We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Kaiteri Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kaiteri Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 101: English reviews
UAE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We, a family of four with two grown up kids stayed here for a night. We saw some good review and booked this lodge which turned out to be a kind of back packers place and denitely not recommended for a family. Location of the lodge is good, you can say almost on the beach. Room was extremely small. With... More 

Helpful?
Thank ADTravelerUae
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in for a night. Greeted by a fab member of staff who was really cheery and very helpful. Lovely sized room with tea and coffee, and a large fridge so had we stayed longer we may have got some stuff in as there is a communal kitchen for people to use. Kaiteri Lodge had a nice vibe, very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Laura B,, Thank you for your great review of Kaiteri Lodge. I am glad that you found our staff cheery and helpful as we do work hard to make sure our guests have the best experience whilst they are here. I am sorry to hear that you found your room a little chilly this will be remedied very... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

We stopped in Kaiteriteri for a night with Kiwi Experience. The Kaiteri Lodge was a great little hostel. We booked a double room and were surprised to find how spacious it was. The restaurant next door was also great and has a good deal on for Kiwi Ex backpackers. Overall we'd definitely stay again if we were passing through.

Helpful?
Thank Jack L
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Jack L, Thank you for your great review of Kaiteri Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and that you were happy with your accommodation and also our restaurant. At Kaiteri Lodge we work hard as a team from admin to house-keeping to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. We would love to have... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Three friends and I stayed here but as part of the Kiwi Experience bus tour. We only stayed for one night so didn't experience a lot of the lodge. The four of us got a room for just us so didn't have to share and it was really spacious. The kitchen was very very busy, we got there a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank katieclaireb
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016 via mobile

I've been there for one night a room for 8 bed. The room wasn't enough space, the toilet is separated of the shower, into the shower you will not find something for to put your thinks the room is big. If you want to use the wifi you must pay, you can find laundry and small kitchen but enough for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Casyomosa C
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Casyomosa C, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. The dorm room your were staying in has four showers and two toilets located in the hallway directly opposite your door. We find that these being separate is normally not an issue but apologise if you felt that it didn't meet your expectations. We are unable to... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We got a double room for two nights as part of the kiwi experience. The room was spacious enough and had an en-suite which worked well. Our room backed onto the outside garden so people were out there until 10pm, but after that I think it got locked up so had no noise at night. Kitchen was shocking, imagine 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravellingTeacher22
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora TravellingTeacher22, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. Unfortunately, we do have issues with over crowding in the kitchen when both tour buses arrive at the same time. Kaiteri Lodge staff and the tour bus drivers try to co-ordinate times adequately so as to allow a break between their arrivals however, this is not always possible,... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

The hostel is located perfectly - right next to the beach! We booked a double room and were pleasantly surprised when we found out we had a large spacious room, with a TV and ensuite bathroom. It was good value.

Helpful?
Thank 23J23
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora 23J23, Thank you for the great review of Kaiteri Lodge and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Kaiteriteri Beach is a beautiful gem that we are lucky enough to have in our doorstep as well as being just a stones throw from the Abel Tasman National Park. we wish you all the best for you NZ... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

I went as part of a group to stay here and the staff were pretty unfriendly and a bit rude. The rooms were ok but nothing special for $30 plus a $20 deposit on the room key, which they refused to give back to one of my friends as even though he had already moved all his stuff out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jago0297
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Jago0297, Thank you for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. Firstly, let me apologise if you felt that our staff were unfriendly or rude. We feel it is very important to have professional, welcoming staff and our team work very hard to assist with all of our guests needs. It can be an exceptionally busy time when... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kaiteriteri hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

Clean rooms and comfy beds. Good laundry facilities. Kitchen is large but you have to pay a $5 deposit for cutlery which is annoying. No free WiFi and the computers are $1 for 15mins. Lovely beach location and staff are great

Helpful?
Thank fenton2016
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora fenton2016, Thanks for the great review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Its understandable that you found having to pay a deposit for the cutlery annoying however, due to the high amount of theft, we have had to put this policy into place to ensure that these items are returned. Kaiteriteri Beach... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016

We stayed here with Kiwi Experience recently as there are not many other places to stay nearby. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to phone ahead of our stay to reserve a double occupancy room for a good price and this was a very straightforward process thanks to the efficiency of staff. Our room was clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeahWhaiHills
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora LeahWhaiHills, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. We are pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful and you enjoyed your private room. We have since upgraded our kitchen dishware as well as restocking pots and pans etc. Unfortunately, due to the large number of thefts of our cutlery, we have had to implement... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
12.1 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
5.3 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fernwood Holiday Park
Fernwood Holiday Park
#9 of 10 in Motueka
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kaiteri Lodge is set right at the start of the Abel Tasman National Park. Our beach-style and back packer accommodation is just 50m from the beachfront of beautiful Kaiteriteri, a stone’s throw from the Abel Tasman National Park and Kaiteriteri Mountain Bike Park, and the perfect setting for fun, relaxed family holidays, international travellers or weekend get-away. The beautiful Nelson region boasts the most sunshine hours in New Zealand, and a selection of safe swimming beaches. At Kaiteri Lodge, we’re proud to offer the best of everything New Zealand has to offer – friendly people, local cafes and restaurants, golden beaches, walking tracks, beautiful scenery, and comfortable, welcoming accommodation for any traveller. When you stay at our Kaiteriteri accommodation, you won’t be short on things to see and do. Go kayaking, sailing, mountain biking, fishing or swimming, or visit the nearby walking tracks for a real outdoor Kiwi experience. We have 21 rooms that can accommodate most requests but have limited private rooms configured as Super King Doubles and Twins with en-suite. Kaiteri Lodge is mainly configured as shared dorm style rooms with en-suite. Our private en-suite rooms come with a super king double bed, heater, TV, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. All linen is provided. Kaiteri Lodge is also shared with Kiwi Experience, a national in-bound tour bus operation. The lodge has the following facilities available to all guests: Activity booking desk, TV room, Laundry, Wireless and Kiosk Internet, BBQ area and a shared kitchen with all necessary cooking utensils. The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, fully licensed, on-site and open from 4pm 7 nights a week November to April and May to October 4 nights per week serving set menu options or choose from our a la carte dining, gourmet pizzas or take away, we’ve got it all. There is music nightly. Local activities: kayaking, walking Abel Tasman, waka races, water taxis, scalloping, cray-fishing, mini golf, sailing, sky diving and many more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kaiteri Lodge

Address: 8 Inlet Road | Motueka, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Price Range: $48 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaiteri Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kaiteri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiteri Hotel Kaiteriteri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay