We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fjellro Turisthotell

Visit hotel website
Traveler (46)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (7)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Fjellro is one of the protected original buildings in the old street "Syltegata", which gives the street its charm and character. The hotel has been run by the same family for many years, giving it a homely atmosphere and best possible personal service. Proud Sylte mountain rises directly from the bottom of the garden creating a special atmosphere both of dramatics and calm. Our garden is the ideal place for you who want to relax a while from the hustle and bustle of daily life. Here you can let your children play freely, well protected from the busy main road. If you need a break and somewhere to relax while contemplating the impressions of the day - Fjellro is the place, centrally situated in the heart of The Golden Route beside the national tourist highway. Our hotel is a great starting point for those who want to explore the mountains and fjords of one of the most beautiful areas in Western Norway. From here you can visit unique mountain farms, try white water rafting, fish in the fjord and rivers, take a guided tour along the famous Geiranger fjord, follow mountain trails for a few hours or many days, sleeping over in special guest cabins.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Electric Vehicle Charging Station
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
37Car recommended
Grade: 37 out of 100
7Restaurantswithin 5 miles
2Attractionswithin 5 miles
92Reviews
100Photos
0Q+A
3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 26
  • 38
  • 25
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel desperately needs a capable manager and the rooms have to be updated. Its location is picturesque: surrounded by mountains, near a fjord and close to the Trollstygen. The outside of the buildings is very nice and there is a garden between them where you can sit amd
Read more
Response from Michael B, Manager at Fjellro Turisthotell
Responded Aug 3, 2018
Hello, You did not meet the manager so how do you know if he is capable or not ! As for updating the rooms, they were newly renovated this year, in fact I very much doubt if you could find a scratch mark or damaged furniture , walls etc.as you find in many hotels across Europe.I have travelled very much around the world and expect that every place is different for good or bad, its all part of travelling.While not the biggest rooms they are not the smallest either, the same goes for the bathrooms which are also new.! Why do you need to tell about other guests complaining! did you hear the explanation for why they were waiting too long?You were upset because nobody was there to say goodbye ,maybe it was because there were 55 other guests leaving around the same time and the receptionist could have been taken up with one of them.I am sure she would have wished you a pleasant journey further if she was able. I try not to pick faults in places and enjoy my stay .The reason I am writing this is because I am the Owner / manager with over 40 years experience in the trade and am proud of my staff who do their best at all times , Mike.
Read more
Looking at the photos on internet you think you will stay in a quaint country side hotel with two restaurants, of which one is of high standard, and the high price for the room, 1500 nok, was the highest on our trip through Norway. It is not. The restaurants are only open 2
Read more
Response from Michael B, Owner at Fjellro Turisthotell
Responded Jun 22, 2018
We are sorry you did not have a nice stay with us.We do not understand your comment " not really honest ". Fjellro is a countryside hotel which is 100 years old next year.and most people think it is quaint.The rooms are of average size with a very high standard of cleanliness and newly restored. Nowhere does it say that you can stay in the old building.As for the price, if you look on the internet we are one of the cheapest hotels in the area. This is a busy tourist area and prices are higher than in the cities which is quite normal.It also states clearly that there is 1 cafe,1 pub and 1 restaurant. Mike.
Read more
This hotell is a wonderful place with a fantastic staff. Clean room,great atmosphere and a perfect breakfast. This place I will visit again. Bikers are welcome. You can sit in the garden and drink your beer.
Read more
This was one of the highlights from our trip in Norway! We slept at Fjellro turisthotell on May 16th 2018 being the only guests at the hotel as this is still a bit off season and prior to Norway National day. The owner was very welcoming and gave us tips to find great viewpoints
Read more
Response from Michael B, Owner at Fjellro Turisthotell
Responded May 18, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words,we try to do our best and really appreciate positive feedback,all feedback in fact, as it keeps us on our toes.We wish you continued good weather and many more good experiences in Norway, Best Regards, Eli and Mike.
Read more
It was a nice hotel in a great location, but nothing too special. We've spent one night there, and the best part of it is the convenient location with a nice view. Other than that, a quite average hotel.
Read more
Previous
1234569
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
vista desde la habitacion
Camera
Bagno
Bagno
Camera matrimoniale
PreviousNext
12345
"Ask for a room in the main part of the hotel perhaps."
"Room 216 had a great view, room 213 faces courtyard (and was noisy)"
"The waitress showed us the room before we agreed to stay."
PRICE RANGE
$154 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayWestern NorwayNorddal MunicipalityValldal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing