We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Thurrock Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Thurrock Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 277: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came with a group of friends to this hotel at the start of August for a friend's wedding, and overall the experience was a good one. The staff at the hotel were faultless, always happy to help and assist wherever necessary. The food that was put on was fantastic, no complaints on that at all. I didn't have the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AG1985
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AG1985 Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thurrock Hotel. I am pleased that your experience with us was a good one and that you enjoyed yourself. I look forward to seeing you upon your return. More 

Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very tired rooms need updating look grubby. No air con, window seal broken full of condensation and can hear everything through them. No lift 3 lots of stairs to go up. Rated at 3 stars which is normally the standard of a travel lodge, our room was no where near this standard.

Helpful?
Thank Braintree1
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Braintree1 I am sorry that your stay at the Thurrock Hotel was not as pleasant as you would wish. However I can assure you that the maintenance issues that you mention are gradually being addressed. I am sure that you appreciate that such an old building can have many faults, and that this one is no exception, but we... More 

Travelers are raving about these Aveley hotels

BARKING ESSSEX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow what can I say .. The staff were so friendly and helpful.. The layout was lovely and our honeymoon suite room 143 was beautiful would defo book even just to stay in room as the bath was a jacuzzi bath and the whole room was lovely huge and modern, The food was nice and breakfast was lovely .. Loads... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chellMM
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food excellent. Stayed in an executive room. Very comfortable high standard of cleanliness. Easy to find very close to the M25. Would recommend to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank belvoir37
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Belvoir37 Thank you for your very kind comments. We are constantly trying to improve the service , and it would appear that we have succeeded. More 

Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

booking in over phone was a nightmare had to ring 3 times before they sorted it and trying to get a drink and food at 9 pm was a joke went out to eat in the end. Room was disappointing and the breakfast bland. Wifi not working.

Helpful?
Thank grahamparamountr2016
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear grahamparamountr2016 Thank you for taking the time to review the Thurrock Hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the service, and I have taken your comments on board with a view to rectifying the situation. I hope you will return at a later date. More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I felt this hotel was more an event hotel as many function rooms. Friendly Staff all seemed young, Room was comfortable, clean, and ideal for our overnight stay. The price for the room not including breakfast was fair. Bar food limited and had to find a member of staff to get served, but understand cannot have staff in the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank GJHRugby
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GJHRugby Thank you for taking the time to review the Thurrock Hotel. I am glad that you found the room matched your expectations and that the staff were all friendly. I hope that you will return soon. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel first of all gave us a loft room that you could hardly breathe in it was musty smelly dirty I asked to be moved I was told there was only the bridal suite left and I would have to pay the extra which after a 5 hour car journey arriving late I had no option . The new... More 

Helpful?
Thank Goranger
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I rang Thurrock Hotel to make my reservation and explained my husband was disabled. I was told a specific room would be allocated. On arrival there were steps into the building which I had not been advised. We were taken to the allocated room, a long route march to the annexe at the rear of the hotel, necessitating a small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann N
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight with my Wife. The room was very comfortable although the lights work peculiarly. Reception Staff extremely helpful. Restaurant menu very uninspiring. My Wife ordered the fish and chips. The batter was so hard it was inedible. My Wife ate the fish leaving the batter. When we were almost finished eating, the Duty Manager came by to see if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hilton E
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hilton E Thank you for taking the time to review the Thurrock Hotel. I am sorry that your dining experience was not up to expectations and that you felt that your complaint was not taken seriously. I can assure you that I will be investigating the matter fully. Should you decide to return, I hope it will be after... More 

Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights whilst on business and although it's proximity to a shopping centre is good it is over priced for what you get. Upon arrival the reception desk was unattended and after a lengthy wait I was greeted by a man who referred to me as gezz! And said you alright? Nether the less I duly... More 

Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler448
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aveley
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Thurrock
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#3 of 5 in Grays Thurrock
3.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
#2 of 3 in West Thurrock
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Thurrock M25
Travelodge Thurrock M25
#3 of 3 in West Thurrock
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
18.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Thurrock Hotel

Address: Ship Lane, Aveley RM19 1YN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Aveley
Price Range: $71 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thurrock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Thurrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay