We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Inn at Whitewell

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitewell
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Inn at Whitewell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

704 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 703: English reviews
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stunning views and very remote location, a very nice wedding venue. Beds so comfy and room had a fantastic view. Really enjoyed having a luxurious bath with lovely toiletries and white fluffy towels. Breakfast service a little slow but lovely when it came. Struggled to find our way out into a main road even with sat nav but an altogether... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna H
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely old building with a pleasant drive in from Clitheroe(even on a dull day). Super location overlooking the river with a terrace for drinks. Few rooms left when we booked-had No 10 upstairs at the front of the inn-great size with small sitting area. Modern bathroom with a huge bath(overhead shower). We ate in the bar rather than restaurant-good choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy W
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely lunch on the edge of the picturesque River Hodder. Plenty of choice on the menu, with all produce locally sourced. The Cumberland Sausage & champ was so good I want to go back and eat again tomorrow. Highly recommend this perfectly located Inn.

Helpful?
Thank Tom W
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you so much, lovely of you to drop us a review. Glad you enjoyed our snags, they are the same recipe for 20 plus years. Regards C More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a most welcoming and very popular quality Pub with clearly good management able to provide for their wide clientele. This was our third visit and on each occasion there has been a cheerful Lancashire thoroughness. The food was good but service both for dinner and breakfast erred on being slow. Also Dogs are very welcome - perhaps too... More 

Helpful?
Thank 62Heron
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Many thanks for you review, maybe we could loan dogs out? Very much appreciate the write-up. Regards Cb More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I attended a wedding here the food was nice the area is nice no phone signal though!!! but that can be nice and there is wifi in certain areas. Room we had was an old style room with tall bed and nice bathroom price at £179 for the nice was abit steep. In the middle of nowhere as well so... More 

Helpful?
Thank adamtstravels
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, very kind and much appreciated. The lack of mobile isn't thrilling for my kids but I love it. Regards Cb More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This venue is for those special occasions. The setting is magnificent and sits on the River Hodder. As there were 10 of us we elected to select our choices to eat before the day. I can only comment on 2 of the starters 1, the Venison carpaccio and the black pudding with duck egg. Both were exquisite. The service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you very much really kind of you to write about us. Glad you enjoyed the party, and the venison carpaccio. Hope we'll see you again before too long. Regards Cb More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have visited the Inn at Whitewell several times and I have to say the food is always superb. Actually managed to grab a seat outside on the terrace last time I was in and the views were superb. I have to say though I was slightly disappointed with the service last time I was in for a meal from... More 

Helpful?
Thank 505matjk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to a wedding here on the 15/07/16. Lovely venue, but rather expensive. We booked a room for the night, which was lovely. Although you could only really watch the tv if you sat at the bathroom door, as it was on the wrong wall to be able to watch it in bed, not that we were there to watch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becky D
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, so pleased you had a good party. We should have explained better, the £15 was not a charge for the ice bucket but the corkage charge for your own wine you were intending to drink on the premises. the economics of a hotel really require guests to drink food and wine provided by us else... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I ate Fish and Chips, my sister had the Chicken liver pate .My cousin had the Fish and Chips which are the best around Preston. We sat outside to see the views across the stream while we ate our food.

Helpful?
Thank Parveen S
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your writer-up , very much appreciated. Glad you got outside in-between showers. Hope we'll see you again before too long. Regards Cb More 

Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here while visiting family, what a fantastic place, great food with stunning views. The place has loads of history and boasts an appearance in the 'trip'. Well worth a visit and very reasonable prices. Highly recommended 👍👍👍👌👌👌

Helpful?
Thank tap1903
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Really kind of you to post your review, thank you. hope you enjoyed The Trip as much as we did. Regards Cb More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

174 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (168)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitewell
8.0 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
9.5 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Inn at Whitewell

Address: near Clitheroe, Whitewell BB7 3AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Whitewell
Price Range: $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Whitewell 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Inn At Whitewell Hotel Whitewell
Inn Whitewell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing