We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Lynn Road, Great Bircham PE31 6RJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$107
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$107
Travelocity$107
Priceline
eDreams$107
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (111)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (19)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 in Great Bircham
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Welcome to The Kings Head Country Hotel, a very warm welcome to the family-run Kings Head Hotel. Built in the Edwardian era, the hotel combines all the traditional warmth and comfort of a long established country house hotel with sleek contemporary facilities. The hotel is located on the great estate of Royal Sandringham and close to the Houghton estate, also offering easy access to the North Norfolk Coast the Kings Head is very well worth a visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Charming
638Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 368
  • 166
  • 53
  • 32
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Louiseck1 wrote a review Jun 21
Uppingham, United Kingdom59 contributions24 helpful votes
Friendly check in good sized room and beer garden, good clean bathroom. Bar service slow and no apology for keeping us waiting. Dinner was not a good experience. 45 mins to get cold packet greasy prawns which were sent back and cancelled but were still brought back. Calamari nice but also out of a packet. Salmon and sea-bass potatoes over cooked. Breakfast very good as was service. Won’t be coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Car park quite small for the size of the pub
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Roy H wrote a review Jun 19
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom100 contributions42 helpful votes
Situated in a quiet village About 5 miles from Sandringham this hotel has everything to make a great stay. The staff are so helpful and friendly, the food is first class and with a good selection. The room we stayed in No 5 was large, so quiet, clean and was comfortable with a large bathroom. It has a large carpark and a large garden to sit and have a drink. We would certainly stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: choose one over the car park
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
RogerDay wrote a review Jun 7
Ipswich, United Kingdom47 contributions35 helpful votes
Sadly the website of this hotel does not portray what you see on arrival. The front facade is very pretty but parking at rear you enter the building through what can only be described as a motorway motel reception, very disappointing 1st impression. Our room was meant to be a superior double, though large it hadn't been upgraded since the 80's and the sofa was so stained it should be put in a skip. The sitting area downstairs pictured on the website completely lacks any character or ambiance with stark brilliant white lighting it was horrible. The food was ok but nothing to write home about. For £145 b&b these owners need to look at the lavenham Swan, the Oundle Talbot etc where we pay the same price for 100% better, decor, rooms and food and service. Truly disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Cauli2 wrote a review Jun 6
London, United Kingdom165 contributions129 helpful votes
We stayed on 2 separate occasions during the past week: once in a standard room and once in a superior room. On the first occasion we just had breakfast which was very good. On the second occasion we had dinner and we were both impressed by what we had. I had a crab starter followed by seabass. The food was delicious and beautifully presented (very important and often overlooked) . The staff we met were all very friendly and helpful. One niggle which prevent me from giving 5 stars and this relates to the superior room. One of my pet hates which applies to quite a few hotels where we have stayed: Its a double room so why only provide one chair? There was plenty of space to do so. The standard room was smaller so I am more forgiving! To end on an upbeat note, the best hotels which we have stayed at, all have good managers who are hands -on , who are aware of what is happening and this is certainly the case here. I am sure we will be staying again when we are in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Brian C wrote a review Jun 5
Swanley, United Kingdom356 contributions73 helpful votes
We booked in as part of a car club for an overnight stay before heading to sandringham the next day for the Platinum Jubilee celebrations. We booked room 1 (deluxe) with double aspect windows, a sofa and three armchairs and massive bed. The staff are so friendly, with the receptionist actually taking us up to our room, instead ot just giving directions. The hotel interior is clean and tastfuly decorated, the toilets also. But the highlight was the evening meal. There were nine couples in our group and everyone enjoyed their various meals. My wife (along with a few others) chose the Cromer crab salad, some the fish pie, but for me the starter of Tempura batterd prawns with chilli jam was superb, followed by a delicious but massive main of duck breast, duck leg confit and duck bonbon. It was so huge, I had to leave the dauphinoise pototes and neither of us had a dessert! We had to be out early the next morning for the show and the proprietor opened the kitchen an hour earlier (7.30) for us. Nothing was too much trouble The hotel is situated in a quiet and sleepy village with just a small shop opposite, great as a base for exploring the area
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room 1 has windows to both front and rear aspects
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Peter H wrote a review May 2022
9 contributions2 helpful votes
An excellent well presented and well run country house hotel, set in a lovely rural village setting in West Norfolk, ideally located for the Sandringham estate, King's Lynn and the North Norfolk coast. Great breakfast included and an extensive menu of well cooled and presented food also available.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Legallez wrote a review May 2022
Fakenham, United Kingdom246 contributions101 helpful votes
