We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 20: English reviews
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed two nights on holiday and can't really fault the place much. Nice pool, beautiful grounds. Restaurant is great. Staff were nice and breakfast good. Drinks at the bar were ridiculously priced but no other complaints. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Setti21
GouverneurReception, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear Setti, thank you very much for your positive comments on our Best Western Hotel****"Le Domaine du Gouverneur". We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have appreciate the exceptionnal location of our hotel on a beautiful golf course. We hope to see you again soon, best regards, Valérie More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

There's nothing too spectacular about this golf hotel but it did the job and it was clean. The food was just okay but one can assume that at such a place that caters mainly to the daytime golfing crowd. Overall, very acceptable but not a destination stay.

Helpful?
Thank Lamont S
GouverneurReception, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for your positive comment on our Best Western Hotel****"Le Domaine du Gouverneur". Just a clarification about our Restaurant : you were part of a group that had a special meal offer as you've arrived very late in the evening. It was a buffet and this was not representative of what we normally propose to our... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

The Hotel is actually a golf resort - a little off the road from Germany to Spain, but the detour was worth it. Very friendly staff, great breakfast, original restaurant with very good kitchen at moderat prices. The golf courses are well maintained (one with lots of water and one easier) - with the driving range into a lake. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marc S
CAgrain, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear customers Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your opinion is very important for us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We are pleased... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

We got some good reviews on trip advisor so we booked two nights. The hotel is good but limited wifi as you move away from reception. The food is good the salads are excellent for lunch. The evening menu is a bit limited if you stayed for longer than two nights. They do provide good allergy advice and 'gluten free'... More 

Helpful?
Thank John D
CAgrain, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear customers, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologise for the disagreement you met with the wifi connection. In fact we have some problems with our network since few days and we'll fix it as soon as possible. Thank... More 

Geneva
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We had a good dinner and the breakfast was good, staff in restaurant are nice and helpful. It was the second time we stayed in this hotel.First time we had a room in the main building,the second time we got room no 309 which was a long 2 floors building,builded on to the main.The room was so cold and humide,no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne T
ADegoix, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear Madam , Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests... More 

sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

A hotel gem near Autoroutes, with all amenities. Golf with driving range into lake, swimming, gym, enormous restaurant with cuisine food. Staff who were happy. It seemed good value. Simpler to find with Satnav.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
ADegoix, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much to completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. The satisfaction of our clients is our most beautiful reward. Our staff will appreciate your comments on their subject. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay and to share your positive experience. We hope to have a pleasure of welcoming... More 

Lecanto
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Booked at the last minute after a long day driving and have no idea where I actually was but wanted a place to hit balls. The golf facilities were very good a large aqua range, 18 holes of pleasant golf not too long but with lots of water and lakes. The layout reminded me a lot of a Florida course... More 

Helpful?
Thank legend1836
ADegoix, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your feedback is very important to us. We are delighted that you appreciated our installations and services. It's a real honor to compare us with the golf of the Florida (without palm trees). By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we... More 

london
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A large golf resort well managed .The restaurant was uninspiring food was of good quality but you felt that the hotel was under stress with not enough staff to cater for the groups within the complex.The Golf courses were not of excellent quality and somewhat overpriced for the facilities provided.

Helpful?
Thank tjw_10
Gouverneur01390, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear Guest, As we don't know your name and date of stay we don't have all detail to perfectly answer. First of all we thank you for your opinion and your ranking of 4/5 about the room, bed, cleanliness and service's quality as well as your comments "the well managed" and the "good quality of food". If our team was... More 

Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a budget level hotel being advertised as a more upscale, posh golf resort hotel. We didn't come for the golf which may be wonderful, but the room itself needs updating. Also, a major negative point is we had to walk through a muddy construction zone (there was no way to walk around it) in order to access our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz and Jan H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monthieux
17.8 mi away
Georges Blanc Parc & Spa
5.1 mi away
Hotel Ribotel
Hotel Ribotel
#1 of 1 in Villars-les-Dombes
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
16.2 mi away
Chateau de Pizay
Chateau de Pizay
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jean-d'Ardieres
4.0 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Hotel Chatillon
La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Ho...
#1 of 2 in Chatillon-sur-Chalaronne
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Chez Noelle
16.0 mi away
Chateau de Bagnols
Chateau de Bagnols
#1 of 1 in Bagnols
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nature paradise in the heart of the Dombes at 30 minutes north of Lyon, Hotel and Golf du Gouverneur welcomes you in the middle of its 233 hectares. 53 rooms including 8 suites and junior suites, 2 restaurants and terrace, 45 holes for golf enthusiasts, 10 meeting rooms and banquets for business or family events. A unique site in Rhône-Alpes ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur

Address: le Breuil, 01390 Monthieux, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Monthieux
Price Range: $96 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rhone-Alpes
Monthieux Best Western
BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel Du Gouverneur France/Monthieux
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay