We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Black Bull

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matfen
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Bull
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We visited on Sunday at around 5pm and was dissapointed to find out lunch finished at 3pm. But the owner quickly offered us two roast beef dinners in about 15 mins. We were totally delighted as they were one of the most delicious roast beef dinners we've had in ages Nothing was a bother. So friendly. Thanks again robert and... More 

Helpful?
Thank alexismccallum123
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We decided to try Black Bull for Sunday lunch. We went in and was met by a member of staff who was lovely and showed us to the table. We got a choice of meats and not long after our lunch came. Overall a lovely meal with some nice meat, lovely fresh vegetables and nice gravy and Yorkshire. Brilliant overall... More 

Helpful?
Thank greenplane
Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your lunch. We try our best to make a really fresh homecooked Sunday dinner and your feedback lets us know we are on the right track. I hope you call in again. Regards, Alison More 

Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

9 of us wen for fsther's day lunch. We were greeted with a very warm welcome from all the staff. Sunday lunches were amazing!! The beef!! Wow!! The pork!! Wow!! Nice roasties and vegetables too. Very tasty gravy!! Lol!! Beautiful location. I could go on and on about this place!! Thank you Ali and the rest of the team there.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kazza1964
Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thanks so much for that review. You were a lovely group to serve and I do hope you will visit us again. We are extending our menu to Saturday's too from the beginning of August so you may pop in for a sunny pint and a nice snack I hope! Cheers and all the best. Ali. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

Booked to support local businesses while the cyclone cycling event was on. Sunday lunch was lovely, nothing was too much trouble, even when you have picky children with food. Ali & the staff were very welcoming, would highly recommend coming here

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon O
Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thanks for that lovely review. It was a very busy day and I'm pleased you enjoyed your lunch. The kids were smashing actually, I like it when they know their own minds! Hope we see you again and sorry for the tardy reply. Regards, Ali More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016

Had a very warm welcome by staff and locals and a lovely open fire to warm you on a cold Sunday afternoon.The lunch was a really locally sourced from a few fields away we were told.Will try to go back in the summer to explore the beautiful location.

Helpful?
Thank PCchoice
Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for that really nice review. It is worth visiting the area in spring and summer as there are plenty of short walks around here if you feel like you need to earn a pint! Please come again. Alison More 

Garelochhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016 via mobile

Whilst staying nearby at Matfen Hall, had the pleasure to walk thedogs through the village. As we walked past the Black Bull we thought we thought we may visit later in the day/evening for food but as my husband walked to the front of the pub and before he got to the door he was met by a lady who... More 

Helpful?
Thank McBoxergirl
Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this review

I've thought long and hard about how to respond to this "review". Here goes: What you fail to mention is that I opened my front door at 7.30 am (yes, 7.30 in the morning!) to have my morning ciggie, and got the fright of my life as you were approaching me with an unleashed pair of boisterous dogs. I did... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner stumbled across this place while out for a drive. So glad we did. We are rural folk, but don't look it (tattoo's, piercings and beard- the latter mine, not my missus). A lot of the time we feel tense going to places like this, not today. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Cracking pint suggested by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank scotty f
Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi! Sorry for the tardy response, but I thought I already had done that. Anyway, I remember you well and I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit. I will try harder not to smoke you out of your table next time! Call again, regards, Alison More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016

Group of 5 came for the return of the homemade burgers. We were not disappointed. Really tasty homemade burgers, various flavour options available and amazing chips. If your in the area you have to try them.

Helpful?
Thank Linda K
Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We take great pride in our 100% beef burgers and it's nice to get feedback like this. Come back again soon. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2016 via mobile

We called at black bull on Saturday 23/01/16 whilst staying at Matfen hall . We were greeted by the landlady who was warming and welcomed us . We returned Sunday 24/01/16 for Sunday lunch , the roast potatoes are the best I've ever tasted and the landlords cauliflower cheese is a MUST . This pub is a definite if your... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Finnigans
Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and that you'd recommend us to other people. I hope you and your friends call in again soon. Alison and Nigel More 

Matfen, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

We were here on 4 july...matfen fete day.... Super atmosphere Lovely hosts..alison and nigel But best of all were the meaty bbq burgers..... Not to mention live music and.dancing in the sunshine oh yes and beautifully kept wylam ales !!!

Helpful?
1 Thank bicarb
Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi there Bicarb! Thank you for that review. You obviously enjoyed Fete Day, as did we all. I'm pleased you liked the burgers and the beer, we were flat out all afternoon and managed to sell out. I'm looking forward to making next year's "do" even bigger and better than this year with such positive reviews and reactions from customers... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
0.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
6.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Golden Lion
The Golden Lion
#8 of 16 in Corbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A traditional English pub (no B&B or rooms) in the beautiful village setting of Matfen. Serving a choice of five excellent Wylam Brewery ales as well as a good choice of well-known and well kept beers, fine wines, spirits and soft drinks. Fresh home cooked bar food is served Friday - Sunday with a small choice of home-cooked food and bar snacks. The Black Bull has everything you would want in a pub; warm, welcoming and friendly. Our games room includes a pool table, darts board, cards, dominoes and board games as well as a juke box and comfortable seating. Dogs and well-behaved children are very welcome! Winter opening hours Monday-Thursday 4pm - 10.30Pm. Friday 3pm - 11pm. Saturday Noon - 11pm, and Sunday Noon - 10pm. PLEASE NOTE: Large parties (over 10 people) cannot be catered for unless booked in advance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Bull

Address: Northside, Matfen NE20 0RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Matfen
Black Bull Matfen, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing