We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Castillo de Monda

Save
Share
Calle Villeta 6, 29110 Monda Spain
Expedia.com
eDreams
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (562)
Dining (90)
Room & Suite (45)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Castillo de Monda is an intimate boutique hotel. The Andalusian castle with its surprising decor and modern facilities is an unforgettable setting for a relaxing stay. Personal attention, the relaxed atmosphere and fine cuisine will make you feel welcome immediately. Your “home” away from home!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Rooftop bar
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
French, Dutch, German
450Reviews6Q+A44Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 301
  • 106
  • 23
  • 10
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
bart153 wrote a review Sep 2020
Torrequebrada, Spain16 contributions8 helpful votes
I took my wife for our first child free evening together to this Hotel. The Hotel Restaurant was recommended to us by friends (Bar Teatro - Torrequebrada) as having fantastic food, with this we decided to spend the night and relax. We were met in reception by a very welcoming lady who checked us in with minimal effort and escorted us to our room. Rooms are traditional Spanish (for me) no real Luxury so to speak but very clean and tidy non the less. We are in the Hills of Spain and not London City. I see people comment on no TV, this for us was a welcome omittance as we may have used it!! We headed to the bar and was attended to by Mathew, full credit to Mathew he was exceptional, he was honest about the wine selections he was also extremely attentive during our meal. The meal...... Well it was "Top Draw"! My wife has had the pleasure of many Michelin star restaurants and was very very impressed by the food and its presentation. We had a lovely evening. Suggestions to the management (and these are purely that). Better/extra pillows in the rooms. Hot Water, (we rushed out so didn't take the time to ask for the cold shower to be addressed - this let the room down for me sadly as I am very much in need of a warm powerful shower in the mornings. One issue, the flags on top of the tower look great but boy are noisy in the wind over night, many guests would have been very unhappy, I sleep sound and wife had earplugs so there was no need for us to make a fuss (plus not an easy fix at 3am!!) Would we recommend to others? .... Yes Would we come again?..... Already planning to! The ambiance of the bar/restaurant and the views, great friendly staff, excellent food all make for a good evening. Hotel would benefit from some minor tweaks to make a complete package overnight.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Sep 28, 2020
Many thanks for spending time with us and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the service of our staff and the food so much! There should be plenty of hot water in any room. It could be that it takes a bit longer than usual before hot water actually reaches the room because of the relatively low occupancy due to the Corona crisis. Maybe good to know that besides the four pillows provided in the room we have a selection of different types and/or more pillows available upon request. We cannot wait to welcoming you you back again!
Read more
keep P wrote a review Sep 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom185 contributions102 helpful votes
Beautiful entrance to an all round pleasing hotel. We were greeted cordially and although early the staff member looked after us well and got us to our room in no time - and what a room! Spacious, spotless, arabesque influence and with a terrace to die for! We woke facing the sunrise - the views were stunning. Elliot, Victor & Diego were fantastic assets to the team running this show - smiling, friendly, helpful - thank you to each of them. Food was served in one of several interesting seating areas - a limited menu but always beautifully presented and good quality. Pool is indeed small, but we were lucky with beds. There is a gentle quiet ambience about this serene retreat which the staff uphold. Only tiny gripe, is I wish some of the guests would too! - Not the hotel's fault - but there are pools to divebomb in and holler to one another and there are pools not to - this is a not-to one! For grown-up, adults only please :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Seventh floor
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Many thanks for staying with us and great to hear that you are so enthousiast about the hotel, the service of our staff and the food. Sorry to hear that some of the other guests have been a nuisance to you in the pool. Please don’t hesitate next time to bring this under our attention. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Read more
Ray and Olga wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
the restaurant was very good but we were very disapointed with the room,we reseved 5 months in advance and communicated many times with hotel that we were a family of 4 and that it was my wifes and i's aniversary and we chose the you and yours with private bedroom,when we arrived we did not have a private room and had no intamacy. when we complained we were told that nothing could be done and we were not even offered a discount or other kind of compensation.disapointing at best
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: make sure you get in writing that you ordered a private room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Thank you for spending time with us. It is unfortunate that you were disappointed with the room you have been staying in. Indeed, most of our family rooms have two separate bedrooms. Unfortunately they were all occupied at that very moment. Great to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant so much! Hopefully we will be able to welcoming you again in the future.
Read more
StephenCross wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland14,821 contributions1,334 helpful votes
+1
It’s a very old castle style hotel on the top of the hill. Really nice and creative in how the space is used. Small pool and a nice bar. Food is tasty in the bar and restaurant. Views are really great from all sides. Recommended
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Aug 17, 2020
Thank you for spending time with us and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
Motorbike Foodie wrote a review Aug 2020
Casares, Spain13 contributions3 helpful votes
Ok people, this is a hard place to review. There are some definite amazing things about Hotel Castillo De Monda. However there are some basics which really pulled the place down. The outside and the presentation of the whole building is lovely. The bar area, both inside and out is very tastefully done with good seating areas for couples or groups. The cocktails are great, the Piña Colada is nice and strong. The restaurant has a very nice outdoor area with great views. It is possible to stay a whole weekend in the hotel just relaxing, be it at the pool or getting a massage. However prepare to be separated with your wallet over the necessity of water. During my visit, the temperature was well beyond 30c, and the access to water was very limited. Its €4 a bottle from the bar. None in the room, and no fridge in the room if you want to bring your own. Some may not consider this an issue, but if your a large group, or a couple treating themselves, this may set you back €12 a day extra per person. A really nice touch would have been a jug of water on the bar. Or even if the bar man came to the pool every half hour offering out glasses of iced tap water. Especially when its 30c and above. It should be the interest of the hotel to provide these extra little nice things which does not cost them much but gives the air of luxury. Whilst also caring for the needs of the guests The room is nice, big bathroom and comfortable bed. The bathroom could do with updating (mainly the jacuzzi could be renewed). No in room entertainment, such as a radio or TV. But it is nice to separate from the outside world at times. Aircon is effective. The view from the window is fantastic! The biggest plus about the hotel though is how clean it is. I usually walk around my room without socks or shoes on, and you always get things on your feet. However NOTHING here. It was spotless and immaculate. The bed was very nice, but the pillows were not for me. Sadly no choice of different type. There was a kettle, but you have to request coffee items from reception. Next let's talk food. The breakfast was truly fantastic. Spanish style (sorry english people, no sausage and bacon - but you are in Spain, deal with it). The bread was possibly the best bread I have ever had. Lunch was a disaster and left a lot to make up for. It took around 1 hour from ordering to actually getting food. The cheese mouse was great, but it should come with bread as standard (order of bread on the side is €5) The campo paella was an embarrassment to Spain. If Spanish people tried it they would burn the place to the ground. For €30 (says for 2, but enough for 3 or 4) I would expect a good traditional paella. The ingredients sounded great, but on the plate it was one of the worst things I have ever ordered from a restaurant. Seriously, the worst thing I have ever ordered. Hugely disappointed and left a disgusting taste in the mouth, and ruined our lunch. Dinner. Its recommended to book and the restaurant is good. There is no change in the menu from lunch. The steak is really good, and the tagliatelle pil pil is interesting. But I wont be ordering it again. SUMMARY: This hotel has the potential to smash the 5* review. And it is very very simple things that need attention. Water and changes to their menu is important. (even add some €3 tapas dishes just for a light snack with your drink would be great - especially when tapas in the town can be got for €1.5) A fridge to keep water cool in the room (or chocolate/other goodies) These things are so minor, but they make a huge impact if intending on staying in the hotel for the whole weekend. I would not recommend this place for children, simply because they would be bored. No TV or things to keep them entertained other than the pool (which is an adult type of pool). I would recommend for couples wanting a cheeky weekend away who want to do nothing other than spend time together, have a few drinks and relax. TIPS: Bring water Eat lunch/dinner in the town. Bar Luna is very good. And the price of 1 meal in the hotel will cover a whole days food in Luna. Typical spanish food which is excellent for all. Great choices. Don't be put off by the walk, the hill is not as bad as you first think. However a night at the hotel restaurant is nice. Order the steak Pros: Possibly the cleanest hotel room I have ever had. Beautiful building Fantastic outdoor bar area Good, Strong, Piña Colada Comfortable bed Excellent breakfast (seriously, good) Good restaurants in the town, within walking distance (don't be put off by the hill) Signs to the hotel which help avoid the tight town Bathroom had a jacuzzi big enough for two Excellent steak Lovely building you can walk around with great views Nice pool Pool towels provided The german masseuse is very good and worth it Cons: Large hill maybe intimidating to some driving Tight town to drive through (if you follow a sat nav and not the signs) Rooms have no TV, radio or any sort of entertainment Bathroom could be updated a little bit No minibar or fridge No drinking water in rooms (there is a tap, but its not cool and refreshing) Water from the hotel costs €4 (plastic bottle is 2L, glass is 1L but both are €4) Lunch time waiting time was beyond 1 hour for food since ordering The paella was an embarrassment to Spain. Truly one of the most disgusting things I have ordered Pool could become crowded The pillows were not good for me personally (others may like them), and one did burst open in the night. There was no choices on different types of pillows The aircon did start leaking water in the night COVID 19 There is hand sanitisers over the hotel. The rooms do not get serviced, unless you ask AT RECEPTION (leaving the card on the door is not good enough) There is restrictions on pool capacity, 18 people maximum. However I dont think you could ever get 18 around the pool anyway. The actual seating area is small.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Arjan van de vrande, Owner at Hotel Castillo de Monda
Responded Aug 9, 2020
Many thanks for the time you took te review us. It is a pity that you are not as enthusiastic as most of our guests are. We will try to answer a few of the things you mentioned, as the actual facts are not 100% correct. Indeed, we charge €4 for a bottle of mineral water. Tap water, chilled and iced if you wish, is always free and available from any of our waiters in bar, garden and restaurant. Also, to reduce the amount of waste plastic we have re usable aluminium flasks available for €6 filled with chilled mineral water. Any refill will cost you €1 and the flask remains yours. Coffee and tea facilities are temporarily available from reception in a disinfected sealed pack, due to the Covid19 measures with have taken. Normally they are waiting for you in the room. Thanks for your compliments about the bread. It is very tasty indeed. A bread platter cost you €3,50 (not €5!) and comes with sea salt, olive oil, three different types of bread and a dip. Would you like just a slice of bread, no problem, just ask for it. We are sorry to hear that our "campo Paella" (€14 per person, minimum two persons and it is indeed a nice size for two) did not meet your personal taste. It is one of the most popular dishes among local Spanish and foreigners alike on the current menu prepared by our Spanish chef using their traditional family recipe. The best of this paella is the so-called "socarrat", a thin slightly burned layer on the bottom which gives the special taste you will not find in a tourist paella. Another personal thing are pillows. Luckily we have a selection of different pillows available upon request at our reception. Did you ask for that? Our pool and pool area is indeed somewhat small, due to its elevated position. It does offer fantastic views though. The maximum capacity is normally 30 guests. Due to Covid19 we limi that now to 18, to ensure the possibility of social distancing. So far we have not reached this temporary maximum capacity this season. We know that the route through the village is somewhat narrow, that is why we send all guests reserving with us a route description, which can also be found on our web site and is the route to our main entrance clearly signposted. Also on our web site as well as other site it can be found that we do not have television in the rooms as a company policy. The idea is not be able to unwind completely from daily life. Should you like to watch anything, our free and fast 24 hour wifi allows you to do so using any mobile device. Last but not least: our rooms normally always get serviced every day. At arrival our receptionist has explained to you that due to, again, Covid19 we have chosen not to enter into your room of you do not ask us to do so. Would you like a daily service, no problem at all. Reception can be called to ask for service or it can be mentioned straight away at check in. Concluding it seems that in some aspects we are maybe not the ideal hotel for you. We are a three star hotel with corresponding prices. We have a young and professional team with a five star heart and overall we obtained a 4,7 star review rating (9 out of 10 on booking.com). We go through lengths to give everybody a pleasant experience and most of the times we succeed in doing so. Sometimes not which makes us sad and then after evaluating that we occasionally adjust things. So thanks again for your criticism.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$83 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of MalagaMonda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Castillo de Monda
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Nearby attractions include Eco Reserva Ojen (3.9 miles), Cueva de las Columnas (4.8 miles), and Cafeteria Bar la Villa (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Albacar, El Tunel, and Cafe Bar Luna.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hotel Castillo de Monda located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Monda.
Does Hotel Castillo de Monda offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Castillo de Monda?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including French, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Castillo de Monda?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Murallas del Castillo (Las) (8.7 miles) and Capilla de San Juan de Dios. (8.8 miles).
Does Hotel Castillo de Monda have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.