We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 558: English reviews
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our main problem with this hotel is that we paid approx. $125 a night on Booking.com. You wouldn't pay that much for this room at this hotel anywhere else in the world, let alone India. The breakfast buffet was fantastic however and breakfast staff was very friendly. Reception also helped out. The water was hot. Wifi barely worked. Wouldn't go... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RoverRose
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is located near Vainguinim Beach which is almost outskirts of the city and moreover from all the major tourist attraction. You will not find any local transport facility near the hotel moreover no hiring facility available nearby for self driving cars or bikes. The only transportation available is at the hotel lobby, who will charge you a fat... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rexsonjjoy
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good hotel to relax in, clean and well equipped. Downside was the noise levels, we could hear kids running around outside our room. Decent musical entertainment and dining options. Pool was also nice.

Helpful?
Thank laurenbess
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, Goa! Thank you for the great rating and a review. Since this resort is mostly preferred by families we get kids too and they can be difficult to control sometimes. If you prefer quieter room we request you to kindly mention your preferences. We take room preferences and try and fulfill all... More 

Moradabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to Goa in September and stayed at sandalwood with my family. It's a great place to be. We were given a suite on third floor which was a two bedroom air conditioned apartment with a huge living room. There were 3 balconies. 3 TVs, 4 split ACs, a big fridge, kitchenette and even a small bar counter. Couldn't ask... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VineetMalini
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, Goa! It's an immense pleasure to read such great reviews as it gives the team the moral boost to go over and beyond in serving our guest. We thank you for the response and a fantastic one. We look forward to your future visits, Warm Regards, Kamran Siddiqui General Manager More 

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Visited Oct 2016. Hotel was not great. Location was ok. Reception staff were not friendly. Rooms look very old and small. Pathetic maintenance. AC doesn't work sometimes. We changed our room as AC was not working. Lot of insects/mosquitos. Not clean environment for a Goan environment.

Helpful?
Thank Bhanu P
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, Goa! We regret that you didn't find our hotel as per your requirements, I request you to write to us in detail about your stay experience. As per our records you stayed in a room which is a large 50 square meters suite and there is no room change registred. However we... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2016

We were a family of three who stayed from Oct 9 to 13 2016 in a single bedroom suite (Room 231). I had driven all the way from Bangalore to Goa for 11 hours and when I reached the hotel, I was greeted by an unfriendly, rude lady at the front desk. Even the manager, Mr. Casper, to whom I... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank sukhdevbsingh
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

The restaurant and staff are perfect specially Philip the restaurant captain , food and breakfast is absolutely good, maybe the strongest point of the hotel is the restaurant. We arrived early in the morning but they gave us room so we didn't have to wait till 2, The rooms are mediocre, the cleaning can be improved, and rooms need some... More 

Helpful?
Thank hamed g
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Id give this place a 2 star , because it was basic. but the hospitable staff made up for it! I liked the friendly nature of the staff and employees were Extremely cooperative ( took printouts for me for free etc ) So, I stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days , and It was pleasant . but Kind... More 

Helpful?
Thank nycl907
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood hotel & retreat, Goa! I would like to thank you for taking out time and reviewing us here. I am glad that though you rated us low but you are still all praises for our hotel and the team. Yes I agree that it's located at a quite place and is meant for people who... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2016

Hotel is <ok>, Food is <ok> , location is also <ok>. But the staff is terrible, extremely rude and not at all cooperative.Although they are in hospitality business but they lack even basic sense of understanding that not everyone come for holiday to hear their loud noise and slutty Bollywood songs.

Helpful?
2 Thank madhavi s
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood hotel & retreat, Goa! We regret that a two hours Music from a different group disturbed you however I wish to inform you that as a hotel we have to cater to all type of guests and sometimes one groups likings may not match the other hence such programs are kept crisp and short. We... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

A guy named Philip (restaurant head) is a very nice and good person everytime we enter the restaurant he attended all of us with a pleasant smile the management was good and food was delicious. Rooms (suite n superior) were spacious and clean. Also beach is very good for swimming.

Helpful?
2 Thank Harsh345
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

698 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (341)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (123)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (338)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Penthouse (101)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (58)
Viewed
Deluxe Premier Room (52)
Viewed
Other (37)
Viewed
Children's Pool (2)
Viewed
Adult Pool (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dona Paula
3.9 mi away
The HQ
The HQ
#1 of 8 in Vasco da Gama
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cidade de Goa
Cidade de Goa
#1 of 11 in Dona Paula
1,286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prainha Resort
Prainha Resort
#3 of 11 in Dona Paula
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#8 of 62 in Candolim
443 reviews
10.1 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#2 of 16 in Anjuna
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat

Address: Vainguinim Beach, Dona Paula 403004, India
Location: India > Goa > Dona Paula
Price Range: $64 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalwood Hotel And Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat Goa/Dona Paula
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dona Paula
#2 Spa Hotel in Dona Paula
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat staff and other travelers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Quiet and lonely resort”
 of 5 bubbles rexsonjjoy, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“If you are four adults go for the suite room instead of 2 rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles VineetMalini, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Not a good hotel to select Good room...”
 of 5 bubbles BhanuPraveeng, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid higher floors as there are no elevators!”
 of 5 bubbles sukhdevbsingh, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Garden facing or Pool facing.”
 of 5 bubbles nycl907, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay