We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Castillo de Monda

Save
Share
Calle Villeta 6 Calle Castillo, 29110 Monda Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$130
View deal
Expedia.com
$133
View deal
Priceline
Travelocity$133
Traveluro$148
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (646)
Dining (124)
Room & Suite (54)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 03/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 03/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Castillo de Monda is an intimate boutique hotel. The Andalusian castle with its surprising decor and modern facilities is an unforgettable setting for a relaxing stay. Personal attention, the relaxed atmosphere and fine cuisine will make you feel welcome immediately. Your “home” away from home!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Hiking
Horseback riding
Water park
Evening entertainment
Patio
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Full body massage
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 1 more
488Reviews7Q+A51Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 322
  • 117
  • 25
  • 13
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
D B wrote a review Apr 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom20 contributions8 helpful votes
It really did feel as if we were staying in an actual castle. Welcoming staff, well-equipped rooms. Be prepared for incredibly steep road that winds up to the castle :-) The bar/restaurant areas were very cosy, especially with the roaring log fire.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Apr 7, 2022
Receiving reviews like this one makes us smile and are very rewarding! Great to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us so much. We cannot wait to be able to welcoming you again soon.
Read more
Louise W wrote a review Mar 2022
Province of Malaga, Spain22 contributions14 helpful votes
The first thing to say is that the young staff are excellent. When we arrived, a little bit early, our room wasn't quite ready, so the lovely male receptionist took our luggage and arranged for it to be taken to our room while we went to the bar for a drink. The bar staff were also lovely, helpful and polite. We ordered lunch from the light bites menu which had a nice variety to choose from, and was delicious. The room was a bit disappointing, the bathroom was pretty but freezing cold and could do with some form of heating. Also the floor in the bedroom was very cold, which would be lovely in summer, but it could do with a nice rug for cooler months. There was a welcome notice detailing a 'token of our appreciation' some olive oil and cookies (we got neither) and two bottles of water, which were in the fridge. There were no extra pillows in the room. I have since read the hotel's response to this criticism from other reviews, and apparently they are available on request. It might be an idea to have a service menu in the room so that guest know this. Lastly, although there were lamps and mirrors, there was nowhere which had good enough light near a mirror to apply make-up. We went down to dinner, again the waiters were lovely and very accomodating. As we had half board a set menu was included. The first course was a parsnip puree, which neither of us liked. There was nothing wrong with it as such, just not to our taste - like baby food. The second course was beef cheek, as I don't eat beef I was offered an alternative, sea bream, potatoes and veg., which was delicious. My husband had the beef cheek which was very, very dry and he found it inedible. So two courses down and he's eaten virtually nothing. The dessert was Banoffe pie, I don't like bananas either! No problem, I was offered 2 alternatives, and had the Catalan Creme, both desserts were very yummy. A duo (making woopi) sang while we dined - gentle jazzy swing style - they had beautiful voices and were a perfect accompaniment. Breakfast the next morning - well I don't take many things in life too seriously except my two cups of coffee in the morning, here it was very disappointing. The variety and quality of the food was good though, cereals, salad, breads,pastries, meats, cheese etc. My husband was a bit disapointed (and hungry after so little dinner the night before) that there was no bacon, but that's us Brits for you. The hotel itself has lots of outside seating and indoor cosy corners and roaring fires. Overall an interesting place to explore but as we live nearby I probably wouldn't choose to stay overnight again but would definitely bring our visitors here for a drink and a light lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I would suggest upgrading from the 'cosy double'.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Mar 24, 2022
Thank you for spending time with us and for sharing your opinion. Great to hear that you received a pleasant service from our staff. All our beds are equipped with two large pillows per person, indeed if you need additional pillows a phonecall to reception will do the job. It is very unfortunate that the beef cheek did not meet your husbands personal taste. In fact, it is one of the most popular dishes currently on our menu and that same night described by one of the other guests as a “Michelin star quality dish”. As advertised our breakfast buffet is an extensive continental buffet, however we do serve boiled and scrambled eggs. Hopefully we will be able to welcoming you again in the future!
