We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Castillo de Monda

Save
Share
Calle Villeta 6 Calle Castillo, 29110 Monda Spain
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (565)
Dining (90)
Room & Suite (46)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Castillo de Monda is an intimate boutique hotel. The Andalusian castle with its surprising decor and modern facilities is an unforgettable setting for a relaxing stay. Personal attention, the relaxed atmosphere and fine cuisine will make you feel welcome immediately. Your “home” away from home!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Casino and Gambling
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Evening entertainment
Patio
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Makeup services
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Salon
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Bidet
Whirlpool bathtub
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 1 more
453Reviews6Q+A45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 304
  • 106
  • 24
  • 10
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Toni Z wrote a review Jul 8
Marbella, Spain10 contributions
There were 4 of us who went to Castillo de Monda, a stunningly beautiful Castillo in Monda Spain. We went to view the site and the Castillo, contemplating having lunch but told ourselves, now that it is also a Hotel, that is was going to be very "POSH" and probably way over anyone's budget. Oh contrar Senor y Senora. It was the best lunch we have had outside of our local Spanish restaurant. (We live in San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain, already for 1 year and a half). Seriously, the Castillo is so gorgeous, done in a delightfully elegant motif with even more delightful staff. We had an amazing lunch, had incredibly delightful service and walked out of the Castillo, happy, content and extolling the beauty of the spot on top of a mountain. So, DO go there and experience the place for yourself. Stay the weekend or the week. DON'T MISS IT!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Pick a room, any room and the view will knock you off your feet!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded 2 weeks ago
Wow. This is what you call a Fantastic and very rewarding review that make us smile! Many thanks for that. We are happy you enjoyed your time @ Castillo de Monda so much and cannot wait to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
bart153 wrote a review Sep 2020
Torrequebrada, Spain37 contributions4 helpful votes
I took my wife for our first child free evening together to this Hotel. The Hotel Restaurant was recommended to us by friends (Bar Teatro - Torrequebrada) as having fantastic food, with this we decided to spend the night and relax. We were met in reception by a very welcoming lady who checked us in with minimal effort and escorted us to our room. Rooms are traditional Spanish (for me) no real Luxury so to speak but very clean and tidy non the less. We are in the Hills of Spain and not London City. I see people comment on no TV, this for us was a welcome omittance as we may have used it!! We headed to the bar and was attended to by Mathew, full credit to Mathew he was exceptional, he was honest about the wine selections he was also extremely attentive during our meal. The meal...... Well it was "Top Draw"! My wife has had the pleasure of many Michelin star restaurants and was very very impressed by the food and its presentation. We had a lovely evening. Suggestions to the management (and these are purely that). Better/extra pillows in the rooms. Hot Water, (we rushed out so didn't take the time to ask for the cold shower to be addressed - this let the room down for me sadly as I am very much in need of a warm powerful shower in the mornings. One issue, the flags on top of the tower look great but boy are noisy in the wind over night, many guests would have been very unhappy, I sleep sound and wife had earplugs so there was no need for us to make a fuss (plus not an easy fix at 3am!!) Would we recommend to others? .... Yes Would we come again?..... Already planning to! The ambiance of the bar/restaurant and the views, great friendly staff, excellent food all make for a good evening. Hotel would benefit from some minor tweaks to make a complete package overnight.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Sep 28, 2020
Many thanks for spending time with us and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the service of our staff and the food so much! There should be plenty of hot water in any room. It could be that it takes a bit longer than usual before hot water actually reaches the room because of the relatively low occupancy due to the Corona crisis. Maybe good to know that besides the four pillows provided in the room we have a selection of different types and/or more pillows available upon request. We cannot wait to welcoming you you back again!
Read more
keep P wrote a review Sep 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom189 contributions126 helpful votes
Beautiful entrance to an all round pleasing hotel. We were greeted cordially and although early the staff member looked after us well and got us to our room in no time - and what a room! Spacious, spotless, arabesque influence and with a terrace to die for! We woke facing the sunrise - the views were stunning. Elliot, Victor & Diego were fantastic assets to the team running this show - smiling, friendly, helpful - thank you to each of them. Food was served in one of several interesting seating areas - a limited menu but always beautifully presented and good quality. Pool is indeed small, but we were lucky with beds. There is a gentle quiet ambience about this serene retreat which the staff uphold. Only tiny gripe, is I wish some of the guests would too! - Not the hotel's fault - but there are pools to divebomb in and holler to one another and there are pools not to - this is a not-to one! For grown-up, adults only please :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Seventh floor
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Many thanks for staying with us and great to hear that you are so enthousiast about the hotel, the service of our staff and the food. Sorry to hear that some of the other guests have been a nuisance to you in the pool. Please don’t hesitate next time to bring this under our attention. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Read more
Ray and Olga wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
the restaurant was very good but we were very disapointed with the room,we reseved 5 months in advance and communicated many times with hotel that we were a family of 4 and that it was my wifes and i's aniversary and we chose the you and yours with private bedroom,when we arrived we did not have a private room and had no intamacy. when we complained we were told that nothing could be done and we were not even offered a discount or other kind of compensation.disapointing at best
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: make sure you get in writing that you ordered a private room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Thank you for spending time with us. It is unfortunate that you were disappointed with the room you have been staying in. Indeed, most of our family rooms have two separate bedrooms. Unfortunately they were all occupied at that very moment. Great to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant so much! Hopefully we will be able to welcoming you again in the future.
Read more
StephenCross wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland15515 contributions1731 helpful votes
+1
It’s a very old castle style hotel on the top of the hill. Really nice and creative in how the space is used. Small pool and a nice bar. Food is tasty in the bar and restaurant. Views are really great from all sides. Recommended
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Aug 17, 2020
Thank you for spending time with us and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$83 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of MalagaMonda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Castillo de Monda
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Nearby attractions include Eco Reserva Ojen (3.9 miles), Cueva de las Columnas (4.8 miles), and Cafeteria Bar la Villa (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Albacar, El Tunel, and Cafe Bar Luna.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Castillo de Monda have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Castillo de Monda offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Castillo de Monda located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Monda.
Does Hotel Castillo de Monda offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Dutch.