We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Av. las Palmeras, s/n, 35627 Tarajalejo, Tuineje, Fuerteventura Spain
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Traveluro
ZenHotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1515)
360
Panoramas (15)
Dining (99)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 03/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Updated 03/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
3.5
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.1
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
The R2 Bahía Playa Hotel, opened in 2007 in Fuerteventura, is in the Bay of Tarajalejo, in the centre of the island just 50km from the airport. With its perfect location on the Tarajalejo beach front, you will enjoy a quiet, peaceful fishing village and crystal-clear water. The modernist and minimalist style of the hotel, exclusively for adults, provides a comfortable stay in Fuerteventura. The R2 Bahía Playa Hotel has 163 rooms decorated in fresh colours with lots of light, perfect for relaxing.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Darts
Entertainment staff
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
1389Reviews124Q+A41Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 506
  • 524
  • 215
  • 78
  • 66
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
OnAir64046 wrote a review May 5
Fareham, United Kingdom34 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at this hotel for a week end of April into May. On check in the staff were very helpful and polite. We had room 302 which was a junior suite with a pool view. The room was spacious with a sitting area with TV. TV only had one English Channel so mainly listened to the radio. Plenty of storage space and a fridge. Room had a safe, but we had to pay 3 euros a day to use. The bed was two singles pushed together and each made up separately with single sheets, but with a double bed spread ( not what you expect as a couple) plenty of hot water in bathroom. Nice shower. Bottle of Cava in room on arrival. Pool towels supplied in room. Restaurant had plenty of tables and a good variety of food choices. Staff brought your drinks to tables and quickly removed empty plates. The heated pool was lovely, but lacked a bar, so had to keep walking round to the other pool when needed a drink. We used the spa which was ok, but cost us 12 euros each. This should have been included in all inclusive stay. Entertainment was very mixed. Lovely entertainment room, but under used. We found all staff around the hotel polite and helpful. The area around hotel is quiet with a few local shops and restaurants. Promenade to walk along by the sea. Beach is black sand and not great for swimming. Easy to catch a bus and we went to Morro Jable which is good for shopping, dining and lovely beach with golden sand. Cost 7 euros each return. We recommend the Oasis Wildlife Park and they run a free bus from outside the hotel. Amazing place we even fed the giraffes. Also did a Tapas and cultural tour which we recommend as get to see a more local side of the island. A magic dolphin search sailing excursion was good and did manage to see the dolphins. Prices in general are cheap. We had a relaxed and chilled holiday and sad to come home.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear OnAir64046, We are delighted to read about your experience at R2 Bahía Playa, and we thank you for your lovely remarks regarding our premises and staff. It is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed your time on the island, and we would be pleased to welcome you gain if you decide to return! Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Kathryn wrote a review May 4
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom5 contributions
Hotel situated in a very quiet small village, no other hotels near. Very quiet & peaceful Superb hotel, situated opposite the black stony beach. All the staff were excellent, helpful, friendly & carried out their job efficiently. From the Manager to cleaners, cooks, serving staff, lifeguards & animation team. One pool was heated to a lovely warm temperature & the other not heated. The hotel facilities & our room were all immaculately clean.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kathryn, Thank you very much for visiting R2 Bahía Playa! We are delighted to read that you have spent a quiet stay with us, and we appreciate all your compliments regarding our staff. That is a great motivation to keep up the good work! Hopefully this experience will encourage you to come back soon, we will be waiting for you! Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Tony B wrote a review Apr 2022
Kolback, Sweden16 contributions4 helpful votes
Great room (Junior suite) A bit poor internet. Great vegitarian food. CAT FRIENDLY hotel with cats that learned not go to close to people that dosent like cats, but like to be pet by guest that like cats. Very nice to see.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Junior suite with sea view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Tony, thank you very much for leaving a comment. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your kind words regarding our vegetarian food. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again very soon! Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Gemma Pashley wrote a review Mar 2022
Chesterfield, United Kingdom57 contributions43 helpful votes
Exactly what we were looking for. The area is super quiet, a village in the middle of nowhere on a black sand beach. We wanted complete peace and quiet and this was perfect. The hotel was quiet with a nice spa and treatment menu. We both had a Swedish massage during our stay. Only thing that was a bit off in the spa was the shower drains had a bit of a sewerage smell coming through so we avoided those. The gym needs some thought, we usually use the gym while away but out of 3 spin bikes I couldn’t use any. There are a few weights but not enough to get a full workout really, and a couple of treadmills and cross trainers that i didnt use. The room faces the beach with floor to ceiling windows which is lovely in theory but in reality is a greenhouse making working out in there unbearable. Two pools one heated one is not, we preferred the space around the non heated pool as the loungers around the heated pool felt a little too ‘snug’ for us, we like to find some space. The non heated pool takes your breath away when you get in but I could swim in the pool for a good 30 minutes. Food was good, with good variety. We didn’t like the oriental night they did very much (personal preference) but there was plenty of other things on offer. Rooms are clean and spacious. Only gripe was there is no kettle or tea and coffee in the bedroom. I’ve never stayed in a room without a kettle for a morning brew before. If you are looking at booking this hotel I would definitely recommend upgrading to a seaview room. We didn’t, but wish we had. The sea view rooms are South facing on to the beach so if you wanted you could spend the day on your balcony. I would 100% recommend a visit to the zoo during your stay, its brilliant! Feeding the giraffes was fantastic. There is a free shuttle bus daily from the hotel and it is only a 10 minute journey. We didn’t use the bar or attend any of the entertainment options in the evening so cant comment but they did have something on daily.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Not for you if you like exploring or nightlife
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Apr 1, 2022
Dear Gemma, It is wonderful to read that our hotel was exactly what you were looking for! We thank you for choosing us and for your kind words regarding our premises. We also appreciate your feedback on the gym, we will do our best to improve our facilities! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back really soon! Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Robert L wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
What a lovely hotel. We just came back end of march and we so much enjoyed our stay. The staff are lovely and reception team a delight even when we ask if we could change bed they sorted out straight away no problem. Food was delicious great choice and lovely pools, Spa it was so quiet and restful. You can just relax or if you fancy a bit of the disco or shows and activities there is plenty for everyone and different age groups. I would say for the price this hotel and its staff over delivered on expectations and we are already thinking of going back next year. A big thank you to all the staff who made our holiday a delight.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Mar 28, 2022
Dear Robert, Thank you very much for your kind words. What we appreciate the most is knowing that you have enjoyed your stay, which is always our priority! Thank your for your praise on the staff, the food and the premises. It is wonderful to know you are already planning your next holiday with us, we cannot wait to welcome you again! Take care and see you soon! Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Spikeandco wrote a review Mar 2022
sussex64 contributions94 helpful votes
Having caught the first flight out of Stansted we arrived at the hotel just before midday. The receptionist was very friendly but unfortunately we was told we couldn't get into our room until 3pm. We upgraded our room to the romantic fantasia suites. Room was lovely and big with a massive bed. Tea and coffee are provided but no milk, also a lovely touch with the heart shaped chocolates. The room is in a separate location just behind the main hotel. The biggest issue for us was the fact our key card kept stop working, very annoying when it's a 10min walk to reception to sort it. The staff are all very friendly and extremely hard working. The food is OK but very repetitive. Only here for 4 nights so didn't mind that to much. Restaurant was very busy at times so sometimes a queue for food, run out of glasses for juice at breakfast and cups for coffee in the evening. The hotel is situated in what is described as a small fishing village. There is nothing else to do within walking distance of the hotel, and I mean nothing. Evening intertainment is put on but we didn't bother with this. Didn't appear to be enough chairs for guests. We did visit the spa and for 12 euros you can use the facilities for an hour. I wouldn't bother as the steam room had no steam, pool was cold and showers didn't appear to be working. As part of our upgrade to the fantasia suites we were advised we could use the Jacuzzis as much as we liked. Unfortunately we couldn't find any that worked properly and having seen the film of stuff floating on top of the water probably wouldn't have bothered anyway. All in all a good 4 days just to relax in the sunshine. Final thing to note this is an adults only hotel and some of the other guests think it as appropriate to shower in the communal showers naked while your sitting there sunbathing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Mar 25, 2022
Dear Spikeandco, Thank you for leaving us a comment. We are glad to know that you have felt relaxed during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback a lot, because it will help us to improve the quality of our service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again and show your all our efforts! Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Keith P wrote a review Mar 2022
York, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
What a fantastic week we had Food was great and we had a fantastic view from room 412 2 great pools 1 was heated Great walks along the promenade Had an hour in the spa ourselves bookable in the hotel direct 12 euros per person Would definitely recommend this hotel if ypu want to just relax
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Mar 20, 2022
Dear Keith, Thank you for such wondeful words! We are delighted to know that your week with us has been amazing. We also appreciate your recommending of our hotel, but we also hope to welcome you again very soon! Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Guest123455 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Everything would be ok, but drinks in paper glasses and arrogant staff (not maids and waiters - people like “maitre du restaurant”) make the stay unpleasant. They are not frendly to guests nor to employees. The big manager is walking around like the big boss … so the atmosphere is kinda hostile. Would recommend another hotel somewhere else as this is the only one in Tarajalejo
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Mar 8, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for staying at our charming hotel and for taking the time to share your impressions with us. We are disappointed to hear that you were disturbed during your visit, Our staff are highly trained, attentive individuals that strive to go above and beyond for our clients. We apologise that we could not completely satisfy you on this occasion and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused. Despite this, we hope you have taken away some joyful memories of your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future in one of our R2 Hotels. Best regards, Quality department
Read more
cestovatel18 wrote a review Mar 2022
Trencin Region, Slovakia3 contributions
satisfaction with accommodation and access. Pleasant accommodation in a quiet village - if you are looking for a lot of fun this is not the place for you. If you want to relax in peace and comfort, I definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Mar 3, 2022
Dear cestovatel18, Thank you for this comment. It is wonderful to read that you have spent some relaxing days with us, and that you were satisfied with the service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again! Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Dawid wrote a review Feb 2022
Gdansk, Poland9 contributions
- Taralejejo is boring - rude pool lifeguards - closed Inside Swimming Pool with no information before + Room view + Big bed + Nice bathroomm with glass wall IFUNWIM + Room wos cleam every Day + Good Food and Drinks + Warm swimming pool +++ Mrs AGNES makes our holliday the bests we ever had. She is the biggest plus of this hotel. Lots of help, lots of smile and energy :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Responded Feb 22, 2022
Dear DawidElo320, Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to read that despite some inconveniences you have enjoyed your stay at R2 Bahía Playa. We will definitely pass your compliments on to our colleague, which are well deserved indeed! It would a pleasure to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Customer Service
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$144 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
r2 bahia playa hotel tarajalejo, bahia playa hotel, bahia playa tarajalejo
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsFuerteventuraTuinejeTarajalejo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
163
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Oasis Park Fuerteventura (2.3 miles), Jardin Botanico (2.4 miles), and A.C.D. Baifo Fuerte Sport (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Falua, Restaurante Mirador de Sotavento, and La Barraca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Does R2 Bahia Playa Design Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.