We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Domaine du Gouverneur, Hotel, Restaurant & Golf

Traveler (81)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (12)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
233 hectares of nature paradise in the heart of the Dombes located only 30 minutes from Lyon, Domaine du Gouverneur welcomes you with a 53-rooms hotel including 8 suites, a brasserie restaurant with a terrace, 45 holes for golf lovers, 10 meeting znd banquet rooms for business or private events. A unique site in Rhône-Alpes.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Babysitting
Secured parking
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Facilities for disabled guests
Reduced mobility rooms
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
219Reviews
2Q+A
3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 57
  • 111
  • 40
  • 7
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nice surrounding area, room was big and clean. Staff was professional and friendly. The restaurant offered very tasteful food. The only thing I didn’t like was, that in a country sided hotel they use to much plastic, like plastic glasses in the bathroom and meeting room, coffee
Read more
Response from GouverneurReception, Directeur général at Domaine du Gouverneur, Hôtel, Restaurant & Golf
Responded Mar 29, 2019
Dear Taubeaufdemdach, Many thanks for sharing your stay at the Domaine du Gouverneur. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay for business purposes overall. The ecological part of your comment particularly catches my attention. Indeed, we are actually working on an environnemental project that plans to recycle every plastic bottles used by golf players and to replace progressively the plastic glasses from the meeting rooms and the bathrooms. I look forward to welcoming you again very soon and to making you discover our new ecological steps. Kind regards, Philippe CLAUDEL Directeur Général Domaine du Gouverneur
Read more
The golf courses at this resort are beautiful. The hotel rooms have been refurbished, but the room we had (318) was very dark and small with an uncomfortable bed. I would not stay here again unless we could upgrade the room. The food in the restaurant was good, but they had
Read more
Response from GouverneurReception, Responsable réception at Domaine du Gouverneur, Hôtel, Restaurant & Golf
Responded May 20, 2018
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you did not sleep well as all our beds are large king size beds (160x200 cm) and quite recent. We have superior room and suite in the main building which you can reserved if you come again in Monthieux. I will submit your suggestion of a vegetarian meal to our Chef as, you are right, some of our customers appear to be vegan. Bestr egards, Valérie, responsab le hebergement
Read more
Nice location. Friendly and helpful staff. Unfortunately it feels a bit too business like; not the guests but the bedroom and breakfast room is too anonymous and a bit conferency. The menu at the restaurant is very restrictive but from a price perspective rather than dishes; a
Read more
Response from GouverneurReception, Responsable réception at Domaine du Gouverneur, Hôtel, Restaurant & Golf
Responded Aug 31, 2017
Thank you for your opinion on our Domaine du Gouverneur. We are sorry that you did not like totally your stay with us. Our hotel offers confortable and quiet rooms in a beautiful landscape. Our restaurant offers traditional french food, we will take into account your demand for a more simple proposition. Our prices are calculate carefully as everything you will eat in the restaurant is prepare with fresh products, fresh vegetables, very good and tasty meat and fresh fish. We hope to see you again in Monthieux, best regards, Valérie, front office manager
Read more
Stayed two nights on holiday and can't really fault the place much. Nice pool, beautiful grounds. Restaurant is great. Staff were nice and breakfast good. Drinks at the bar were ridiculously priced but no other complaints. Would stay again.
Read more
Response from GouverneurReception, Front Office Manager at Domaine du Gouverneur, Hôtel, Restaurant & Golf
Responded Jul 25, 2016
Dear Setti, thank you very much for your positive comments on our Best Western Hotel****"Le Domaine du Gouverneur". We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have appreciate the exceptionnal location of our hotel on a beautiful golf course. We hope to see you again soon, best regards, Valérie
Read more
There's nothing too spectacular about this golf hotel but it did the job and it was clean. The food was just okay but one can assume that at such a place that caters mainly to the daytime golfing crowd. Overall, very acceptable but not a destination stay.
Read more
Response from GouverneurReception, Front Office Manager at Domaine du Gouverneur, Hôtel, Restaurant & Golf
Responded Jul 17, 2016
Dear Sir, We thank you for your positive comment on our Best Western Hotel****"Le Domaine du Gouverneur". Just a clarification about our Restaurant : you were part of a group that had a special meal offer as you've arrived very late in the evening. It was a buffet and this was not representative of what we normally propose to our guests. We are pleased to read that you've enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon, best regards, Valérie
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$177 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western rhone-alpesmonthieux best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Golf & Hotel Du Gouverneur
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesAinMonthieux
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing