We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

De Vere Tortworth Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Tortworth Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,242: English reviews
Start your review of De Vere Tortworth Estate
 Click to rate
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Overall the stay was very pleasant. Room very spacious and well laid out. Bit disappointed that the bed was a standard double bed, it was rather lost in the room. It was very very hot too, even after turning off the radiator. Very quiet location. We had breakfast and there was a good choice and we did not feel rushed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawniola
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived 12.30pm, room unavailable until 4pm, yet check out is 11am. Really ruined afternoon as we wanted to have quick freshen up and lie down after long drive before meeting family for lunch. Hotel reservation made in advance not listed. Room key didn't work took 3 visits back to reception to finally sort out. Ordered Grand Marnier or Cointreau. Told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J66lep
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very happy with my stay here. Booked a deal which included breakfast and dinner for two nights. Firstly was very pleasantly surprised that they changed their menu each night I was there giving us more choice and the food was very good both nights. Secondly, the building and grounds were stunning and the room was clean and had perhaps the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danbarclay
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay here at DeVere Tortworth Estate. I am really pleased you found your stay so comfortable and you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and buildings. We like to ensure we offer a wide and varied choice for our guests, hence the menu changing during your stay. Thank you once again and...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed for a romantic night away with my boyfriend for Valentine's weekend. On arrival the area was beautiful and the building itself is stunning. The grounds are pretty and nice for a wander. We had afternoon tea which I would say was average however a good amount of food. Far too much to eat. The view out to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your Valentines weekend away with us here at De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed many parts of your stay. Thank you also for the feedback regarding the room and afternoon tea. It is always good to have such feedback so we know where we can improve....

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great place overflowing with history - staff make you feel welcome with a combined great experience of welcome-ness at all times. Reception area is beautifully presented and food and drink prices to be expected given the 4* rating and building within Overall great experience within a beautiful building and grounds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lifeboatone
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely five star review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am pleased that our staff were welcoming and friendly. I am also glad that you enjoyed our beautiful building and grounds. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Mark Payne.

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Wonderful setting , very pleasant stay for our wedding anniversary. Great food , very helpful and friendly staff. Ideal Base for visiting Bath , Bristol and surrounding areas. Plenty to do on site including spa and pool inclusive with your stay. For out and about lots of National Trust and heritage attractions to see. Plenty of on site secure parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful five star review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and also had the opportunity to explore the surrounding area. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Kind regards Mark Payne.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Overnight stay booked through discounted website. Parking proved an issue as the hotel has many little parking areas scattered around. Room good condition, basic for the price (no air con, mini bar etc) bathroom very dated decor but clean. Used pool which was packed. Very dated in design and not that clean. Bar service ok... warning drinks are a ridiculous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scm27
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and remark on our stunning grounds. However I am sorry to hear that we didn't achieve complete satisfaction from you. We do have many parking areas, this is an advantage due to the size of the hotel as each part has its own access direct from the various...

Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The De Vere Tortworth Court Estate, Hotel & Spa, as impressive to look at from the outside as it was to stay on the inside. The hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment and is going to be even more impressive than it is already, but having said that the ongoing works were not detrimental to our stay. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 629berniev
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful five star review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. We are indeed undergoing refurbishment works at the moment and I am pleased to hear that this didn't impact on your stay. I am also pleased to hear that you loved our new rooms and you were the first to use your particular room. We...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Large Hotel so usually rooms available, good facilities including Gym and Pool, impressive buildings. Food very good and nice restaurant ambience. Pleasant setting in the Countryside. Easy access fro motorway, plenty of parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean D
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am pleased that you liked so many aspects of the hotel. We look forward to you returning one day. Kind regards Mark Payne

Chepstow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent, imposing looking hotel, in a superb setting. Modern rooms in a connected but separate building. For anyone with walking difficulties, be sure to ask for a room near to reception. Our room was probably 200+ yards from reception, breakfast and the leisure suite. Not a problem for us, but could be for some. Leisure facilities very good, nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stanleyalanb
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback about your stay here at De Vere Tortworth estate. I am pleased that you gave us a five star review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Mark Payne

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

895 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (879)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (329)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Other (337)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
23.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,277 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
10.2 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
601 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 4 in Almondsbury
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Estate offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Estate

Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Price Range: $85 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
De Vere Tortworth Estate Gloucestershire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ground floor has easier access, but some rooms involve a decent walk from reception. But outer rooms are very quiet and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles 745simonw, 3 days ago | Read review
“All rooms well appointed but some have excellent country views, ask at booking.”
  • Bedroom No6
  • Bathroom No6
  • Eclairs at eye level Mmmmmmm!!
  • Bedroom No6
 of 5 bubbles 629berniev, 6 days ago | Read review
“A real maze, some rooms quite far from reception”
 of 5 bubbles 389deand, 1 week ago | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with good ventilation....large windows.”
 of 5 bubbles P8519GNtomr, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ignore my comments about the hotel as we were only here for Afternoon Tea but I had to put something to complete the review.”
 of 5 bubbles theresas674, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question