We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gellifawr Woodland Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 401: English reviews
Start your review of Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
 Click to rate
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel and cottages set in the depths of the countryside. We stayed in the cottages and it was clean, tidy and well appointed. The walks around the hotel were beautiful, but wear boots its not a flip flop place to walk! The peace and quiet was wonderful and though we only ate at the hotel for one night it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
Simon J, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Phil for taking the time out to leave your kind comments online - Mike the chef was delighted you enjoyed his steak! Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Simon.

Bristol
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just returned from a 3 night stay in one of the cottages and have to say, what a gem of a place. I booked for a nice relaxed stay with my 2 dogs to enjoy long walks and peace and quite. Have to say I wasn't disappointed, if anything it surpassed my expectations. The cottage was wonderful, even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark H
Simon J, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Mark, Thank you for you kind comments - we pride ourselves on being an ideal escape from the normal! really glad you enjoyed. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Simon.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel and cottages are located on a hillside 3.9 miles from the nearest town. There is some scrub behind the hotel, but very little in the way of woodland. You have to drive along narrow, winding and bumpy single lane rural roads and through a hillside farm to get to the hotel and cottages. Best not tackled in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xamie72
Simon J, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for commenting on your stay with us - It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your time with us on this occasion, although we are very proud of what we provide at Gellfawr Woodland Retreat we can not please everybody. We are as can be seen in most other reviews a retreat for many, the Gwaun Valley...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wouldn't be going there again Only asked for A Nice Meal My Wife buried her father day before The meal was CRAP Cawdor Garages The chef must live in cookland Love to meat him so he can eat his own crap

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David S
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the cottages that surround the courtyard and really enjoyed our anniversary weekend. Cottage was clean and cosy and quite well appointed. Laminate and stone floors in the apartments mean that they are dog friendly which is perfect for us. The bar in the hotel is relaxed and friendly and the food in the restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank X424YTsteve
Simon J, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Steve, Thanks for leaving your feedback - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of a major upgrade of our WiFi system so by your next stay all will be good. Best wishes, Simon.

Fishguard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we had outstandingly good roast beaf at gellifawr hotel recently, lots of perfectly cooked vegetables too and nice starters and mains. A real treat of a meal, couldn't fault it. Helpful and attentive staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam M M
Reviewed January 18, 2017 via mobile

Had a pleasure of staying here for 3 nights in one of their cottages. The cottages were spotless, warm and spacious, couldn't fault it at all. The location was magical, exactly what we needed to escape the busy life. Staff were friendly and cheerful and breakfast was delicious and plentiful. A definite place for us to return to, highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard M
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

We have been to GF about 10 times in the last 3 years and will continue to go back. Jane , the manager, and staff especially Julie are so helpful and friendly that it is like 'coming home' when we go there. I hope that it continues to be a friendly relaxing 'family' hotel and does not change to try...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JBTPorthcawl
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed November 25, 2016

From the time I arrived, a warm welcome, from Julie at reception,Charlie in the bar, and the wait staff,. House keeping top form , great service. Gracious to a fault, my breakfast type request in the evening meal service, was graciously accomodated. . I had just arrived from New Zealand, and driven from Heathrow. Very grateful for Nav Man. Chef...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pastora191
Daniel T, General Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Pastora191, Thank you very much for your kind words & taking the time to review Gellifawr. I am very pleased that you had such a warm welcome after a long journey. I am also very glad to hear that we will be able to welcome you back again during your next visit to the area. I will be sure...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 22, 2016

Not easy to find, but once you arrive, you find a really nice countryside hotel. Bar area nice and welcoming, restaurant small and cosy. Food was ok, not exceptional. Breakfast better than dinner. Excellent location, nice walks, friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pngoldstein
Daniel T, General Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Pngoldstein, Thank you very much for your review of Gellifawr. I'm very glad that you had a pleasant time with us in the heart of Pembrokeshire and I do hope that we'll be able to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards, Daniel Thompson General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontfaen
13.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,121 reviews
9.2 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
433 reviews
8.2 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
674 reviews
21.2 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
653 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gellifawr is located in the beautiful Gwaun Valley in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, about four miles from the coast and beaches at Newport Sands. Perfect for walking, bird watching, hiking, cycling, nature watching, beaches, sightseeing or just relaxing in the friendly and comfortable welcoming environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gellifawr Woodland Retreat

Address: Pontfaen Road, Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pontfaen
Price Range: $80 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gellifawr Woodland Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Gellifawr Woodland Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gellifawr Hotel Fishguard
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Gellifawr Woodland Retreat staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bridgend, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gellifawr Woodland Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles Xamie72, 1 week ago | Read review
“avoid main house as it can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles PamMM_12, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Cottages are very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles G5910NRsueb, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 587brendak, Nov 16, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor cottages available for those travelling with doggies.”
 of 5 bubbles SouthCoastKitty, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question