This hotel used to be incredible both in its interior design and it’s culinary expertise it was a place to be seen and so popular. We have not visited for a while and was excited to be going back. I was quite shocked to begin with it looked closed there were hardly any vehicles there. On stepping in the once delicious sumptuous decor has been replaced by items that looked like they were bought from The Range. It looks cheap and bare completely uninspired. It was empty and quite depressing. It once competed with bathe Hoste it now has Travel lodge as its main competition Very sad as the building and the residents of Bircham deserves better
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Avoid unless you want to sit in the garden which is nice
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
RoamingRosie wrote a review May 2022
London40 contributions51 helpful votes
We met friends here for two nights. The hotel is very clean and well furnished with a modern feel to it. We ate both evenings and we all found the food of a high standard. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to visit Sandringham (we didn’t). An ideal location for long walks in the countryside or by the coast. One thing that could be improved would be the breakfast menu. Lots of choice if you want a hot meal but I think it would have been nice to have a table set out with cereal, fresh fruit and yogurt etc. You could ask for cereal but it was a bit formal for first thing in the morning. Also a lot of people can’t tolerate orange juice and this was all that was offered. However, even with the above comment I would certainly return to this hotel in the future. A very pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Janet S wrote a review May 2022
9 contributions3 helpful votes
I have stayed here twice over the last six weeks with my partner. Please do not take any notice of the ‘ negative reviews’ so untrue. We love this place and feel so looked after. Rob ‘IS ‘ lovely and a very good Manager. He really looked after us; together with this team al young and just eager to please visitors. I just don’t understand the negative reviews! I suppose some people think the Hotel is run just for them! Don’t listen to the put downs. it’s truly very nice. We have always had a fantastic room & service too! Will look forward to returning very soon. It’s a really friendly Pub/Hotel. We will be back very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Petra H wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
I wasn’t going to write a review & just put my awful experience down to bad luck, but seeing the response to my friends previous reviews I feel I need to, especially as the person responding from the hotel was not even there during our stay. After a long day walking I had to have a cold shower. I get it, things break down but an apology wouldn’t go a miss. We were asked to come down for dinner at 8:15pm and no earlier as we were a large party (of 7!), to go to the bar area (smart!) where our order would be taken. We arrived there on the dot (I was ravenous!) We took a corner table out of the way next to a lovely young couple who I said , oh no I think we’re about to spoil your quiet evening and they replied no problem, you’ll add some atmosphere! We ordered cocktails & our food but not once did any member of staff suggest we were late (as implied later.) The food was mediocre. The atmosphere was like an old peoples home (no offence, I love the elderly, & have relations in lovely homes but they’re quiet) If the 2 other tables thought we were noisy then that’s because there were 7 of us & we were trying to have fun on a Saturday night in a hotel. We were not swearing or drunk just happy to be together. There was definitely only 3 choices, cheese, brownie & something else, I can’t remember it was so uninspiring. The brownie looked like a cow pat on a plate & according to the waiter it collapses under its own weight! We were asked to go up our rooms by 11.30 as the hotel is not manned at night & the staff wanted to go home. Plus one of the rooms key didn’t work so it needed the master key held by the manager. It didn’t work, several of us tried it including the lad on duty who I seem to remember not being very surprised that it didn’t. Breakfast was a disaster! I arrived at 8:30 on the dot and noted other tables had guests as well as our group because I thought I was late! We asked a few questions…sorry about that! If the kippers were fresh, if there was any fruit and yoghurt, if there was any marmalade?? The answers came back from the sweet but first timer waitress. No the kippers were frozen, yes to fruit & yoghurt but no to marmalade. We then waited a long long time for breakfast, so long we felt we had to say. The manageress was so rude I left without eating breakfast, I just had to get out of faulty towers. The staff were so stretched, even the cleaner was fed up she had been given the upstairs rooms. Bless her, she was over 60 & struggling. As I said I wasn’t going to write the review but the response from the hotel is hostile, no apology and Sandra who has spoken with one of the group wasn’t even there during our stay. If you are part of a group or want a bit of fun avoid. If you’re a couple looking for quiet & query nothing it’ll be fine. Good luck.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Avoid if you’re a group.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The Kings Head Hotel, Other at The Kings Head Country Hotel
Responded May 11, 2022
Please review our response to jillyjo10 and Gilly1108.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kings head lynn, hotel kings head
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkGreat Bircham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Kings Head Country Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Kings Head Country Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Snettisham Park (4.9 miles), Bircham Windmill (0.4 miles), and Houghton Hall, Gardens and Sculpture Park (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kings Head Country Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Kings Head Country Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kings Head Country Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kings Head Country Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Duck Inn, Bircham Stores & Cafe, and The Railway Inn Pub and Bed & Breakfast.
Is The Kings Head Country Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Great Bircham.
Are pets allowed at The Kings Head Country Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Kings Head Country Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bircham Windmill (0.4 miles) and Appleton Water Tower (4.8 miles).