We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Matfen Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Matfen Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,360: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Big, plush room with all you need included in them. The meals were all beautiful, best steak ever had here! Meeting rooms all lovely and staff go above and beyond to cater for this. Set on fabulous grounds.

Helpful?
Thank laubroo28
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

A pleasant drive from our coastal departure point to Matfen Hall for lunch. A victorian hall, but which dates back to the 1660's. Sadly nothing of that era survives, but an impressive building, overlooking the golf course. We were shown to a pleasant room, very high ceilinged, suitably decorated and furnished to match the period. A pleasant waiter took our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is beautiful with lovely surroundings. Staff are all very friendly. We stayed in the double deluxe room which was very nice. Comfortable bed, lovely bathroom. The evening meal was lovely and the waiters were very professional. Breakfast was very good and lots to choose from. Spa was very nice and clean with a good size pool. Would definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah-elsa21212
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked for one night on our way to Scotland. This is a very tranquil location, a very good hotel oozing quality with attentive staff. We enjoyed a very good breakfast. Our only disappointment was the unavailability of wifi in our room. I reported this twice however it had not been restored by the time we left. As you can't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Plasmadreamer
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here from the 10th to the 16th of sept. Now I travel with dogs all the time and know the right questions to ask, I thought I had in this case as well, however when we got there it was very restricted where we could go with the dogs . Fully understand that Eating areas are out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
BernardBloodworth, Managing Director at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest Tripadvisor is a great way to receive our guests feedback and I do take and use all feedback constructively, however I was very surprised by your comments, following your recent stay at Matfen Hall. We were aware that you were unhappy with the facilities for your two retriever dogs on the first evening and I ensured my whole... More 

tyne and wear
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited many times ate and stayed there too without complaint but called in to have a glass of wine recently as we are quite local and paid nearly £17 for 2 medium glasses of wine which were dreadful and rather than take them back we suffered in silence (big mistake ) instead I wrote to the hotel but got a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank geoffersTyneAndWear
BernardBloodworth, Operations Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback. I’m sorry that you have categorised my response as ‘flippant’, and I can assure you that this was not my intention when responding. As I alluded to in my previous reply; wine taste is very personal and subjective. While I’ve had some great feedback in the past regarding the wines that you... More 

Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at Matfen Hall for a one night stay package which they had on the website. We arrived and was met by the receptionist Nicola who checked us in swiftly and we were on our way in a matter of minutes. We went to our room which was amazing. Lovely big size room with everything you need for a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank greenplane
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Matfen on a special deal. It was £120 per couple with a deluxe room upgrade, breakfast, dinner in the conservatory, late check out and a bottle of prosecco in the room. Great value for money. We had room no 1 in the old part of the hotel next to the beautiful Great Hall and it was a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank traceymaving
preston, lancs
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked 2 nights stay in August for a wedding out of the hotel. The staff were most helpful with our booking that changed several times. On arrival however the room was most unsatisfactory. Room 54 has a strong smell of mould and damp that was evident down the corridor before entering. Damp on this scale is not a new... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mikeonline1
BernardBloodworth, Managing Director at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, following your recent stay at Matfen Hall. I am sorry your initial room was not to your liking and I will certainly investigate the comments you made with our Head Housekeeper. I was of course pleased to read you found my team helpful and in turn the majority of your stay was enjoyable. I am... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here in September 2016 with a group of 20 members of my family to host our yearly golf tournament. It was our third year in a row at Matfen Hall because over the 17 years we have been having the tournament nowhere comes close to the quality and standard offered here. The hotel is massive and has retained... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dhchamp2010
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

537 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (294)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (148)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (215)
Viewed
Amenities (76)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
11.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
19.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
7.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Price Range: $145 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Matfen Hall Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay