We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

395 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 393: English reviews
Start your review of The George Hotel
 Click to rate
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely room , good food. Good service and nice sunny spot at the rear Could do with better wifi otherwise we cannot fault it We were surprised at how quiet the hotel was Good mid stop between Barnstaple and Exmouth on the bicycles

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toby E
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay - and pleased the sun shone for you! We know the wifi is patchy and we are working on upgrading it, hopefully when you return it will be much improved! Christian & Di

Hatherleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently visited the George for a birthday meal with my family. What a fantastic meal we all had! Although there was a party in the main bar (we were informed of this when we booked our table) this did not disturb us in the restaurant. Service throughout the evening was quick and very friendly without being intrusive. The Duck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy64gilbert
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. Fortunately The George is large enough to have a couple of different things happening without too much disruption. Glad you enjoyed the food - we have just had a review from people from the Devon Foodie blog and they liked the lamb too! We really look forward to...

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited the George Hotel for the weekend a couple of weeks ago with members of our family and was delighted at the very friendly staff. The rooms were excellent and the disabled room had a large wet room all the rooms were very clean as was the hotel itself. The food in the Bar and the Restaurant was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

It was so lovely to welcome you all here at The George, and thank you so much for the lovely review. I really look forward to seeing you again soon! Christian & Di

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went out for a birthday meal with my sister and Mum. Had a fantastic meal, good portion sizes. Waitress abs bar service was excellent. Lovely surroundings. Will definitely be returning with my partner 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review and we are delighted you had a good birthday meal. Looking forward to seeing you again Christian & Di

Hatherleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The George Hotel as mentioned in Michael Morpurgo's book War Horse is a gem in the centre of Hatherleigh,Devon. Rebuilt after a devastating fire in 2010 and now with new management, it really is worth a visit. The food is amazing,the staff are friendly and the atmosphere great. This is the proper War Horse country that the book was based...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for coming to The George and pointing out to us the importance of War Horse; some of it we didn't know and are delighted to find out the story. On your recommendation we have ordered copies of Warhorse for each of the rooms, and hope our future guests will gain a lot of pleasure from reading...

Reviewed February 23, 2017 via mobile

I Stayed here a few times for work. A warm welcome, very clean, modern rooms. Food is exceptional. Its worth us driving a little further to stay here when in the area. They are more than happy to accommodate us with a 7am breakfast which is nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaknasty
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We try to understand the needs of our business guests, and we are delighted that we seem to be deliivering what you need. We hope we see you again soon. Christian & Di

Petrockstowe, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 15, 2017

Having visited on re-opening after the renovations in 2010, The food was absolutely awful. I t has taken 7 years for us to risk it again, and, finding it under new management, we were welcomed and invited to view the menu. We enjoyed our starter, and although the choice was limited, our main course proved to be well cooked and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grandadstan
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you gave The George another chance, and so pleased you weren't disappointed. As you said when you were here, we are pleased we can provide you with somewhere to eat locally. I really hope to see you again soon. Christian & Diane

Reviewed February 3, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last week in the premier room and what a lovely find this place was. Such a warm welcome from all of the staff, we had our evening meal in the restaurant and it was the best meal I have ever had (highly recommend the Venison). The roll top bath was sheer bliss (almost got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scenery00000
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are so pleased you had a good stay and enjoyed your meal. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you will be back to see us soon! Christian & Di

Clanfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 1, 2017

All very clean and comfortable as somewhere to stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Food was good enough - wouldn't call it special but it was certainly edible and good value. This hotel had to be re-built following a devastating fire so it is 'new' and has all modern conveniences. The re-fit has been done sympathetically and so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The George. We are pleased you liked the place and that the staff met your expectations. As you know we are in the middle of redecoration and are trying very hard to make The George as good as it possibly can be. We are working on the menu too and...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Stayed at The George for 2 nights over the new year. Had a most fun and delightful time. Diane and Christian are superb hosts and are enhanced by all the staff ..behind the bar ..in the restaurant and everywhere within the hotel. The room was just perfect and spotless. We loved it. Freestanding bath took seconds to fill..dont leave unattended!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendylewis21
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we are really delighted to hear you had a good weekend! I am glad you recovered from your walk across Dartmoor, I am sure our big bath aided your recovery! It was a busy New Years eve, and we had a lot of guests who made it an unforgettable...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatherleigh
6.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Okehampton
148 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
13.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,026 reviews
12.1 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
The George Restaurant
The George Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George is located in Devon's smallest town, Hatherleigh. The pub is famous for its lively and welcoming atmosphere, and provides great freshly cooked food, drink and effortless service. Soft modern furnishings complement the traditional and historic building features, creating a warm, inviting feel. A pub with pub values offered with style, charisma and personality. Our menu is a mix of great pub classics and modern English dishes, with sharing plates for informal dining and a great range of mains. We take pride in sourcing our produce locally where possible, and are proud of the sensational food we offer. We offer 13 delightful ensuite rooms, some of which have four poster beds and feature baths. One of our rooms is fully accessible for people with disabilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 5 Market Street, Hatherleigh EX20 3JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hatherleigh
Price Range: $127 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Hatherleigh, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The George Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Petrockstowe, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Petrockstowe, United Kingdom
Bristol, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 1 is very nice”
tobye417, 3 days ago | Read review
“Stayed room 1”
wendylewis21, Jan 10, 2017 | Read review
“Room 6 was a quiet and overlooking the back of the Hotel”
877BarbaraK, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“Disabled adapted is room 14”
Bedelet, Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
“Hatherleigh is a very interesting place to visit but not to stay.”
37Lynne, Apr 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question