R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa

R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa

Av. Las Palmeras, S/N, 35627 Tarajalejo, Tuineje, Fuerteventura Spain
Traveler (1845)
Panorama of the Double Room with Sea View at the R2 Bahia Playa
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (456)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Tarajalejo
Location
3.6
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.1
Value
4.0
The R2 Bahía Playa Hotel, opened in 2007 in Fuerteventura, is in the Bay of Tarajalejo, in the centre of the island just 50km from the airport. With its perfect location on the Tarajalejo beach front, you will enjoy a quiet, peaceful fishing village and crystal-clear water. The modernist and minimalist style of the hotel, exclusively for adults, provides a comfortable stay in Fuerteventura. The R2 Bahía Playa Hotel has 163 rooms decorated in fresh colours with lots of light, perfect for relaxing.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Darts
Entertainment staff
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German

Location

Av. Las Palmeras, S/N, 35627 Tarajalejo, Tuineje, Fuerteventura Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 55 out of 100
55
Puerto del Rosario Airport
26.3 mi
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,554 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa is met with mixed feedback. While many guests commend the spotless premises and praise the sea-view rooms, some are less impressed by the occasional ant issue and the absence of a luxurious vibe. The hotel's staff receives accolades for their friendliness and diligence, yet understaffing and restrictions on all-inclusive perks are drawbacks noted by some visitors. Although the vibrant atmosphere, complete with live entertainment and DJ nights, is a highlight, additional costs and limited beverage options have left a few travelers feeling the value is compromised.
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,554Review150Q+A71Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 566
  • 577
  • 243
  • 92
  • 77
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Gina D wrote a review Mar 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom13 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Requested by email and paid for a sea view junior suit in a quiet part of the hotel. Informed them that this was our honeymoon.
Arrived and located a ground floor suit, could not see the sea due to bushes and the first room along the main corridor - obviously not a quiet location.
Asked for a room changes and offered room 374 which was lovely but not a junior suit but the view was wonderful.
Food was okay and the hotel catered for gluten free with plenty of choice. The restaurant is like a school canteen with plastic chairs and tables so close to each other, no privacy to talk together. You often have to walk round until you find a vacant table which can take time.
The hotel is very noisy during the night with noisy air con, noisy guests and things being moved all night along the corridors.
Entertainment was basic and a laugh if nothing else.
The hotel is miles away from everything, you can walk along the beach - about 10 minutes in each direction and there is a shop and a couple of little restaurants and bars.
The whole hotel is not really catered for English and we appeared to be amongst a handful of English in the hotel.
The spa is expensive and we treated ourselves to a massage which was the worse massage that we have ever had. Not a special time but clock watched, in and out, cheap oils, not asked what pressure we wanted or if everything was okay.
Would not go back or advise others to go unless you want a hotel in the middle of nowhere, not catering for English, okay food, rude bar staff in the main evening bar but a wonderful heated pool and room 374 with a lovely view.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Belen Rivas Perez, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear Gina, Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience, but we really appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention to help us improve. We would appreciate another chance in the future to show you our better side. Best Regards, Quality Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Graeme B wrote a review Aug 2020
Los Cristianos, Spain25,359 contributions42,677 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 2nd visit, & we both admitted that we have never been so relaxed as we are here
Being Adults Only & All Inclusive makes it extra special.
We booked through Secret Escapes, & they give you a very good standard room with a very special Sea View. Plus some fruit & a bottle of bubbly.
I emailed the hotel beforehand & asked about an upgrade for our Anniversary.
We did get an upgrade to a wonderful suite, but we lost our Sea View, but we did get a 2nd bottle of Bubbly & some more fruit. The Suite was better than the Sea View, & the only inconvenience was the lack of shelving in the wardrobe, as it was built around a structural pillar.

The 2 pools are both very good & clean, the 1 near Reception was our favourite, as the Animation team were always making to much noise at the other 1.

Pool Bar was quite good, except the silly little paper cups for my beers, but that is pretty standard.

The restaurant was still buffet, but this time there was No helping yourself, & all the restaurant & kitchen staff did a wonderful job keeping us fed & watered.
The food was very varied & well presented, & we commented on how much of it was hot, as opposed to the usual Lukewarm.

Overall all the staff were excellent.

Only thing we were surprised at, was as the hotel had been closed for 4 & a arf months, there had been no obvious maintenance carried out & the external paintwork certainly needs some TLC.

Looking at returning next year.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Belen Rivas Perez, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Aug 28, 2020
Dear Graeme, We would like to thank you for entrusting R2 once more and choosing us for your celebration. We are glad that you loved our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. They work very diligently and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep doing what they are doing. On the other hand, we take your comments about the shelving and paintwork on board to help us improve. We look forward to seeing you again next year! Kind Regards, Quality Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Ruslan K wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was booked hastily in an attempt to get place anywhere nice and yet not too expensive plus being in a country/on an island that is on allowed to travel list.
I can only compare to one other place like that that I’ve been to and it was a resort in Cancun, Mexico.
At first after reading some of the reviews here and on booking com I was a little disappointed with a place I chose and my expectations went from high to low in a moment.
But being here for two weeks I must say I was very pleased with a place and with the people working here.
We as a couple really got to know employees quite well and they are just fantastic people.
Animation team - the ones who come up with all the activities during the day and night were just a bunch of great guys and girls representing different countries and speaking a few languages each. My girlfriend really enjoyed having zumba classes, aqua gym and doing some yoga like stretching at the beach of the ocean.
There were lots of games to play be it archery, darts or bingo and so on. I was a lazy one so I didn’t play much but what I really appreciated I was never pushed into playing.

Another thing I wanted to mention is the food. I read some reviews about the food being not up to a standard. I can say it. definitely was good and we loved that every dinner was a different one and I mean it was a representation of Italian, Korean, Mexican, Japanese, traditional Canary island and so on. Yes not everything was different, not everything was like you’d expect in a posh restaurant but the price you pay is what you’ll eventually get.
Staff in a restaurant was very polite, I don’t speak any Spanish but had zero problems communicating in English with everyone there. Not everyone speaks fluent English but they do understand what you want and help you. One of the things as an example - a waiter called Jonatan who knew us after a few days. Without asking him anything the drinks were brought to our table which showed that they did care about us.

As a minus:
The situation right now during covid distancing times isn’t the best with sunbeds. There is simply not enough sunbeds for everyone by the pools. People in attempt to get a sunbed before anybody comes just place their towels at crazy hours. Once I woke up at 7 and there were half of the beds with towels.
I believe there is no way there can be achieved enough quantity of sunbeds for everyone because of social distancing but it does annoy when you come to a pool and you see 50% of beds occupied and the rest “booked” with towels but no people.
Safeguards do remove towels at times or leave notes that the bed is free to use but newcomers don’t know about those notes and so don’t attempt to remove the towels themselves.

