We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Priceline$148*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/02/2017 04/03/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$252*
$148*
Great Deal
$164*
$160*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,182: English reviews
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 18, 2015

I visited Leeming House with a large family group for two nights and had a most relaxing time indeed. We were blessed with superb weather which made the views absolutely magnificent. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the breakfast was superb. The gardens are beautiful and well worth time wandering around. Most definitely on my list of places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Dear Nigel C Thank you for your very positive review, Leeming is a great place to meet up with family and friends to relax and enjoy our fantastic location, in all kinds of weather but if, like your visit you can be lucky enough to get great weather it’s a bonus. It’s always a pleasure for us to know when...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 17, 2015

first room we were given was so small and the view was very disappointing but reception were brilliant and changed rooms for us. We were dining with friends locally so only had breakfast which was excellent. really enjoyed our stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 317garya
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Hello 317garya Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear we were able to offer you a room more to your preference. We are very proud of The Macdonald Breakfast, with lots of fresh cold buffet items and a selection of hot to finish off, great to hear you enjoyed it. maybe we will be able to welcome...

Aix-les-Bains, France
Reviewed August 16, 2015

We stayed at Leeming House for two nights during the last week of July. Having read some of the comments on Trip Adviser about dining expereiences, we were concerned about having a meal there. However we thoroughly enjoyed the two dinners we had there. We were looked after by the staff extremely well. The views from our window were beautiful!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sagatraveller220910
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Dear Sagatraveller220910 Thank you for your very positive review about your stay, especially your dining experience on both nights, I am delighted you enjoyed the food so much and was looked after by the team, it really does mean a lot to us all to know when our guests leave having had a good time. You must have upgraded to...

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 14, 2015

Lovely room and fabulous bed/bedding but dinner very disappointing, especially considering the set price. Never did manage to get a drink anywhere - terrace or bar. Gave up and ordered room service. Whole place seemed understaffed. Breakfast ok but not as good as their Guisborough hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmac23_10
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Hello jmac23_10 Great to hear you enjoyed your room so much and quality of the bed and bedding. Thank you for your feedabck regarding dinner, I am sorry to hear it was not to your expectation on this occasion, we do take our guest comments on board and I have been discussing new menus with our Head Chef, a change...

St Helens
Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Service great, breakfast and dinner superb. Our room was large and comfortable, it was above reception so we had a little noise from guests milling around outside. Lovely grounds, a place to go when you want to enjoy your loved one's company without distraction. There was a wedding ceremony the next day, guests attending did monopolise the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashy09
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Hello ashy09 Thank you for such a positive review, service great, breakfast and dinner superb, lovely comments. So pleased you enjoyed your stay so much, I particularly loved your comment 'a place to go when you want to enjoy your loved one's company without distraction' what a perfect way to describe Leeming House. Thank you again and we look forward...

Oxford, England
Reviewed August 12, 2015

This hotel has a lovely setting looking out on and leading down to Ullswater through the gardens. It is no doubt a popular wedding venue. It is conveniently situated for the M6 and the Northern Lakes, but there are few nearby alternatives for dining. The receptionist on duty was welcoming and helpful. The rooms are clean and our feature room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Dear Jay F Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I can see that you upgraded to a feature room which boasts fantastic views, I am pleased to hear you managed to secure a window table in the restaurant, this is always a difficult one for us as we of course only have so many so we...

Egremont, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2015

This hotel was lovely, peaceful, clean, plush, greatest of comfort and detail attended to. Lovely touch giving a cream tea to guests with booking. Evening meal and breakfast was beautiful and the views to die for. Shame the experience was marred by the way they manage invoicing for rooms. On departure we were given an invoice for our meals and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank EilzSmilz
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Dear EilzSmilz Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel and the food being beautiful. I am sorry to hear you were not clearly advised of the pre authorisation on your credit card, this is processed for every guest, you do not have to pay with the same card however and the bank releases the money within seven days....

Langholm, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 10, 2015

Visited as a guest to a wedding and what I saw of the hotel was beautiful as is the surrounding scenery. The food for the wedding meal was lovely with spotless glasses and cutlery, the toilets clean and well maintained and they went out of their way to ensure everything looked nice for the wedding for both the ceremony and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kyrithys
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Hello KoolKatUK So pleased to hear you enjoyed the wedding so much, it’s always very satisfying when guests feedback saying how lovely the food was and how spotless everything is. Weddings at Leeming House are very special and we love to host them, the house lends itself perfectly as a venue. I am pleased to hear that the team looked...

Leeds
Reviewed August 10, 2015

The location was good, however the view from the room I was in (Room 11), was really poor, (Literally just looking at the roof of part of the building). The Wifi was perhaps the worst I've ever experienced in any hotel... its literally just the cloud available, which makes it impossible to do anything / use. Coupled with the fact...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildridge336
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Hello wildridge336 Thank you for your feedback, sorry to hear that you did not feel your stay was value for money. Unfortunately as with any hotel, not every room can offer a view, the majority of rooms however do overlook the garden or lake, there are supplements for these however, the stunning outlook is very worth it. They do go...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 10, 2015

The hotel was clean and classy but on arrival the key machines were malfunctioning so we were advised to leave our door ajar!! The hotel was very nice and the the view was amazing but breakfast and poorly trained reception was a real let down

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryancP745BF
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Dear ryancP745BF I can see you chose one of our feature rooms guaranteeing a gorgeous view. We did have an unfortunate issue with the room card machine during your stay, I am surprised to hear that you were advised to leave your door ajar, this should not have been the case as we had staff on hand with master key...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

443 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (423)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (141)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/02/2017 04/03/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,742 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
948 reviews
16.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Price Range: $191 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and Orbitz so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Hungerford, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Bedford, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Bedford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“High floor with lake view lovely”
 of 5 bubbles McCon1325, 1 week ago | Read review
“Lake view rooms with balconys, but all rooms comfy, few dog friendly rooms on ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles 325debras, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Executive Lake View non connecting”
 of 5 bubbles Bjk02, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Executive king also they have rooms with balconies with lake view”
 of 5 bubbles piebaldhorses, Feb 15, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 15 to 17 have French doors and patios on the ground floor enabling you to walk straight into nature.”
 of 5 bubbles R644HWdebrah, Feb 11, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Priceline
$148* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$164
Expedia.com$160
TripAdvisor$147
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates