We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1169 rue de la Sente aux Boeufs, 76160 Saint-Martin-du-Vivier France
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$87
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$88
Priceline
eDreams$87
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (15)
Bathroom (2)

About

Location
4.7
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Value
5.0
A traditional villa of the eighteenth century, beautifully restored, with a large garden and a veranda, just 5 km from Rouen and in the center of Normandy, Three elegant rooms , each with its own private bathroom. Each room has an individual style. Sandrine has an Italian atmosphere; Camille is French / Romantic and Jasmine is in ethnic style. FREE parking space.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Iron
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
37Reviews2Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 35
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Edwin M wrote a review Apr 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom32 contributions30 helpful votes
We were warmly welcomed by Simona and Alberto the Italian owners every time we stayed at this Chambres D'hote. They always wore masks. There was secure parking. On one occasion our son hit the gate post on entry grazing it. The response by Alberto was to get out his tool box and mend it, then he said that it did not matter at all. The rooms were excellent and we were always offered a cup of coffee or tea on arrival. The evening meal and breakfast were very good as was the red wine served to us. At the end of the meal we were offered a delicious Italian digestif, Limoncello,
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: the downstairs room is the most luxurious
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto et Simona, Proprietario at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix
Responded Apr 19, 2022
Dear Edwin, we are very grateful to you for this wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to have you here and we appreciate very much that you feel so comfortable with us. As you said, the damage to the gate was very small, a superficial scratch on an aluminum surface that won't rust. You don't really have to worry. We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
talkingpics wrote a review Oct 2019
york, england125 contributions70 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night on our journey to Zeebrugge and the ferry home. Friends discovered le Phenix earlier in the year and recommended that we stay here rather than one of the Novotels we usually use. It meant a different route and a much longer drive but this was more interesting than the A20. Our hosts were lovely and cooked a dinner of Italian specialities which we shared as we were the only guests eating here (I can’t imagine why anyone would drive into Rouen, rather than eat here with the owners). They were excellent company and we enjoyed the informality and their stories of cooking and Italy. Our room, Camille, was impeccable; spotlessly clean to within an inch of its life and comfortable. Breakfast was freshly prepared and also excellent. All in all this is a really nice place to stay and we would recommend it to anybody.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto-e-Simona, Proprietario at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix
Responded Oct 22, 2019
Thank you very much for the lovely review. It was a real pleasure to have you here. Knowing that people enjoy our hospitality give a sense to our job and make us very happy. See you next time.
Read more
Derek F wrote a review Sep 2019
Sos, France2 contributions2 helpful votes
On our arrival at Le Phenix we were enthusiastically greeted by Alberto & Simona with a couple of cold beers which we enjoyed on the terrace overlooking their beautiful garden, as we entered their home we were very impressed with their style, and even more so the cleanliness of the house. As an interior designer & a Fashion Designer, you can imagine we are not easily impressed !!! The Bedroom & En Suite was extremely comfortable & we enjoyed a brilliant nights sleep. Alberto cooked an amazing 3 course Dinner which we enjoyed together with the company of another couple of visitors & Alberto & Simona all this together with safe covered parking & an amazing breakfast before we left. We can’t recommend Le Phenix highly enough you MUST stay here, it is perfectly situated for your trips to & from the Channel Tunnel,Calais & Boulogne ferries ,& Zeebruger ferries. Thanks so much Alberto & Simona for your wonderful hospitality, we will certainly be staying with you again on our next visit to our Other home in the South of France, & will recommend Le Phenix to all our friends. Derek & Stephen
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto-e-Simona, Proprietario at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix
Responded Sep 18, 2019
Knowing that you found yourself so well in our house to write a wonderful review like this, fills us with joy and pride. Thank you so much!
Read more
Natalie parker wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
My husband and I travelled to la Rochelle with our two children who are 8 months and nearly 3. It was a long drive down so we decided to split the journey and stay somewhere overnight on the way home. We found this little B&B and it was the best thing we did. On arrival, the hosts, Alberto and Simona, could not have been more welcoming. It was one of the hottest days of the year and we had driven all day. They brought my husband a beer and my son an orange squash, as well as an ice cold jug of water. The room was spacious and most importantly clean! They had made special efforts with our sons bed, putting a teddy bear on it and there was 'cocomelon' on the television for him! Normally whenever we stay anywhere and request a cot, it is a travel cot which has no mattress and is rock hard. I then spend the first 30 minutes of our stay padding the bottom out with spare pillows or blankets or whatever I can find. Not here! They had put a baby mattress in it so it was lovely and comfortable, our daughter slept soundly all night! There was also a basket with baby wipes, cream, talc and baby bags etc. Which we didn't need but thought it was a lovely gesture. I don't think we have ever had that anywhere. The following morning we got up to a lovely breakfast and both children ate very well. There were pastries, bread, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, apple cake, ham and cheeses. Plenty to choose from. I noticed they also let guests put ice packs and drinks in their fridge/freezer which I wish I'd thought of the night before because it was then the hottest day of the year. They allowed us full use of their facilities to sterilise and make bottles up for the baby and could not have been more helpful. Alberto gave us a map of Rouen town and explained where to park and visit that morning before we continued on our journey to Calais. We had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend it. Great hosts, beautiful property and we will be staying again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto-e-Simona, Proprietario at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix
Responded Aug 1, 2019
We are truly moved by this beautiful review. It is really satisfying to know that our efforts are appreciated by our guests. Thank you so much.
Read more
Ducknzzz wrote a review May 2019
Melbourne, Australia311 contributions125 helpful votes
This place really surprised us. They didn't know much English but enough to get by with. We were with them for Two nights, and they very helpful. The breakfast was large or as small as you wanted it. The place was spot list tidy and the Rooms were fresh. As my Wife loved Rouen we do plan to come and would to come back here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Just when you think you have drive passed it, stop and look for the small sign. It small and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto-e-Simona, Proprietario at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix
Responded Jun 5, 2019
Thank you very much for your review, we're happy you had a good stay. Hope to see you again here.
Read more
Michael G wrote a review Dec 2018
Bordeaux, France47 contributions30 helpful votes
This is a delightful B&B on the outskirts of Rouen. The welcome by our hosts was warm and genuine and everything about the place, the room, the amenities, the breakfast were perfect. The only minus is that is a fair drive into Rouen for dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto-e-Simona, Proprietario at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix
Responded Jun 5, 2019
Thank you very much for your review, we're happy you had a good stay. Hope to see you again here.
Read more
Elissa M wrote a review Dec 2018
Brisbane, Australia4 contributions5 helpful votes
We booked Le Phenix from Australia not really knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised to be greeted by Alberto and Simona after a long day’s drive from Brussels. It was very cold and had been raining and their home offered a haven from the long day. It was very comfortable and warm and the breakfast was delicious. The room was spacious and very clean. Even though it’s not close to the city centre, it was a quick trip into some great restaurants for dinner. Alberto and Simona are delightful and gracious hosts.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto-e-Simona, Proprietario at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix
Responded Dec 17, 2018
Thank you veru much, we’re really happy you enjoyed your stay! Alberto & Simona
Read more
PhilGerrie wrote a review Jun 2018
Bentham, United Kingdom91 contributions36 helpful votes
Firstly let me say , Alberto and Simona have a certificate inside their hotel showing an excellence rating of 9.6 ... let me just say , that is incorrect , it should be 10/10. This Chambre D’ Hotes, is truly superb , and extremely beautiful home , spotlessly clean , large well equipped bedroom , and fantastic bathroom shower facilities . From the moment you arrive , the hospitality is superb , with a welcome drink , a guided tour around and any further information you need . The breakfast was fresh , and amazing quantity and quality , in fact out one night traveling stay was not enough , we will come back and stay here and visit Rouen ... why ? Because Alberto and Simona were superb hosts in a fantastic hotel . Many Thanks and best wishes .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto-e-Simona, Proprietario at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix
Responded Jun 30, 2018
Firstly let me say, we don’t payed Phil for this amazing review LOL Thank you VERY much for what you wrote, we don’t deserve so much compliments but, really, we do our best to cuddle our guests and it is so satisfactory when someone is so kind to show us his appreciation. See you next time!
Read more
junespain22 wrote a review Jun 2018
Peterborough, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
Only spent one night here but it far surpassed our expectations. The owners were a really lovely couple and very welcoming. The room was large and very well appointed and spotlessly clean with a huge shower room. Breakfast was excellent and we needed a really early start which was absolutely not problem. Would definitely recommend and would love to stay again if we are ever in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto-e-Simona, Proprietario at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix
Responded Jun 13, 2018
Thank you very much for this wonderful review, we’re really pleased when our guest stay well in our house.
Read more
David C wrote a review Apr 2018
Mervent, France48 contributions11 helpful votes
Took this as a result of the reviews. Was not disappointed. Simply the best of its kind we have ever stayed in. Cannot fault the room, the house, the hosts or the welcome. Would recommend without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: 3 rooms available - all up to a v good standard.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto-e-Simona, Proprietario at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix
Responded Apr 21, 2018
Wow, thank you very much David!
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$87 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceNormandyHaute-NormandieSeine-MaritimeSaint-Martin-du-Vivier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix
Which popular attractions are close to Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix?
Nearby attractions include Escape 423 (2.7 miles), Overscape - Live escape game (2.8 miles), and Get Out ! Rouen (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix?
Conveniently located restaurants include Simone, Tandem, and La Cantine Arkose Rouen.
Is Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Saint-Martin-du-Vivier.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Chambre D'Hotes le Phenix?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Palais de Justice (2.8 miles), Gros-Horloge (2.8 miles), and Abbatiale Saint-Ouen (2.4 miles).