All in all I loved the time here, enjoyed the atmosphere of the little village and people living in it and would definitely recommend for those that are willing to find a quiet place to come here. Not everything is perfect but the price is also not 4 thousands for 10 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Dear ruslankK1513TN, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted to know that our service and staff have not only met your expectations but surpassed them. We always do our best to try and take care of our guests in the best way possible. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debs28 wrote a review Jan 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom209 contributions80 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are on our last day of one of our most relaxing holidays ever.. this resort is perfect to just get away and unwind. We arrived at lunchtime and the whammy ( that’s how u pronounce it.. I think🥴) said if we left our luggage in reception we could grab some lunch which was very welcoming after an early start to the day travelling.
After lunch we were then shown our rooms.. wow!! Room 251 fabulous.. overlooking the sea with a huge veranda with table and chairs and sun beds.. a real sun trap. The room was huge with an area with comfy chairs to watch tv., it was clean and had everything you need .. kettle, teas/ coffee a lovely welcome gift of wine , sweets and fruit on arrival. Air conditioning was fabulous as even though it was January it was warm. The cleaners came in daily and gave a thorough clean through, made beds and replaced towels ect
Food.. for an all inclusive there was so much choice breakfast lunch and dinner with a variety of drinks to choose from, the staff in the restaurant work tirelessly and are so friendly and helpful
Pools.. 2 pools ( 1 is heated) lots of sun beds but only one side get the sun and these were reserved early but because our room had constant sun we were not bothered and pools were right outside our door
Drinks
Pool bar serves drinks all day and at 5 it closes but you can get drinks in the lobby bar which is lovely to sit before going down to dinner
Entertainment
Agnes the lovely entertainment manager puts on varied events in the day from yoga, darts, salsa, water aerobics, bingo to name just a few and in the evening there is nightly entertainment around the pool from 9.30
Would we return… definitely YESSSSSSS
10/10 to everyone who works here
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Request sea view room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Jan 12, 2022
Dear declans-diary123 Thank you for your review and for choosing R2 Bahía Playa to spend your holidays. We are delighted to read that you have had a great experience with us, and we appreciate all your kind comments about our premises and coworkers. We cannot wait to welcome you again! Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Spikeandco wrote a review Mar 2022
sussex66 contributions97 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Having caught the first flight out of Stansted we arrived at the hotel just before midday. The receptionist was very friendly but unfortunately we was told we couldn't get into our room until 3pm.
We upgraded our room to the romantic fantasia suites. Room was lovely and big with a massive bed. Tea and coffee are provided but no milk, also a lovely touch with the heart shaped chocolates. The room is in a separate location just behind the main hotel. The biggest issue for us was the fact our key card kept stop working, very annoying when it's a 10min walk to reception to sort it.
The staff are all very friendly and extremely hard working.
The food is OK but very repetitive. Only here for 4 nights so didn't mind that to much.
Restaurant was very busy at times so sometimes a queue for food, run out of glasses for juice at breakfast and cups for coffee in the evening.
The hotel is situated in what is described as a small fishing village. There is nothing else to do within walking distance of the hotel, and I mean nothing.
Evening intertainment is put on but we didn't bother with this. Didn't appear to be enough chairs for guests.
We did visit the spa and for 12 euros you can use the facilities for an hour. I wouldn't bother as the steam room had no steam, pool was cold and showers didn't appear to be working.
As part of our upgrade to the fantasia suites we were advised we could use the Jacuzzis as much as we liked. Unfortunately we couldn't find any that worked properly and having seen the film of stuff floating on top of the water probably wouldn't have bothered anyway.

All in all a good 4 days just to relax in the sunshine.
Final thing to note this is an adults only hotel and some of the other guests think it as appropriate to shower in the communal showers naked while your sitting there sunbathing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Mar 25, 2022
Dear Spikeandco, Thank you for leaving us a comment. We are glad to know that you have felt relaxed during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback a lot, because it will help us to improve the quality of our service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again and show your all our efforts! Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ahmet O wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
So surface level the hotel.seems lovely, it's clean and modern but there is a few things that let it down. The rooms have no tea or coffee facilities,the TV has no English channels and they never supply you with any water-which for an all inclusive I find strange. Being on holiday you would say what do you need your TV for?-there's nothing around the hotel area and entertainment isn't great.
The pool area is very tight everyone is trying to get on one side of the pool for sun so you have that typical saving bed situation-getting up in the morning just to get a space and then find someone has taken it when you go back to it! The decking around the heated pool is all over the place and your foot goes through which isn't safe.
You are given a pool towel on arrival but if you need to change it it's €1 again for an all inclusive isn't what you would expect.
The food is hit and miss but the deserts have a really weird taste like damp or mould..this is every day so I guess the fridge they are stored in has a smell that lingers on the desert so ice cream is your safest bet.
Over all the hotel is clean and gives you a rested holiday but these things let it down. We wouldn't return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean Baustert wrote a review Sep 2021
10 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location:
The hotel is located in a small and calm village. Hence, it is not the best choice, if you want to have a lively vacation with action and party. However, I enjoyed the daily walks along the black beach (right in front of the hotel with stones, more to the right without stones) without too many tourists and noise. To get to calma costa, a more touristic area with white sand, the bus is a very good option which takes about 12minutes (€1.40/p.p.). Also, other place, like Oasis Wildlife, are very easy to get to.

Service:
The hotel staff wear mostly very friendly and helpful. The animation team could have tried a little more to encourage us to take part in their activities and could have made more publicity about those.

Cleanliness:
Our room was always very clean and everything worked fine.
The sunbeds could have been cleaned more often, as well as the plates in the restaurant were sometimes a bit dirty.

Food and drinks:

The food was not brilliant, but still alright.
Breakfast was in my opinion very good and sufficient, while for lunch we mostly only eaten so much to not be hungry anymore. Diner again was alright.
As for lunch and diner, I would have liked a little more variations and options, as well as more spices. The pasta was often very bland and the desserts, especially the cakes, tasted all very similar.
Drinks were good, except for these slushy drinks.

Spa and pool:

The spa was good. It had a jacuzzi, sauna, hammam and a little pool. However, the hammam did not work properly which I brought to their attention several times, but nothing happened.
I think that a day in the spa costs €12, which is ok, but I would not go every day.
The pool was clean and had a good temperature. However, the hotel has the same problem as most other hotels: people that reserve their sunbeds in the morning and then go away. The lifeguard tried to manage the situation and warned people that if they are gone for too long, the sunbeds would be free again. However, he rarely took actions.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Sep 14, 2021
Dear jeanbK5087YX, Thank you very much for your detailed review. We hope that, despite the flaws you mention, you have enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your feedback, because it will help us to improve our service and do the required adjustments in order to help our guests make the most out of their time with us. It would a pleasure to welcome you back and show you our improvementes. Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Szymon C wrote a review Aug 2021
Krakow, Poland11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at R2 Bahia Playa for a week. We were given a room in the Romantic Fantasia Area. Peace and quiet, nice and clean swimming pool, where the lifeguard went and cleaned all the time to make it nice and pleasant. Basic drinks served in paper cups when you want to drink by the pool in glasses at the bar. Beer, cuba libre and gin and tonic fine. Drinks served and opened fresh from the cans with you which I consider a plus. Our room located in this place allowed us to use the possibilities of the main hotel. Nevertheless, we did not go to the pool even once. In romantic fantasia we had a beautiful swimming pool and 6 jacuzzis to choose from and a sauna.

The hotel is located in a small town where nothing is really happening, a good place if you want to rest in silence and treat it as a base. I recommend renting a car either at the hotel or in Costa Calma.

There are buses to the village so you can easily travel by bus to the beaches of Costa Calma - the cost is approx. 1.80 eur one way. The hotel met my expectations and I can recommend it with a clear conscience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Sep 1, 2021
Dear szymicz, Thank you very much for leaving us a comment. We are delighted to read about your experience at our hotel, and we are very proud knowing that you would not hesitate to recommend our services. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again. Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanna W wrote a review Jun 12
8 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As a solo traveller looking for relaxation in the sun this was a perfect choice.
I stayed in a junior suite with sea view and the balcony was huge with plenty of space for 2 sun loungers and a table and chairs.
After reading reviews that the minibar, WiFi and A/C would be chargeable, I was pleasantly surprised to find out these were supplied at no additional charge plus I had a kettle and 2x pool/beach towels included.
My room was cleaned daily and the reception staff were very pleasant and welcoming.
It was a 5 min walk to the local Spa supermarket where you could pick up a large bottle of water for 0.45euro compared to 1.30euro in the hotel shop.
The food was varied each night, all the usual choices and well cooked.
The pool area seemed quite busy so I mainly enjoyed the sea view sunbathing on my balcony. Would recommended if you’re looking for a no fuss, low key break.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Joanna, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience as a solo traveler. We're delighted to hear that our junior suite with a sea view provided the perfect relaxation spot for you, with ample space on the balcony. We're glad you found our services like the minibar, WiFi, and A/C included at no additional charge, along with the added conveniences like the kettle and pool/beach towels. It's wonderful to know that our daily room cleaning and welcoming reception staff contributed positively to your stay. Thank you for your feedback on the food variety and local tips. We appreciate your recommendation for those seeking a relaxing and hassle-free getaway. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Quality department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie wrote a review Dec 2022
Cheshire, United Kingdom13 contributions24 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I went to this hotel thinking it was going to be brilliant, by the reviews I thought, how could it not, but after going myself I am very baffled by people rating this place.

This hotel, under no circumstances, was 4 star. Let me break this down so it is easier:
1. When we checked in we were met by a miserable male receptionist, not the youngest one (the middle aged one). He proceeded to be this grumpy whenever we spoke to him.
2. Due to their being nothing local in the area to do (your page states bars and restaurants – there was nothing), we asked if there was a bus route or shuttle service, he threw a timetable at us not explaining a single thing, we basically had to work it out ourselves, I asked for help but he just pointed to the timetable – service was terrible.
3. We asked for an upgraded on the room and we would pay – he just went ‘NO’, however the hotel was not busy at all and there was definitely room.
4. We were not given a tour, even though many coach fulls after us were (weird). We basically had to find everything through searching ourselves.
5. The room was very basic, we got 1 bottle of water on arrival and when I asked for more he told me no, and you aren’t allowed to refill water bottles at any of the buffets either – weird that you aren’t provided with water at an all inclusive restaurant.
6. The buffets were bland, same every day with little variation and quite frankly a bit rubbish. You could only access beer, wine or pop during dinner. Coffee/tea and fresh orange at breakfast and in the evening they added on beer (what a selection – sarcasm).
7. The waiters however were lovely and always around to help – this was a positive. The lady that fried the eggs is a wonderful human! And the maid service was also lovely.
8. The entertainment in the evening was terrible and by terrible, I mean bad. This wasn’t even down to the animation team, this was the acts!!
9. The animation team were great, they did their best to keep everyone’s spirits up in such a boring hotel. There were two brown haired males who were specifically entertaining, along with a ginger male who started as we left.
10. The hotel was so run down, the pool near reception has broken wooden boards, we suffered a few splinters!! You can’t even say wear shoes by the pool as you need to take then off to enter it. There is so much painting that needs doing and just sprucing things up, you would think this was a self-catering 3 star resort. None of the pictures are what you are getting.
11. It wasn’t very heated, for a heated swimming pool, neither was the spa pool.
12. Considering this is a spa hotel, we were gobsmacked when we were told we had to pay just to go into the spa – at an all inclusive!!
13. There is a safe in the room but you have to pay to use it – never been charged to use a safe at an all inclusive, so I found this odd.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Dec 21, 2022
Dear Mrs. Hitchen, thank you for your visit and thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay. We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations in all areas and we assure that we will examine all the points you have raised in order to optimise our service. When describing our hotel, we try to present our complex, its facilities and all the service in our all-inclusive offer correctly. We apologise for any anaccuracies in our description. We sincerely hope we can regain your trust and remain Yours truthfully Quality department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda D asked a question Mar 2024
Exeter, United Kingdom23 contributions13 helpful votes
Are there caeliac options available in this hotel.
Answer from Julie P
Men generally wear trousers in the evening. The hotel ask that men wear trousers for the evening meal, but it’s generally casual.
Jennifer I asked a question Feb 2024
Lancaster, United Kingdom39 contributions35 helpful votes
Can you use the facilities in the sister hotel Fantasia next door?
Georgialwall asked a question Nov 2023
Devon22 contributions9 helpful votes
Does this hotel cater for vegans?
Answer from Mwl
London, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
There is no shuttle bus operated by the hotel, but its easy enough to get the regular bus into other towns/resorts, the bus stop is a short walk up the road to the roundabout where the bus stops are located, ask for a map from reception.
handel21 wrote a tip May 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom163 contributions105 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book your excursions as soon as you arrive. There is a supermarket in the village - the hotel doesn’t supply bottled water in rooms."
Read full review
AdrianS2403 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Enfield, United Kingdom643 contributions160 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a sea view get a room from about 280 onwards to avoid noise from the terrace late at night."
Read full review
keith bernard m wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for Soli if you want a massage"
Read full review
russetsb wrote a tip Apr 2024
Wigton, Cumbria51 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's in a quiet area altho other parts of the island are accessible by bus quite reasonably "
Read full review
ellie c wrote a tip Apr 2024
15 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rent a car to travel around the island for a day- 51 euros at reception "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tarajalejo area.
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
r2 bahia playa hotel tarajalejo, bahia playa hotel, bahia playa tarajalejo
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsFuerteventuraTuinejeTarajalejo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
163
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

R2 BAHIA PLAYA DESIGN HOTEL & SPA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Oasis Park Fuerteventura (2.3 miles), Jardin Botanico (2.4 miles), and A.C.D. Baifo Fuerte Sport (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Falua, Restaurante Mirador de Sotavento, and La Barraca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Does R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars