We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,184: English reviews
Bath
Reviewed September 15, 2015

Really enjoyed our stay at Macdonald Leeming on way back from Scotland. Very comfortable beds, great food and lovely staff. Fantastic location on edge of the lake too. Would definitely come back again when visiting the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 16victorial
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Dear 16victorial I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you will return. Thank you for your lovely comments aout the team and the food. We are in a great location to break the journey north and south, with only a short 10 minute drive from the motorway, Thank you for your review Kind regards...

Rushton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2015

Lets' start with the positives. Location beautiful, room adequate, dinner was delicious. The staff however really let the place down. On arrival we were kept waiting for 20 minutes for a check in as there was only one receptionist on duty. When we got to the room our key cards didn't work, so we headed back to reception to be...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Suzanne P
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne P I have to say I am a little confused by your comments having spoken to you during your stay, You did advise me that check in had been slow due to a group checking in before you, but at no time did you suggest the receptionist had been surly and you also told me about the mix...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2015

excellent location and good room views. food both in the evening & breakfast was superb and well presented. All staff were friendly and informative. we used the spa facilities at the neighbouring Macdonald hotel the Old England which was a bit further than we expected!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 819mp
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Hello 819mp Our chef will be delighted with your comments about breakfast and dinner being superb and well-presented and great to hear you found all the team to be friendly and informative, Thank you for writing such a positive review it always makes it a pleasure to know when our guests have left so satisfied Kind regards Karen

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2015

Quiet, thats what you want and what you get. Gorgeous country house hotel done with luxurious soft furnishings. the opposite of minimalist. Could fall asleep on a sofa by a window view of the lake and fells opposite. The food is very good. The cream tea superb. Some bits a little old, toilet was intermittent and so was the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike682
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Hello mike682 'Gorgeous, luxurious, good food, beauty and romance', what more could I ask for in a review, thank you so much for such lovely feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon Thank you for your comments they are very appreciated Kind regards Karen

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 13, 2015

This hotel has a real problem. There are so many issues, but none of which could not be sorted by having somebody in charge who knows what is needed in a so-called upmarket hotel. Let's start with the staff: We tried to call to check our reservation as we drove down from Scotland (several times) over a two hour period....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Dear Julia H Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am glad to say the reception is manned between 7am and 11pm when a night porter takes over, but unfortunatley they were unable to take your calls due to a technical issue to which an engineer attended, I would agree that it is unacceptable for any...

Reviewed September 8, 2015

To start with the positives, a lovely location on Ullswater with mature gardens running down to the lake. The reception rooms are comfortable, as are the bedrooms. Breakfast was excellent. Now for the negatives... Dinner was fair with the exception of the steak, which was cooked fine but the meat itself was just poor. To charge an additional subsidy on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tyke77
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Dear Tyke77 Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you had some positives, in particular the quality of the hotel and bedrooms and the breakfast being excellent. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the confusion with your booking, there was clearly a lack of communication somewhere along the line from you booking, I am very sorry to...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 5, 2015

We have been to this hotel before the last time being just over a year ago. Since then I am sorry to say the dining experience wasn't as good. We found the limited menu lacking especially on the 3rd September and the service was very slow between courses, we don't usually have a pudding course so £40 each for two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VirgoQualitySeeker47
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Hello VirgoQualitySeeker47 Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for visiting us for a second time. Your comments about the team being excellent are much appreciated, I am sorry to hear your dining experience was a little slow, also that a set menu doesn’t suit you really with not taking a dessert. We do take our...

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2015

loved the room the location and the food the staff were friendly will definitely be going back we went on a voucher our daughter got for us at Christmas. the fine dining at dinner was lovely my partner ate all four courses and she usually cant manage two we had such a good time I proposed after 32 years I...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z1298AOstepheng
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Dear Z1298AOstepheng FANTASTIC - I feel very proud to have had a proposal at Leeming, congratulations to you both. I am delighted you enjoyed everything about Leeming in particular your dining experience and the friendly team We look forward to your return, maybe as this is your romantic place you might like to discuss planning your wedding :) Thank you...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2015

This is a quiet hotel in a beautiful setting, quite remote so a car is essential. The restaurant is pricey but worth it. Same high standard of cooking in the bar but a simpler menu. Rooms are spacious and the ones at the back have stunning views over Ullswater. An easy drive from the M6, it would make a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RozM1
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Hello RozM1 Our chef will be thrilled to read your comments about the food being of a high standard in both the restaurant and bar and that its value for money. We are very fortunate to be located in such a stunning setting and you are quite right only a very short distance from the M^, we do get many...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 1, 2015

Very good and quiet location next to Ullswater Lake. Excellent room with very comfortable bed. Fine dining experience at reasonable cost. Generous breakfast. Would probably come back again if visiting the region.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TitoP80
KarenIrving, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review

Hello TitoP80 Thank you for posting a review after your stay with us, its always great to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay, in particualr when they are able to take advantage of the fine dining experience and to know we are delivering value for money. I hope you have the opportunity to return in the future Kind...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

443 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (423)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (141)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,744 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
949 reviews
16.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Price Range: $191 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Orbitz so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Hungerford, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Bedford, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Bedford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“High floor with lake view lovely”
 of 5 bubbles McCon1325, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Lake view rooms with balconys, but all rooms comfy, few dog friendly rooms on ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles 325debras, Feb 20, 2017 | Read review
“Executive Lake View non connecting”
 of 5 bubbles Bjk02, Feb 18, 2017 | Read review
“Executive king also they have rooms with balconies with lake view”
 of 5 bubbles piebaldhorses, Feb 15, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 15 to 17 have French doors and patios on the ground floor enabling you to walk straight into nature.”
 of 5 bubbles R644HWdebrah, Feb 11, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question