We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World

Save
Share
Prof.-Dr.-Vogel-Str. 6, 18209 Ostseebad Heiligendamm, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania Germany
Lowest prices for your stay
$581
$355
View deal
SAVE $226
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$370
View deal
Expedia.com$355
Travelocity$355
Trip.com$581
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (844)
Room & Suite (210)
Dining (79)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
There are places on earth which are out of this world. Imagine a place which offers almost everything, except appointments, stress and the hectic pace of every day life. There is such a magical place - it's called Heiligendamm. The region of Mecklenburg-Westerm Pomerania creates a feeling of freedom. Discover how the air is getting saltier while driving through the century-old avenues of trees. Surrounded by the Baltic Sea and dense beech forests appears the "White Town" of Heiligendamm in a resplendent light.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Full view
Contact
Prof.-Dr.-Vogel-Str. 6, 18209 Ostseebad Heiligendamm, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Frankfurt Intl Airport317 miSee all flights
Laage Airport23 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
861Reviews5Q+A26Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 495
  • 168
  • 111
  • 49
  • 38
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Mika wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution4 helpful votes
We came here for 4 days. We paid approx $1000 per night for our suite, a complete waist of money! The service is just horrific, don’t even consider asking for any favors or you can expect attitude from the staff. Everything takes FOREVER. Our room wasn’t cleaned by 3 pm so I called 2 times for someone to come and clean it. When I arrived in our suite at 5pm the room was still not clean. Eventually someone came and made the beds. The tables were not wiped, the bathroom was not properly cleaned. The rooms are very old fashioned. The hallways smell awfully old. When we arrived to the breakfast it took them 20 min to clean a vacant table, even though they knew we were waiting. The breakfast wasn’t great, don’t expect much more then you would get in a motel. We were misinformed about the opening times for the beach. By the time we arrived (which was the time the receptionist told us it would be opening) all the beds and cabanas were apparently fully booked, even though the entire place was empty. The beach is full of seaweed and trash, it is not being cleaned. We were told by most other hotel guests not to eat in the hotel because the food is not very good, so we ate every night at Medinis, an Italian restaurant next door. Don’t even bother booking this place. We will not come back
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Thies Bruhn, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World
Responded Oct 9, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we could not convince you of our service in its entirety. I would be happy to go into your detailed points. The service deficiencies in housekeeping that you reported are not meant to be. We would like to apologize for this. We have already discussed this with our senior housekeeper in order to avoid such deficiencies in the future. Our ensemble was built with the first buildings from 1793 as the first seaside resort in Germany. We have adapted our rooms with the equipment to the premises without disregarding modern technology. We are sorry that this combination did not appeal to you. However, we cannot understand the odour nuisance in the hallways that you described. Due to the situation with CoVid-19 we are forced to allocate seating times for our guests for breakfast. If guests appear outside the times discussed with them, a seating is usually not possible or only possible with a delay. We therefore apologize for this. We are sorry that on the day of arrival you were not informed about the correct opening times of our beach outlet. Such mistakes should not happen. The beach itself belongs to the municipality as everywhere in Germany. Therefore it is possible that sea grass was lying on the shore, because the beach cleaning is beyond our influence. However, we strongly reject the fact that there was garbage in the water or on the beach. We are really sorry that you did not visit our restaurants at all on the recommendation of other guests. Our chef de cuisine is very meticulous in arranging his menu and coordinating the individual dishes. However, since you did not visit us, you cannot make any statement about the quality of our dishes. We would be happy to convince you of our service during your next visit. With kind regards Thies C. Bruhn General Manager
Read more
Petropouloum wrote a review Oct 2019
Vienna Region, Austria14 contributions31 helpful votes
I became acquainted with this hotel having watched romantic films in the TV in the Romance Channel in Austria. I was stunned with the beauty of the buildings and the surroundings of this place. My husband, who is German, found the exact spot and we decided to visit this beautiful hotel. Built on a North Sea beach, it consists of many buildings 4-5 of them looking like small palaces. The gardens and the club on the beach are wonderful. The rooms are very nice and ours was very spacious and had a magnificent view on the beach. The restaurants, bars, spa etc. were fantastic, only you have to change building every time: the spa is a separate building and the same applies for the breakfast. I would have no problem during the summer, but from September onwards, if it rains it becomes a bit difficult. All is perfect : breakfast, food, service etc. I would recommend it for about 2- 3 days only, because it is extremely expensive and what you need to see, can be seen in this short time. Unless it is summer and one wants to spend a week and swim, too.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Mike P wrote a review Oct 2019
