We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Sutherland Inn Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Sutherland Inn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 88: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately this was a terrible stay. The owners were lovely and I feel for them but at the end of the day I wouldn't go back. No sound proofing between rooms (yes it is old), toilets are a Macerating system, so every time someone flushes you are going to here it. So if the people next door go at 3am... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a nice meal at the Sutherland, nice surroundings, good table. I thought the prices were a bit on the high side (burgers) but you could see that they were fair when the food came. Well presented, tasty and plentiful, so good value for money, The England Iceland game was on, and the result was the only disappointment of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian G
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

Had a wonderful stay at the Sutherland Inn, I found the bar friendly, the food good ( both evening meal and breakfast) and the room comfortable. All the staff were excellent, from bar staff, to evening meal staff and the breakfast staff were just absolutely brilliant (great banter). Thanks to all the staff we had a great stay!!

Helpful?
Thank Jim_Largs
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

The Sutherland Inn provides exactly what any business traveller would need and also for those passing through. The pictures are not quite a true reflection of the rooms as for me the real thing was better. Clean white sheets on the beds, comfortable and clean could not fault. WIFI available in some rooms which is good, however it would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Repontour
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

On the main rd in the square in village easy to find. All the basics done well nothing special but comfortable and clean room ensuite with tea coffee etc Main road past front has lorries etc which can be noisy early and late if facing the front of hotel Good meal selection in the restaurant bar and a good cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank David C
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

The room was very basic, although fairly roomy with a double and 2 singles. Had a proper bath tub as well, although there were steps up to the toilet which I worried about that I would fall down in the middle of the night. We had dinner in the hotel and it was a beautiful meal, we both had a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shamanicnz
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

I booked this weekend for a Christmas gift for a friend. I was invited along and called the hotel to check I could take my dog. The young barman was extremely helpful and assured me the hotel was dog friendly. We arrived after a 4 hour drive to find that the hotel would still offer food even though it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
ely
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016

Amazing staff that made us so welcome. Bar meals really good(fresh) and very quick service .Breakfast cooked fresh every morning (lovely lady serving breakfast)Bar staff VERY good (touching moment . The bar man noticed an elderly gentleman having difficulties across the road he ran out and help the gentleman to the other side WOW) Excellent value for money . Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank gillianEly
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016

Our room was situated at the rear of the Hotel overlooking the river. Excellent facilities for the price paid. Breakfast was cooked freshly for us none of this cooking it and leaving it to crisp on a hot tray. In fact the eggs were so hot that I had to wait to eat them. The hosts were fantastic and joined... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnbarras
Stanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2016 via mobile

Visited for work, arrived at 3pm and my room was freezing!! Put the heater on full and it did eventually warm up but it was 7:30 the following morning. Limited TV channels, not even full free view. The bed was comfy il give them that but breakfast was poor, when I walked into the breakfast room the woman said "and",... More 

Helpful?
Thank ad82amr
Bill P, Owner at Sutherland Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Sir, please accept our apologies. My wife and I were on our annual leave at the time and there seems to have been an unacceptable lapse in discipline while we were away. This will be attended to immediately. Unfortunately we do not have any control over our broadband but we will raise this problem with BT as we have only... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brora
0.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
11.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 stars 654 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Eagle
The Eagle
#6 of 7 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
15.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
19.8 mi away
Dunroamin Hotel
Dunroamin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardgay
3.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Sutherland Inn Hotel

Address: Fountain Square, Brora KW9 6NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Price Range: $84 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutherland Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sutherland Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland Inn Hotel Brora, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay