We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Contrada Piana 1, 97012 Chiaramonte Gulfi, Sicily Italy
Hotels.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 6 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (58)
Dining (25)
Room & Suite (2)

About

#3 of 12 Specialty lodging in Chiaramonte Gulfi
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Table tennis
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Snack bar
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
73Reviews3Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 44
  • 18
  • 3
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
AndyOwler wrote a review Oct 2017
Cobham, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
7 nights in Sept/October 2017. The hardest part was finding it! The travel agent provided no information and since it is on an un-named road Google was of little help either. For SatNav users the Lat/Long is: North 37.06949 deg, East 14.71228 deg, or North 37*04'08", East 14*42'48" and this will take you to the gate. It is NOT in Chiaramonte Gulfi town but some 7km outside (and below) it. The address given on Trip Advisor above is not found on my TomTom SatNav either! But it is well worth the effort to find it! Individually converted rooms with (in our case) en-suite incl a bidet, TV and WiFi (which is better used when others are eating or out for the day). Unheated, outdoor, pool is beautiful with 30km views down to Ragusa. Marco the manager is excellent and nothing is too much trouble! Their restaurant was open (when we were there) Friday and Saturday evening, and Sunday lunchtime. Otherwise we used the various eating places in Chiaramonte Gulfi or used the basic kitchen (4 ring gas hob, microwave, fridge etc.) available to residents. Would we come again? Certainly! What would we improve? Somewhere congenial to sit in the evening would be good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Choose Room 2, own patio and beside the kitchen
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Emilyrosem_4 wrote a review Sep 2017
London, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights and loved it. Very welcoming hosts, beautiful setting and the breakfast is lovely - Marco's bruschetta is incredible! Worth visiting Chiaramonte Gulfi for dinner, we went to U Dammusu which was excellent. Good value and authentic local food.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David H wrote a review Jul 2017
Washington DC, District of Columbia42 contributions21 helpful votes
We were extremely disappointed to arrive at Case Passamonte to find it very different than the photos on the booking site. Having booked four months in advance, we assumed we would have a room that looked like the photos. The room we were given was very small, dark and not even pictured on the hotel's website. This is a booking we deeply regret making.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Case P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Case Passamonte
Responded Jul 31, 2017
Dear Sir, we are sorry for your dissapointmnet, we already received the same complain by your wife in the last review we received on Tripadvisor. So as i already answered to your wife, i continue to answer to yours accusations that the photos founded in the offer you bought, match those on the website or the structure itself, i remind you we sent a document with the images on the offer and on the site comparing and that are exactly the same, even the promoter of the offer you bought answered us by mail confirming that the images are exactly the same and look like our farm-house, i want to specify also that Case Passamonte is not an hotel. We are very sorry that you did not appreciate the reservation made for Passamonte, but we realize that we can not expect everyone to appreciate a structure surrounded by nature. Kind regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alley F wrote a review Jul 2017
Washington DC, District of Columbia19 contributions30 helpful votes
I have been fighting with the owner to return my money for two weeks. We were booked for 7 nights and we stayed for 1/2 hour. Don't believe the pictures and read the reviews carefully. We were duped. I admit the pictures make this hotel look amazing. It is not. First of all, it is in the middle of nowhere. While this sounded romantic, it became less so when the room we were given looked and felt like a jail. There was no window in the room and the dirty vinyl headboard for the bed was frightening. Toilet paper is not allowed and there was no dresser. There is a restaurant. But it is only open by request and the nearest anything is 15 miles away. I was looking forward to a quiet stay here away from it all. But I promise you the hotel looks nothing like the photos. You will be greeted by two mangy barking dogs in the most desolate place imaginable. I promise you will regret a stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Case P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Case Passamonte
Responded Jul 27, 2017
Dear Madame, i’m sorry for your dissapointmnet, but we do not fight with anyone, it's not in our culture, we olnly do what we think is the right thing. I find it superfluous to continue to answer to yours accusations, that the photos found in the offer you bought did not match those on the website or the structure itself, i remind you we sent a document with the images on the offer and on the site comparing and that are exactly the same, even the promoter of the offer you bought answered us by mail confirming that the images are exactly the same and look like our farm-house, i want to specify taht Case Passamonte is not an hotel. Futhermore i find absolutely strange your complain that the farm-house is in the middle of nowhere, I want to remind you that after leaving our farm-house, you moved to Taormina, a well-known and very touristy Sicilian resort where there are not certainly agriturismo, I also remind you that the offer you bought on the renowned international portal had the following title "Ancient estate in the Sicilian countryside ...", where did could be located our farm-house except in the middle of a campaign? Toilet paper is absolutely present in all rooms, as i already wrote you it was certainly a misunderstanding between the staff and you, the staff just explain not to throw the paper in the water (as it might shut off the toilet biology pit) and use for the paper the special basket, the staff never told you we have not toilet paper. We have already replied that the room had both the closet and the toilet paper basket, and we have shown it through a photograph document, I do not think we can still question photographic evidence. There is a restaurant opened by request, but you forgot to mention that the hotel give to the guests every day for lunch and for dinner, a light lunch/dinner service. About the dogs, the agriturismo born from ancient farm that are located always in the countryside; like i wrote before the offer you bought says "Ancient estate in the Sicilian countryside ...", and in all the countryside you will always find dogs, in this case the 2 dogs are docili and gentle dogs of farm owners who watch the farm-house from foxes and small country animals. It is true that our structure is in the countryside, but i assure you like you can read on the comments belows that many of our customers appreciate being in touch with the nature and the location of our farm-house, but we are convinced that all this can not please All of us and each of us have your tastes. Kind regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harry J wrote a review Jun 2017
Cardiff, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely place found thru Guardian Breaks. Fantastic setting up 0.8km track into the hills and views from small swimming pool to die for. Near several towns from Inspector Montalbano TV series (Scicli, Ragusa, Modica, Noto). You have to try the Sicilian family feast (host fits you in with party bookings, so not always sure when available) in old olive oil press room. All rooms off courtyard nicely decorated and a/c (not used a up hill and cool breezes. Good breakfast. Nearest supermarket in Vilagio Gulfi about 4 km away. Car essential. Great walks accompanied by dogs, Pasquale and Leopoldo directly from farm
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Only 5 rooms in Agritourismo Farm looking into courtyard setting. All lovely.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
aristotle45 wrote a review Oct 2016
Marlborough, United Kingdom83 contributions62 helpful votes
this little place seemed absolutely delightful according to the write up. the prospect of a lovely small local hotel offering such wonderful evening food inspired us to pay for and make a booking, The week before our booking I emailed to confirm arrival, meal times etc. etc. Reply came back that no evening fare was available and a recommendation was made for a little restaurant 15 minutes away. Disappointed , we cancelled the booking and requested a refund but this has been rejected!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: check meals before booking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Case P, Responsabile reception at Case Passamonte
Responded Oct 18, 2016
Dear Guest, first of all we want to thank you for the kind words spent on the beauty of our farm-house. We are really sorry for what happened, but please we invite you to ensure with the operator with which you made your not-refundable reservation, that our staff had communicated them in time and certainly before your booking, that the restaurant service was only available during the weekend. Also to enhance the stay of all our customers we have signed an agreement with a nearby restaurant, to be able to offer to our guests an easy and immediate solution for the meals. The comments of our guests are always very appreciated and we take care of them to improve our services.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
morganenright1 wrote a review Oct 2016
Bicester, United Kingdom109 contributions39 helpful votes
We enjoyed three nights at Case passamonte. The owners and manager are very friendly, Marco is a great host and cannot do enough for you, very helpful and has good English. The location is stunning, amazing views. The view from the pool is breathtaking. The whole place is immaculately clean. The food was fantastic, authentic Sicilian and delicious as was the local red wine we were served. We will definitely be returning and I would thoroughly recommend Case Passamonte to anyone wishing to visit and explore this beautiful part of Sicily and or relaxing by the pool with a glass of local wine. Close to Ragusa which was a super day out, beautiful baroque architecture. Also only half an hour or so to the beach. Couldn't speak more highly of the place. 5stars.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Case P, Responsabile reception at Case Passamonte
Responded Oct 20, 2016
Dear Morgan, we thank you for the wonderful compliments on our structure and for these words that makes important our work. We hope to meet again soon. Best wishes. Case Passamonte.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hilary K wrote a review Sep 2016
Southampton, United Kingdom85 contributions28 helpful votes
This is a beautifully positioned and appointed agriturismo. Like so many agriturismi, we couldn't find it but on asking an old boy in the town square he took us to the surgery of the local doctor who just happened to be married to the lady who runs it and who lead us there when he'd finished work. They were very welcoming. The restaurant was closed that night but they offered to serve us cold cuts, cheese and bread etc. We declined but accepted their excellent restaurant recommendation for La Majore in the town. The room and bathroom were beautifully appointed and immaculately clean. The pool was fabulous - and in such a gorgeous location. Breakfast was one of the best, if not the best, that we had during our eleven nights in different agriturismi in Sicily. Definitely worth a visit if you've got time to relax and spend more than one hurried night there, which was our case.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Trine B wrote a review Sep 2016
13 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed at casa passamonte for 2 nights and loved it. The place is indeed very hard to find, but it's absolutely worth the hassle. The location is very beautiful and peaceful, the pool area has an amazing few over the country all the way down the ocean. Also, the hosts were very friendly, showing us around offering us all kinds of fruit, vegetables, nuts and whatever was growing around the house. We even got a glass of homemade fig jam, as the hosts noticed that we really liked it during breakfast. We had a wonderful time and I can really recommend to book this place. Once again thank you for the hospitality :-)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christopher T wrote a review Sep 2016
Great Missenden, United Kingdom121 contributions33 helpful votes
The location is rural and you definitely need to have your own car to get to any ammenities but having said that the setting is peaceful and dramatic in terms of the views. Facilities are good- the rooms are spacious, clean and well furnished but would be improved by access to a kettle or fridge. The grounds are well kept and the pool clean and the views from the pool and terrace stunning. Breakfasts were good- a wide range of food and plenty of it and special requests catered for. Great walks up the hillside acompanied by the owners dogs. The 2 best things- saved until last:- 1) The food at dinner. The restaurant is only open on limited ocasions - when they have other bookings. We ate on our first and last days. The food is authentic home cooked traditional local cuisine much of it grown on site and organic. The menu is fixed. It was superb- the one word of caution is that portions are big and the courses just keep on coming. Many people struggled to eat all that was put in front of them so pace yourselves if you choose to eat there. Excellent value accompanied by good local wines and delivered with a smile and explanation in English of what was being served. 2) Everyone who works there from the owners Ernesto and Sylvana who made us feel most welcome to Marco who looks after you as if you were are a friend and for whom nothing was too much trouble- If you want water, he will get it, if you want the lights on by the pool they are turned on, if you want advice as to where to go he is happy to help.If you want to try figs from the trees he will bring them to you. His English is really good which also helps. If you want a couple of days at this end of Sicilly on a tour of the island its a great spot and if you want quiet relaxation and are happy to drive out to eat its excellent
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you get chance to book for dinner do!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of RagusaChiaramonte Gulfi
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASE PASSAMONTE - Specialty Inn Reviews (Chiaramonte Gulfi, Italy)

Frequently Asked Questions about Case Passamonte
Which popular attractions are close to Case Passamonte?
Nearby attractions include Carceri dello steri (1.3 miles), Santuario Maria SS. di Gulfi - Chiaramonte Gulfi (2.7 miles), and Grotta dei Santi (3.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Case Passamonte?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Case Passamonte?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Case Passamonte?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Case Passamonte?
Conveniently located restaurants include U Dammusu, Locanda Gulfi, and Puoju re Disi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Case Passamonte?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Case Passamonte?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Case Passamonte?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Case Passamonte?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Palazzo Cocuzza (3.1 miles).