcome in our bar, I believe it was myself that assisted you as I had heard the young lady and tried to jump in, we do have a customer service programme that we are rolling out to our new employees and we have various projects in the pipeline with regard to maintaining the property. I am afraid that this weekend we did have an issue with our service lift therefore a trolley was being used to service our upstairs dining areas this is not our usual procedure, for this I apologise. Kind regards Sharon Wood
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vytenis wrote a review Sep 16
High Wycombe, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Because of the location of a family event prior to a significant birthday we happened upon Walton Hall. As it happened we found a real gem. The location dates back to at least the time of Elizabeth I. However, the current (Grade II Listed) hall is Victorian. The history of the site is fascinating and somewhat chequered including infidelity and Danny La Rue. We were on a two night deal (who pays list price these days), but despite that we were upgraded to a Privilege Room. A nice duplex in the former carriage mews. Loads of space. The decor is a trifle dated but, understandable given the cost of works on listed sites. Check in was very smooth and the staff were polite and friendly. Dinner on the first night was by some standards slow. Staff were adequate front of house and dictated by weekend manning in the kitchen. The menu is more than adequate for most tastes and there is a full vegetarian/vegan equivalent so plenty of choice. Food is cooked to order so allow for that. The salmon and the fish and chips were excellent. The fish batter was to die for thin, light and crisp. Our server (Libby) was polite, friendly and efficient. Inexperienced for sure, but very good nevertheless. Breakfast is excellent. The usual cereals, fruit etc. However, the continental options are extensive with a good choice of meats and cheeses. Plenty of breads, croissant and other options. The cooked options are of good quality and varied. Staff keep a close eye on the state of the buffet to ensure that the choices are kept topped up. We had spa treatments booked. With their current facilities they cannot compete with major spas but the treatment hit the spot. Very relaxing. Good value for money. Although only a few miles from Stratford the significant feature is the silence. The only sounds are the birds and wind in the trees. OK every now and then there is the odd aircraft in and out of Birmingham. The grounds are very well maintained. If you are there in between plant maintenance cycles then there might be a bit of scruffiness. There are plenty of walks around the grounds. The hall has a live on site chapel licenced for weddings. Given the superb decor and features in the hall itself it would be a lovely place to tie the knot. Dinner on the second night was busy as there were a lot more people staying. Given that we had a significant birthday, apart from the room upgrade, the bottle of bubbly with dinner was a nice surprise. The food was the equal of the first night. Libby was allocated to our table once again. Again the service was up to standard. OK the decor is tired. The hotel is recovering from the pandemic. They have to generate business to afford to redecorate. Chicken and egg. However, we relaxed big time and had a great time. It took us several days to come off cloud wherever. Despite all of this Walton Hall is a hotel well worth considering for a relaxing break. We will be back at some point.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The pool and facilities are open to outside members including children. Depending on your...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Herman Muller, Owner at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Good evening, Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed and balanced review, and also for awarding us 5 stars. We are really leased that you enjoyed your stay with us and love Walton as much as we do. Libby will be leased at she got a mention for the amazing service she always gives in he Restaurant. We hope to see you both again soon. Kind regards Sharon Wood Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWarwickshireWellesbourne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include British Motor Museum (4.7 miles), Stalls Lifestyle (4.7 miles), and Stratford-upon-Avon Canal (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Royal Oak, The Ferry, and The Malt Shovel Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Charlecote Park (2.9 miles), Charlecote Mill (3.4 miles), and The Almshouses (1.8 miles).