Read more
Maggo79 wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
I‘v been there on a trip for 8 Nights, and we stayed because we wanted to play golf in the area around marbella. Its such an experience to live in a castle with a wonderful staff and good atmosphere. You have a great view of the surrounding hills and the nearby village. Its not really easy to access so keep in mind that not everything is going smooth without stairs. The castle has a great traffic connection aswell. Totally coming back, enjoyed the stay and can only recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Feb 12, 2022
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing these wonderful comments. We cannot wait to welcoming you back one day.
Read more
chris2662 wrote a review Feb 2022
Jersey, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
Manager was very condescending when asked why we weren’t eating in the main restaurant as expected, and when asked why the menu was not as expansive as when we dined in the summer there denied it. There was no table service at all, and after dining there in the summer the food and the service was bad.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Fantastic setting shame the experience doesn’t match .
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Feb 10, 2022
Thank you for letting us have your opinion and sorry to hear that you were not as happy as last summer. During weekdays in low season we indeed choose to serve lunch and dinner in the lounge or, weather permitting, in the roof top garden. Our main restaurant is that large that we feel the lounge is much cosier when only a relatively small number of tables are occupied. Usually our guests appreciate the ambiance of the lounge instead of feeling a bit lost in the main restaurant. Our restaurant menu always offers the same amount of choices regardless the season. There is no change there. Also our bar menu has the same amount dishes to choose from. There should be no changes in our service either, we are wondering why you mention that the service was bad and where it went wrong since that is precisely what we receive a lot of positive feedback on.
Read more
drp38 wrote a review Feb 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom73 contributions32 helpful votes
I had originally planned a special cruise away for a big birthday but this was cancelled at the 11th hour. I wanted to make it a memorable occasion so booked to stay at the castle as I had stayed there previously. It was excellent. Being a Sunday in January it was quiet which resulted in dinner being a private affair with the staff attentive but not over bearing....The food and drink was great.. followed by a leisurely drink in the lounge. The bedroom was superb with long distance views down the valley and a bath I could almost swim in ! Overall a memorable stay for all the right reasons... Thanks to all the staff ....
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All unique rooms but a superior room has a balcony
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Feb 3, 2022
Many thanks for celebrating this special day with us and great to hear that it has been a pleasant experience! We will certainly share you rewarding words with our staff and are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Read more
Susan C wrote a review Jan 2022
Moraira, Spain5 contributions4 helpful votes
Our room was beautiful with a four poster bed, jacuzzi bath and wonderful view. All of the chill out areas in this beautiful location are worth a visit and the garden is spectacular at night. We will return here as soon as we can.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Jan 20, 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Reviews like this one make us smile! We cannot wait to welcoming you back again.
Read more
Nicoline wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Worst New Year’s Eve, the manager was super rude and disrespectful, he did not want to service food at 8 pm, to us after we just got drinks, when conversating with him he showed no sign of remorse, he told all his staff not to talk to us. Just because they decided not to have no people that aren’t staying in the hotel eat or have a drink after we were told that we could, this was totally unfair and will never come again and wouldn’t recommend and other people were complaining about there food not not being cooked well.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Jan 18, 2022
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed. Indeed, our New Years Eve celebration was on reservation only, as previously announced on our website and social media. Between 19.30 and 20.00 hrs we received over 90 guests for a five course meal. Unfortunately it wasn’t possible to serve extra guests on top of that. We don’t think that there are many restaurants that would be able to accommodate people without reservation on New Years Eve. Maybe you should reconsider and find out for yourself why so many guests decided to celebrate such a special night with us. You might discover that we are not that bad at all.
Read more
Susan ann G wrote a review Nov 2021
Gibraltar132 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I have just come home to Gibraltar,after a two night stay in the beautiful castle with views to die for, but what makes it into a 5 star hotel for us is the amazing staff so so helpful and polite. Our room number 202 is beautiful with a balcony/ terrace, a 4 poster bed and a great jacuzzi bath complimentary water in the fridge a smart tv and air conditioning. A special thanks to the young man at reception who helped us out , we will definitely go back I cannot recommend this hotel enough
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Plenty of free parking in the hotel grounds
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Nov 28, 2021
Thank you for spending time with us and also for sharing this very rewarding review! Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much. We will certainly share your comments with our team of whom we are indeed very proud. We cannot wait to welcoming you again soon.
Read more
Jens F wrote a review Oct 2021
Alleroed Municipality, Denmark89 contributions54 helpful votes
Stayed at Hotel Castillo di Monda for 4 days a short driving distance (ca.18km) north from Marbella, Its location is breathtaking, situated on top of a steep hill looking down on Monda village with an 360° overview - very picturesque. The only issue for us that didn't played max was when we dined at the restaurant. The staff that evening seems totally overloaded, we had to wait for a very long time just to get the menu card, and after receiving one, again a long time to order. The food, on the other hand, was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: can be tricky to find a parking lot if you arrive late.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Oct 21, 2021
Many thanks for staying for us and for sharing your experience. Great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our food so much. Despite the fact that we try to spread the reservations in the restaurant occasionally it does happen occasionally that not everyone sticks to their reserved time and we receive many guests at the same moment. In that case it can happen that it takes somewhat longer. Of course we can have extra waiters on duty, however, also the kitchen needs their time to prepare the food. As you have noticed absolutely everything we serve is freshly made we need time for that. If we take the orders faster on such an evening that everyone seems to come at the same time, we pass on the problem to the kitchen. It is simply not possible to prepare food for a large number of people and many different dishes at the same time. We usually explain our guests that at arrival in the restaurant and always make sure our guests have something to drink immediately.
Read more
Skiondown wrote a review Oct 2021
107 contributions65 helpful votes
The road out of Antequera was fantastic, wonderful scenery. I took the road to El Torcal and back, exceptional views. Then a slow ride near Alora and Coin, trying to keep to the small roads. I stopped for a cold drink before the steep drive up. This is one of those great places, but... reviews. Really nice guy on reception, curious system of the lift, but good Covid arrangements. The staff I met were very nice, the guy on reception gave me a route to Mijas, through the trees and Lisa from Holland and Mathew were very nice. The Castillo is beautiful, but the rooms are disappointing and very "pipework" noisy. The pool area is nice, but very little seating, though the hotel points out "no leaving towels".... I ate in the Restaurant, entertained by a lovely SA singer (who loves chocolate). The place looks good, but.... my meal was inedible. The staff offered to replace, but it was a case of the ingredients being horrible. The walk into town down the path was nice, but a little challenging return. An interesting place to stay, but with quirks, pretty much overcome by very nice staff. I would go back, but.....
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Oct 18, 2021
Thank you for sharing your opinion. Great to hear that you liked the service of our staff so much. It is unfortunate that our food did not meet your taste, as you can read in many reviews our restaurant is highly recommended by many guests. We can hardly imagine that there was nothing you liked on either the restaurant menu or our bar menu. Indeed, our pool area is relatively small due to its elevated position. It guarantees fantastic views from there though and the 18 sun loungers are not often all occupied. However, if we see or if someone points out to us that other guests reserve a sun lounger by placing a towel and don’t actually use it we remove that.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of MalagaMonda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Castillo de Monda
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Nearby attractions include Eco Reserva Ojen (3.9 miles), Cueva de las Columnas (4.8 miles), and Molly Malone's Irish Pub (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pinchos y Chocolate, Restaurante Albacar, and El Tunel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Castillo de Monda have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Castillo de Monda offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Castillo de Monda located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Monda.
Does Hotel Castillo de Monda offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Dutch.