We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

De Vere Tortworth Estate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
De Vere Tortworth Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,200: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I took my parents for afternoon tea here today. Very very impressed. The building itself is absolutely stunning with grounds and views to match. Well kept, elegant, classy, modern yet still very much keeping within the buildings old style. We arrived too early yet the staff treated us amazingly, letting us be seated before the restaurant had even opened. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for such a wonderful review about your afternoon tea here at De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am very pleased to hear that our staff were superb and looked after you and your parents at all times. I will be sure to pass on your comments to both Daniel and Rado. We look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a wonderful stay here which was very relaxing. The rooms were very nice and the grounds lovely to stroll through with all the different varieties of tree. The food was good and the staff were helpful and friendly. I would recommend staying here if you get the chance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madmaidenman
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Mark Payne

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, beautiful building , surroundings and room was good apart from bed which felt like a concrete slab. Upon check in the receptionist asked if we would like to register a card to have any extras, bar bill etc to be charged to, however when we handed over our debit card we got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunburnt190783
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are unable to use debit cards for pre authorisation as this is charged at £30 per person per night and is immediatly taken from your bank account and can then take from 3-28 days for that money to then be made available back to the guest. If...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely stay, pool warm and inviting, rooms well equipped and clean and comfortable. Food in Moretons restaurant was ok , nothing special, quite a bland choice. Staff were pleasant but inattentive, our drinks order was taken with the food order, and I no time were we asked if we wanted more drinks, we had to ask for more drinks. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leanne47hardwick
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am pleased that you enjoyed the pool and that breakfast was excellent. Our staff always try to to be as attentive as possible with all our guests so I am disappointed to hear that you felt this wasn't the case. I do hope that you will return...

Northamptonshire, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at Tortworth Court on many occasions because I am a regular attendee at a conference which is held there annually, so at my suggestion our family party of 5 decided to visit for dinner. Oh dear. Average is the word. On arrival we had a drink in the Atrium bar. I told the bar staff that we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Intrepidity060
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review regarding your dinner reservation with us. I have spoken to our Restaurant Manager who was working that evening and was also serving your table. He was explaining the menu to your table when you asked for the chair to be removed which he promply did once he had finished. Unfortunatly the salt and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We didn't stay here however we often go to the spa, normally a lovely time with some lovely people to meet! This time was AWFUL! We go to get relaxed and think free! There was a horrible man who swore at me, my mother and my sister! All we were doing was walking into the steam room and we let...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tash C
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of DeVere Tortworth Estate. I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience with another one of our spa users but really pleased your issues were dealt with so efficiently by one of our staff. We strive to provide a high level of service for all of our guests and I am...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful house. On checking in the room was not ready despite it being after the check in time! Disappointed we weren't in the main house as we were returning with friends who hadn't stayed before! The rooms were way over the other side of the main house (with a connecting walkway which was freezing) and could have been a travel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suz600
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your stay here with us over the New Year. I am sorry to hear that your room wasn't ready, we moved our check in time to 12pm for our guests on the package but it appears that not all of our rooms were ready and I can only apologise for this. I...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Another enjoyable New Year's Eve Arrived 30/12/16, to Mulled Wine, Hot Mince Pies, and or Tea /Coffee, checked in to our Superior room on the second floor, beautiful view of the gardens. The evening celebration 3 course dinner. 31/1216 started with a full cooked breakfast, so much nicer when it's cooked for you. Mid day off to the spa for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 95NMH
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us here at De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am very pleased that you enjoyed every part of our New Year's celebrations over the 3 nights that you stayed with us. We want all of our guests to leave here with a wish to return,...

Brockworth Gloucester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Tortworth for a night on New Years Day, and even being a bank holiday the service was second to none. Lovely clean room, beautiful grounds and delicious food. The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is due to the spa facilities needing a refurb, but I had previously read on Trip Advisor that this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 955jodih
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at DeVere Tortworth Estate. I am very pleased you enjoyed our hotel and all that we have to offer. Our spa is indeed being refurbished early this year so we invite you back soon to enjoy the new facilities we will have for you! We look forward...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night as my friends daughter was getting married here. The room was big and very clean and bed very comfortable. The grounds looked stunning but didn't see much of the rest of the hotel as we couldn't check in before 4pm and by the time we arrived and got ready it was time for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tantan15
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review regarding DeVere Tortworth Estate. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and glad your daughter's wedding went without a hitch. Our 4pm check in time is so that we can ensure our rooms are ready for our guests without risking the possibility of disappointing anybody if check in was earlier and the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

871 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (855)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (317)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Other (333)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
23.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,228 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
8.1 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 4 in Almondsbury
885 reviews
11.1 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Estate offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Estate

Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Price Range: $86 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
De Vere Tortworth Estate Gloucestershire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms seemed good”
 of 5 bubbles leanne47hardwick, 1 week ago | Read review
“Stay in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles suz600, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms in the Main House are much closer for the Restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles Brian365, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Beautiful setting”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnejChardSomerset, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
“In main house”
 of 5 bubbles 199nicolad, Dec 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay