We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Thurrock Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Thurrock Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 287: English reviews
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Well situated close to lakeside shopping centre yet still quiet . Worth upgrading, executive room spacious and well decorated with nice bathroom. Breakfast was very good although a veggie alternative to the bacon,sausages and black pudding would have been nice. Staff were very helpful and welcoming.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate75407
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The experience was awful from the start. I was given my room key and told my room was ready to access and I was really pleased as I wanted to unpack my overnight bag before I went to a wedding. When I entered the room it was as if an untidy teenager had just left the room - the bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma C
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma C Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Thurrock Hotel. It was indeed unfortunate that your room was not ready to access as early as you had anticipated, and I am really sorry for the inconvenience that this obviously caused. With regard to the function that was taking place, the music would... More 

Travelers are raving about these Aveley hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had an overnight stay here during the hottest period of this summer, 30+ degrees and little breeze. The carpark is adequate in size with generous width spaces by standards of today, well lit too. Reception is very spacious with ample seating if needed, cool, clean with fully tiled floor. Could be interesting if wet! Pleasant staff dealt with our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian G Thank you for taking the time to review the Thurrock Hotel. We are currently going through a transition period of refurbishment and I hope you will notice the difference on your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Where do I begin? Booked this hotel via hotels.com to have somewhere to stay after I had a small operation locally. On arrival hotel looks rather old dated from the outside. At check in, had no smile or friendly greeting from receptionist, simply asked me what my name was, gave me my key and directions to my room. I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roxybaby84
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

room was like a furnace and was told they could not provide a fan had to go down to reception 3 times as when i dialled down no one answered and on each occasion the receptionist was sat there unaware the phone was ringing....wall paper peeled off ,toilets not flushing ..and dont eat from the chineese they reccomend its terrible... More 

Helpful?
Thank ccollins1982
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I panicked as i drove up to the hotel as it looked a bit tatty from the outside the room was very nice but hot as there is no air conditioning. A nice choice of food reasonably priced and very well presented. Bar staff were brilliant friendly chatty and helped make my stay a pleasant one.

Helpful?
Thank mickholliday
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mickholiday Thank you for your kind review of the Thurrock Hotel. I am happy that you found your stay enjoyable, and look forward to seeing you at a later date when you return. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was impressed with reception staff at early check in, but told bar would open at 12, at 12.15 still shut, after a long journey needed a beer before wedding, went to get changed went to get drink at 12.40 no one was serving, took 10 minutes to get served, people were looking through gap in wall but no one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darryl P
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is scruffy on the outside, the rooms were sweltering with no fans/air con to get ready I had to bring some from home, after the wedding the hotel was a pigs sty from a function & had to step over people that we're passed out, along with various obstacles to get to our rooms, did not sleep well as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie B Thank you for taking the time to review the Thurrock Hotel. It is true that on days when we hold Wedding Receptions and other functions there can be some excessive noise from guests who act in a thoughtless manner. Fortunately these people are in the minority. We will shortly be continuing our refurbishment programme after a busy... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came here for a friend's wedding and having read the TA reviews, frankly I was dreading it! I expected to walk into a time warp with cleanliness levels of dubious nature. So what i found was a pleasent surprise. Ok so the corridors and some of the function rooms still need bringing into this century but couldn't fault the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle S Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Thurrock Hotel. I take on board all reviews that make constructive criticism, but particularly positive ones. Thank you once again. More 

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One night stay after attending a friend's wedding. Good sized very clean room with good amenities, tv, iron and ironing board, extra pillows, very comfortable beds and a decent breakfast served buffet style. Free wifi was a nice bonus with fast speed. Decor a bit tired, coffee table badly sun blistered and the bottom of the bath/shower had clearly seen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol J
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aveley
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Thurrock
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#3 of 5 in Grays Thurrock
3.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
#2 of 3 in West Thurrock
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Thurrock M25
Travelodge Thurrock M25
#3 of 3 in West Thurrock
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
15.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 13 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Thurrock Hotel

Address: Ship Lane, Aveley RM19 1YN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Aveley
Price Range: $71 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thurrock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Thurrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay