We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 Place du Chateau, 21640 Gilly-les-Citeaux France
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$176
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/13/21
Destinia.com
$177
$155
View deal
SAVE $22
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Official Site$172
Expedia.com$174
Hurb$177
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (543)
Dining (82)
Room & Suite (13)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Chateau de Gilly
Updated 07/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Gilly-les-Citeaux
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

Welcome to Chateau de Gilly, your Gilly-les-Citeaux “home away from home.” Chateau de Gilly aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Rooms at Chateau de Gilly offer a flat screen TV and a minibar providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

Room service and a concierge are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A pool and breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Chateau de Gilly, free parking is available.

While staying in Gilly-les-Citeaux, you can check out a popular French restaurant like Clos Prieur, which is serving up some great dishes.

Chateau de Gilly puts the best of Gilly-les-Citeaux at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
908Reviews5Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 343
  • 320
  • 130
  • 78
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
eugenelacey wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Desperately needs a makeover. Fantastic historical Château - but really wasted on this drab, gloomy hotel. Staff are disinterested, don’t engage or smile much - and the sommelier in particular needs to up his game massively.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
cristiana wrote a review Oct 2020
Sao Paulo, SP11 contributions5 helpful votes
I stayed in this hotel from October 1st to 4th. If you had stayed before in a chateau, you better downgrade your expectations. it is a different style of decor, you do not feel in a real chateau. bedrooms are fine but a bit overrated for a 5 stars hotel, it is more likely a 4 star. In the middle of a second wave of Covid breakfast is served as a buffet, everybody touches everything. There are some gloves there but of course either people do not use or use it inappropriately. I asked to talk to someone about the protocols that n Covid nobody ever replied to me which means nobody cares. I was planning to stay at another hotel of this network Chateau Artigny in the Loire but do not know if it is a good idea anymore, unfortunately. I had dinner one night at the hotel, October 1st, and the restaurant is quite good and the staff at the restaurant quite nice.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Community manager Chateau de Gilly, Service clients/Réception at Chateau de Gilly
Responded Oct 11, 2020
Dear Madam, Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave us a comment about your stay in our etablishement. Regarding your comments, we want you to know that every returns from our guest matters and we are trully sorry to learn that your experience with us did not meet your expectation. We are sorry to learn that your stay in our etablishement has been marred by the fear about the protocol etablished against the COVID-19 pandemic in our hotel. To respond to current sanitary measures, we put up a straight protocol (mandatory face-mask since our reopening in common area, hydroalcoholoc gel terminal for all of our guests, full disinfections of our room, common toilet and lift disinfection each hour., stand-up service forbidden...) This protocol is set up in all the common areas of our etablishement and according to governemental measures. Concerning the breakfast area, indeed, we set up a sanitary protocol that allows us to serve the breakfast as a buffet : mandatory face-mask when you move along to the buffet, gel hydroalcoholic terminal and gloves to prevent any direct contact with the cutleries. It seems obvious for us that every clients must show goodwill and respect to each other. However, an individual room service breakfast was possible in order to avoid any risk of contamination. Our etablishement is controled by MERIEUX labs for the hygiene and sanitary protocol. Our Manager was at your disposal to exchange with you about these differents measures. It is regretable that no oral exchange was possible to be made to allay your fears. Concerning the room decor, all of our rooms have their own decoration and we want to keep this Chateau ambiance. That ‘s why it would have been easier to ask to our reception service to show you another room to suits you. Moreover, we are really pleased that you seems to enjoyed your dinner and their service in our restaurant. We stay naturraly at your disposal for any exchange and we hope that, in the future, you will trust in our hotel and our groupe again for a next stay in France, Stay safe, Yours sincerely.
Read more
natalispain wrote a review Sep 2020
Geneva, Switzerland1 contribution
Very beautiful hotel located in the middle age castle, impressive surroundings, beautiful cafe with an outside terrace. The room decoration is a bit outdated for a 5-star but it has its own charm. We would have appreciated the hotel to offer vineyard excursions.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Community manager Chateau de Gilly, Service clients/Réception at Chateau de Gilly
Responded Oct 11, 2020
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Thank you for your kind comment concerning your stay at Château de Gilly and we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed you stay with us. Concerning vineyard excursions, we can recommand you some on request at the reception. We work with a partner to organize a tour for a day in the vineyard or to go on your own with some recommandations. We will be very happy to welcome you again in our etablishement for your next stay in Burgundy. Have a lovely day, Kind regards.
Read more
12APlace wrote a review Aug 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom182 contributions97 helpful votes
This is an expensive hotel. One should reasonably expect service to match. You go in. There is a basin, and a sign offering you a cool rehydrating drink of water. There are no bottles. From the lift, you are led up 19 stairs to an attic room. It is stiflingly hot. There is an industrial radiator, which blows out cooler air. At the back of it is a six-inch diameter plastic corrugated pipe. it is unattached to anything. Out of it comes the hot air which the front of it is cooling. There is also a portable fan. it does not work. Neither does the fridge. We ring reception to tell them. They apologise. It will be fixed. We go to the swimming pool to cool off. The regulator for the water in the shower does not work. The soap dispenser is empty. When we get back to our room, nothing has happened. We phone again. The lady at reception has been too busy. They are short staffed. She says she will come up at once. After half an hour, we go down. She is still too busy. I ask to see the manager. (I don't think, in fifty years of travelling, I have ever done that.) He comes and apologises. They are short staffed (and this in the middle of Covid unemployment!). Another portable fan is found, which helps. We go down to dinner. I had downloaded the menu and the wine list, and we had chosen from it. The wines were expensive, and I had taken care in the choice of both the red and the white. We ordered them. The waiter returned shortly afterwards. Each of our choices was unavailable. I had made the choice from their published list only two days before. He suggested an alternative white, which was comparable, and a more expensive red. I assumed that the hotel would bear the difference in price, but when we came to pay the bill, no - it was the full, more expensive, price. The manager had said that he would make a reduction in our bill as part compensation for our problems. The reduction turned out to be the price of the bottle of white plus free breakfasts. I said that breakfasts were included in our pre-paid rate. They disputed that. I got our paperwork. Breakfast was included in the pre-paid rate. In spite of accepting that, no further corresponding reduction was made. We left with the sourest of tastes in our mouths for the shoddiness of the whole set-up - the accommodation, the facilities, the wholesale failures to try speedily and fairly to remedy problems, and the, to my mind disgraceful, way in which the 'compensation' was mismanaged. The hotel is part of the 'grandes etapes' chain in the area. We shall avoid them like the plague in future. I have been writing reports on hotels for tripadvisor for years. I have never before given a one-star rating, far less giving such a rating to an establishment which holds itself out to be of luxury class.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: avoid room 21 at all costs!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Community manager Chateau de Gilly, Autre at Chateau de Gilly
Responded Aug 22, 2020
Dear Guest, I do feel sorry that you haven't enjoyed your stay at Le Château de Gilly. We have taken good note of your remarks and have shared them with the different departments concerned in order to avoid making the same mistakes. We hope that you have at least enjoyed the region. Best regards,
Read more
KayM1925 wrote a review Aug 2020
The Hague, The Netherlands23 contributions7 helpful votes
We have a lovely room and enjoyed the time! We arrived late and their restaurant was booked full but they were able to offer a meat and cheese plate for us in the bar. Breakfast is generous but a tip is to plan ahead for meals!. A lovely walk around the chateau - The is a pool also tucked behind the hedge!! Gorgeous views.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$153 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau de gilly hotel gilly-les-citeaux, chateau de gilly vougeot, chateau de gilly hotel vougeot
LOCATION
FranceBourgogne-Franche-ComtéCote d'OrGilly-les-Citeaux
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau de Gilly
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau de Gilly?
Nearby attractions include Fromagerie Gaugry (4.5 miles), Le Cassissium (3.1 miles), and Ferme Fruirouge (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau de Gilly?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau de Gilly?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau de Gilly?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau de Gilly?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Clos Lenoir 1623, Le Millesime, and La Toute Petite Auberge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau de Gilly?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Chateau de Gilly located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Gilly-les-Citeaux.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau de Gilly?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chateau de Gilly?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chateau de Gilly offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chateau de Gilly?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.