Wendover, United Kingdom76 contributions38 helpful votes
We thought only the english knew how to serve afternoon tea, but this hotel is just as good with a wonderful array of sandwiches and cakes. Even their cups of tea were enjoyable. The other fantastic part of this hotel is its setting on the beach. Should be wonderful in the summertime.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go for the beach view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
edm0n wrote a review Sep 2019
Dundee, United Kingdom268 contributions111 helpful votes
My family and I enjoyed a very pleasant stay at this elegant grand hotel on the beach. In the sunshine it is truly stunning and contrary to other reviews, we all found the service in all areas to be excellent perhaps because the hotel was quieter at the end of the season. My family enjoyed the spa facilities and the restaurants (separate reviews) and the beach facilities. The reason for the four star rating is that they attempted to charge us for a meal on a date when we were not there and double charged us for the valet parking. This was corrected but should not have happened at this level of hotel. The valet parking at 25 euros a day seemed a bit steep and charging to use the cycles and beach seats also seemed excessive. However having a family breakfast on the sunlit terrace of the kurhaus will be long remembered. The breakfast choice could have been better for this level of hotel but a range of food choices were available.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
reins867 wrote a review Aug 2019
Hamburg, Germany127 contributions105 helpful votes
Yes, this hotel is a true grand hotel. Unfortunately with an extreme service problem. We had a great suite with a direct sea view. The sun was shining, everything could have been so nice. But it was just shameful. The breakfast takes place on a terrace with around 200 (!) Guests. Hello, we are talking about a 5 star deluxe hotel. At 11 o'clock in the morning it was impossible to get a table. We wait nearly 15 minutes. My ordered scrambled eggs with crabs did not come even after an hour. Forgotten! The harsh announcement came that it was time to close the buffet. At four in the afternoon our room was not done. The next day in the sushi bar worked exactly one serving force. She tried hard. But she had no idea about Japanese food. However, the Sashimi had nothing to do with Sashimi ... Hugh thick slices of tasteless fish. The same thing at the beach bar. Self-service! But beach chairs to hire for 14 EUR the day. No beach service! The young man at the counter just shrugged his shoulders ... Well, there's more or less nothing to eat except wraps anyway ... The highlight was the check out. On the bill, I found a massage that we definitely had not had. I pointed out the lady at the reception. Her answer: "Could happen!". No, that must not happen in such a house with these prices and this claim. The hotel will not see us again. The gourmet restaurant Friedrich Franz but certainly! But I write about it a separate review.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: 2. Floor seaside suites
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GHHeiligendamm, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World
Responded Sep 2, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. Yours experiences will help us to improve our service for you and all the other guests. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We recommend all our guests to go to breakfast during off-peak hours to avoid waiting periods. As a hotel with 200 rooms we have to seat many guests while high season. This can cause waiting times in peak hours. That the service team has forgotten your orders should not happen. We are sorry to hear that our Sushi Bar meals didn't match your taste. Be affirmed that our sushi and all the other meals are on highest quality and made by an approved sushi master. Outside the direct surrounding of our Beach Bar we do have self-service which is announced by signs when you left the bar area. We want to apologize us for the error on the Bill. You are right, that should not happen anyway. We are sorry to hear that you will refrain from another stay here at Heiligendamm. Kind Regards Thies C. Bruhn Executive Director
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$219 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel ostseebad heiligendamm
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kempinski Grand
LOCATION
GermanyMecklenburg-West PomeraniaOstseebad Heiligendamm
NUMBER OF ROOMS
199
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a swimup bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World?
Conveniently located restaurants include KOSI Restaurant & Weinwirtschaft, Friedrich Franz, and Jagdhaus Heiligendamm.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the center of Ostseebad Heiligendamm.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Grand Hotel Heiligendamm - The Leading Hotels of the World offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.