We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gellifawr Woodland Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 393: English reviews
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the time I arrived, a warm welcome, from Julie at reception,Charlie in the bar, and the wait staff,. House keeping top form , great service. Gracious to a fault, my breakfast type request in the evening meal service, was graciously accomodated. . I had just arrived from New Zealand, and driven from Heathrow. Very grateful for Nav Man. Chef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pastora191
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not easy to find, but once you arrive, you find a really nice countryside hotel. Bar area nice and welcoming, restaurant small and cosy. Food was ok, not exceptional. Breakfast better than dinner. Excellent location, nice walks, friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pngoldstein
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely little find - We decided to stay here after a week in Newport Pembs, and we are so glad we did. Everything about this place is amazing - the accommodation, the food, the staff all first class. My first port of call was with Blythe - couldn't have been any more helpful. Then you had Sam at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SUE B
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our third stay here at the Gellifawr. As usual we had an excellent room, large and airy. Plenty of hot water. Breakfast was comprehensive and cooked to order. We had an evening meal which was very good although a bit pricey. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Lovely setting, even in November!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
Daniel T, General Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Brenda K, Thank you very much for your kind review of Gellifawr. I am very glad to see that the winter weather has not put off returning to stay with us again! I do hope that we'll be seeing you again for many more years to come. Kind regards, Daniel Thompson General Manager

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really great hotel in a beautiful setting and beautiful gardens. Lovely big room and very comfortable bed. Extremely helpful and accommodating staff. Great breakfast with good choice. We also ate in the restaurant one evening which we enjoyed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
Daniel T, General Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Jane S, Thank you for your kind review of Gellifawr - it is very much appreciated. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to sample some of our local produce in our restaurant, 'Gellifach'. I do hope that we'll be able to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Daniel Thompson General Manager

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect place to get away from it all. The lack of mobile phone signal was a bonus ! ( for the diehards wi fi was available ) The location in the Gwaun Valley is superb and the building is full of character although this does mean that some of the bedrooms are accessed via two long but graceful staircases. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gurneys2016
Daniel T, General Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Gurneys2106, Thank you very much for the kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Gellifawr. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the location and our staff were able to provide a warm welcome for you. I must apologise for any disappointment experience during your stay. We do pride ourselves on providing our guests with a varied menu that...

Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful stone cottages in a remote corner of North Pembrokeshire. We found the cottage to be good value at £330 for a 3 night stay during the October mid-term break. The rooms were well heated and offered us everything we needed. The main downside was the cottage we stayed in had an upstairs level with a separate entrance. We literally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ferenjiuuu
Daniel T, General Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Ferenjiuuu, Thank you very much for the feedback regarding your recent stay at Gellifawr. I am very pleased to hear that you found our cottages to be such great value. However, I do note the issues that you experienced during your stay and I'm sorry it's not something that we were able to resolve prior to your departure. We'll...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Set in beautiful grounds with an excellent location for access to the surrounding areas. Will certainly be visiting again cannot recommend it highly enough-thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandjenkins28
Daniel T, General Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Sandjenkins28, Thank you very much for your kind review of Gellifawr. I'm very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Daniel Thompson General Manager

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2016

We booked one night in a dog-friendly cottage. The surroundings are absolutely beautiful. Pros: lovely stone cottages, comfortable bed, stunning location, restaurant on site, very friendly and welcoming staff. Cons: the cottage was suffering from a little damp and we had to kill a number of mosquitos in the bedroom. The bathroom plumbing needed fixing. The restaurant was bustling but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthCoastKitty
Daniel T, General Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review

Dear SouthCoastKitty, Thank you for taking the time to review Gellifawr - your feedback is very important to us. Please accept my apologies if there were any issues encountered during your stay. Our dedicated team are always happy to help and resolve any issues whenever possible. We do feel that our menu offers a great taste of Pembrokeshire, utilising the...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

Just enjoyed a Sunday / Monday late-season stay at this beautiful location where we stayed in the Country House built in 1895 ( the venue is a complex of Main Hotel with grounds together with a number of restored self-catering cottages). Located in wooded valley, visitors will find a good map or Satnav essential as the site can be approached...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
Daniel T, General Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Bill G, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a positive review regarding your recent stay at Gellifawr - we certainly appreciate your feedback. Again, please accept my apologies for any confusion or inconvenience experienced during your stay. I hope that you were left with a sense of how much we value your custom and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontfaen
13.5 mi away
The Grove - Narberth
The Grove - Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,097 reviews
8.2 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
15.8 mi away
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
422 reviews
21.3 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
19.2 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gellifawr is located in the beautiful Gwaun Valley in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, about four miles from the coast and beaches at Newport Sands. Perfect for walking, bird watching, hiking, cycling, nature watching, beaches, sightseeing or just relaxing in the friendly and comfortable welcoming environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gellifawr Woodland Retreat

Address: Pontfaen Road, Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pontfaen
Price Range: $80 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gellifawr Woodland Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Gellifawr Woodland Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gellifawr Hotel Fishguard
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Gellifawr Woodland Retreat staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bridgend, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gellifawr Woodland Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Cottages are very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles G5910NRsueb, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 587brendak, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ground floor cottages available for those travelling with doggies.”
 of 5 bubbles SouthCoastKitty, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“Go for a cottage, not a room. Much more intimate and there are plenty to choose from.”
 of 5 bubbles whazelden, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
“We had upper floor room (6) but all rooms would be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 123SueO, Sep 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay