We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Looe Key Reef Resort

Save
Share
Mile Marker 27.5 Overseas Highway 27340 Overseas Hwy, Ramrod Key, FL 33042
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (122)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Vintage Keys charm, modern conveniences and super friendly staff! Relax on your back patio overlooking the canal (most rooms) and be only steps from the onsite heated pool, full service dive shop, two dive/snorkel boats and the tiki bar and restaurant with nightly live entertainment. All rooms have free Wi-Fi, a small refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and cable TV. Great location, mid-way between Marathon and Key West. Spend a half-day on our roomy dive/snorkel boat exploring the world famous Looe Key National Marine Sanctaury. It's shallow (30 ft/9 m) and full of cool critters! Need kayaks or a rental boat? We can help you arrange that with our nearby sister properties.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Snorkeling
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Evening entertainment
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
235Reviews6Q+A55Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 63
  • 71
  • 54
  • 23
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jake wrote a review Aug 2020
Tampa, Florida3 contributions
Drove here and expected to stay for 7 days Had a problem with not only one dive instructor but two and when your instructor tells you not to bring a dive knife they deserve to lose their job Bartender Jackie is so rude she yells at the people sitting at the tables from the bar in front of bar patrons she starts fights and the police shows up ‘real classy’ The restaurant ‘food truck’ leaves their food in buckets outside in the heat The guy renting your gear will try to over charge you if he doesn’t like you and when you ask for receipts they look at you with disgust I can’t say enough horrible things about this MOTEL resort it really has turned into trash and i’m really sick from their food i will be calling my doctor
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Looe Key, General Manager at Looe Key Reef Resort
Responded Aug 16, 2020
Jacob - kind of catching me by surprise here. I'm sorry we couldn't complete your wife's dive training, but student safety is always our top priority, and I know that was handled very professionally. You and I literally spoke several times a day and you had nothing but praise for everything and raved about how many times you had been here and planned to keep coming back. You even wanted to invest in the place. I don't recall seeing or hearing about any rudeness from you or anyone else (except for the mask issue in the Tiki, which we have nothing to do with). I happened to be standing right there when you returned your rental gear and you expressed no problem and I saw none. The only "disgust" may have been the employee who had to take your gear back to wash (no dust cap on the reg, covered in seaweed and slime, and smelling like dead fish). We also disposed of all the dirty baby diapers you left laying all over the room, the pool deck, and the boat - didn't think you wanted us to send them to you.
Read more
Linda W wrote a review Jul 2020
6 contributions
+1
If you want to snorkel, this is the place to go. The crew (captain James and Dawn) did an incredible job sharing knowledge and humor with the snorkelers/divers. I felt they they care not only about giving an incredible snorkel/dive experience but are also compassionate about the environment. They provide free reef-safe sunscreen and also teach you about the sea creatures you are more than likely to encounter. I have taken several trips with them and intend to stick with this wonderful crew. I got to see several different species of fish (sergeant majors, angel fish, Goliath grouper, eagle ray, different parrot fish, juvenile reef shark) while snorkeling. However, the highlight of both trips this year was seeing green sea turtles feasting on sea grass as well as a pod of dolphins. I highly recommend snorkeling/diving Looe Key with this company. I will be back for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Looe Key, General Manager at Looe Key Reef Resort
Responded Jul 11, 2020
Thank you for your kind words, Linda! We are thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing time with us and got to see so many amazing creatures. Our crew really does a great job of informing our customers about our reef and showing them a good time. We hope you come out with us again soon!
Read more
Nancy C wrote a review Mar 2020
Ithaca, New York, United States12 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed 2 nights, a Sunday and the following Friday with a paddle trip in between. The check in in the dive shop is a bit off putting. On arrival on Friday, we were told one thing by the guy behind the desk and the totally opposite thing by the guy running the TIki Bar. Tiki Bar food is lackluster. Rooms are spartan and not very clean. Towels are scratchy. Coffee is weak. There are no tissues in the room, only toilet paper to blow your nose. No phone in the room so if you need something you have to go to the dive shop. When we checked in again on Friday, the guy looked at my husband's license and said "New York? Why would you live where the weather can kill you?" Insulting a good portion of the country. When I told him that we had just finished a 5-day kayak paddle, he insulted me again by saying" Why would you waste energy paddling to place you can drive a motor boat to?" Why would you employ someone who insults your customers? I don't know. The band on Friday night started at 7pm and ended at 10pm. Our room was close to the Tiki Bar and we could hear it like we were sitting outdoors. I slept with my ear plugs in. At $189 a night, it is one of the more reasonable places in the Keys, but the rest of the issues do not make it worth it. Maybe if you are a diver this place is worth it. For us, it was awful and I would not recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Looe K, Manager at Looe Key Reef Resort
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Thanks for the feedback, Nancy. We're sorry you weren't completely happy with your stay and your experience is not typical of the experience of our other guests. I apologize that our employee's attempt at humor fell flat, and we'll do a little employee coaching regarding that. We'll keep working on the other issues you mentioned and hope you'll give us another try in the future.
Read more
Travellvr2 wrote a review Mar 2020
Orland Park, Illinois40 contributions19 helpful votes
So glad we chose this resort as part of our trip to the Keys. For its reasonable price it met all of our needs. The room was nice with a flat screen tv, fridge and a comfortable bed. WiFi worked well and ice was available when needed. We also enjoyed the food at the tiki bar restaurant next store and liked the entertainment at night. We’re divers and our dive trip was great. Yes the entertainment at night can be loud, so bring earplugs. Other than that I can’t understand giving this place a negative review. Would definitely recommend !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from LooeKeyReefResort, Front Desk at Looe Key Reef Resort
Responded Mar 3, 2020
Thank you for your kind words! Glad to hear you got to take full advantage of everything we have to offer on-site, including our Tiki Bar and Dive Trips. Hope you come back to stay with us again soon!
Read more
OldFloridaGuy wrote a review Feb 2020
Lakeland, Florida34 contributions11 helpful votes
Full disclosure here: Our party of four are not divers. We were looking for a more reasonably-priced lodging in the lower Keys and landed here. I’m certain that, had we been looking for accommodations adjacent to a dive center, we would have been more satisfied. The hotel is a 1950’s vintage motel in need of a thorough renovation. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, but the general look is a bit shabby. In terms of general cleanliness, I’d rate it a 5 out of 10. Parking is not adjacent to the rooms. The on-site tiki bar is noisy late into the night. One plus: The staff we encountered were friendly. In summary, we will not consider a stay here in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from LooeKeyReefResort, Front Desk at Looe Key Reef Resort
Responded Feb 29, 2020
Thanks for the feedback and for recognizing our cleanliness, comfy beds, spacious rooms, and affordable prices. We do have live entertainment almost every night, but generally, the music stops around 10/10:30 pm because of city ordinances. We apologize that you were not fully satisfied with your stay, but hope you do decide to give us a second chance and stay with us again soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$179 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysRamrod Key
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Looe Key Reef Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Looe Key Reef Resort?
Nearby attractions include National Key Deer Refuge (3.3 miles), Blue Hole (3.1 miles), and Boondocks Miniature Golf (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Looe Key Reef Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Looe Key Reef Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Looe Key Reef Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Looe Key Reef Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Looe Key Reef Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Square Grouper Bar and Grill, The Galley Grill, and Boondocks Grille & Draft House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Looe Key Reef Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Looe Key Reef Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Ramrod Key.
Are pets allowed at Looe Key Reef Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Looe Key Reef Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.