We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 Place du Chateau, 21640 Gilly-les-Citeaux France
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Official Site
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (541)
Dining (63)
Room & Suite (62)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Chateau de Gilly
Updated 07/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Gilly-les-Citeaux
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

Welcome to Chateau de Gilly, your Gilly-les-Citeaux “home away from home.” Chateau de Gilly aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Rooms at Chateau de Gilly offer a flat screen TV and a minibar providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

Room service and a concierge are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A pool and breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Chateau de Gilly, free parking is available.

While staying in Gilly-les-Citeaux, you can check out a popular French restaurant like Clos Prieur, which is serving up some great dishes.

Chateau de Gilly puts the best of Gilly-les-Citeaux at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Room & Suite (62)62
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
900Reviews5Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 341
  • 317
  • 128
  • 78
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
natalispain wrote a review Sep 2020
Geneva, Switzerland1 contribution
Very beautiful hotel located in the middle age castle, impressive surroundings, beautiful cafe with an outside terrace. The room decoration is a bit outdated for a 5-star but it has its own charm. We would have appreciated the hotel to offer vineyard excursions.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
12APlace wrote a review Aug 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom178 contributions76 helpful votes
This is an expensive hotel. One should reasonably expect service to match. You go in. There is a basin, and a sign offering you a cool rehydrating drink of water. There are no bottles. From the lift, you are led up 19 stairs to an attic room. It is stiflingly hot. There is an industrial radiator, which blows out cooler air. At the back of it is a six-inch diameter plastic corrugated pipe. it is unattached to anything. Out of it comes the hot air which the front of it is cooling. There is also a portable fan. it does not work. Neither does the fridge. We ring reception to tell them. They apologise. It will be fixed. We go to the swimming pool to cool off. The regulator for the water in the shower does not work. The soap dispenser is empty. When we get back to our room, nothing has happened. We phone again. The lady at reception has been too busy. They are short staffed. She says she will come up at once. After half an hour, we go down. She is still too busy. I ask to see the manager. (I don't think, in fifty years of travelling, I have ever done that.) He comes and apologises. They are short staffed (and this in the middle of Covid unemployment!). Another portable fan is found, which helps. We go down to dinner. I had downloaded the menu and the wine list, and we had chosen from it. The wines were expensive, and I had taken care in the choice of both the red and the white. We ordered them. The waiter returned shortly afterwards. Each of our choices was unavailable. I had made the choice from their published list only two days before. He suggested an alternative white, which was comparable, and a more expensive red. I assumed that the hotel would bear the difference in price, but when we came to pay the bill, no - it was the full, more expensive, price. The manager had said that he would make a reduction in our bill as part compensation for our problems. The reduction turned out to be the price of the bottle of white plus free breakfasts. I said that breakfasts were included in our pre-paid rate. They disputed that. I got our paperwork. Breakfast was included in the pre-paid rate. In spite of accepting that, no further corresponding reduction was made. We left with the sourest of tastes in our mouths for the shoddiness of the whole set-up - the accommodation, the facilities, the wholesale failures to try speedily and fairly to remedy problems, and the, to my mind disgraceful, way in which the 'compensation' was mismanaged. The hotel is part of the 'grandes etapes' chain in the area. We shall avoid them like the plague in future. I have been writing reports on hotels for tripadvisor for years. I have never before given a one-star rating, far less giving such a rating to an establishment which holds itself out to be of luxury class.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: avoid room 21 at all costs!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Community manager Chateau de Gilly, Autre at Chateau de Gilly
Responded Aug 22, 2020
Dear Guest, I do feel sorry that you haven't enjoyed your stay at Le Château de Gilly. We have taken good note of your remarks and have shared them with the different departments concerned in order to avoid making the same mistakes. We hope that you have at least enjoyed the region. Best regards,
Read more
KayM1925 wrote a review Aug 2020
The Hague, The Netherlands23 contributions7 helpful votes
We have a lovely room and enjoyed the time! We arrived late and their restaurant was booked full but they were able to offer a meat and cheese plate for us in the bar. Breakfast is generous but a tip is to plan ahead for meals!. A lovely walk around the chateau - The is a pool also tucked behind the hedge!! Gorgeous views.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Sapere_Aude2017 wrote a review Aug 2020
Europe5 contributions
This "five star" hotel/chateau is in a very bad shape and must be urgently renovated! The rooms in the hotel do not even have air conditioning or ventilation - which makes it very hard to sleep there during warm summer nights. The window in our room was dirty and full of bird poop. The lawn and the pool area looked really shabby too. We were so disappointed with this chateau that we had to leave it just after two days. Staff was nice and helpful though. The breakfast was also good. However, considering the high price level, this hotel ought to be avoided until it will be renovated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Community manager Chateau de Gilly, Autre at Chateau de Gilly
Responded Aug 22, 2020
Dear Guest, We have taken good note of your remarks and have shared them with the headquarters. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay at Chateau de Gilly and you have appreciated the effort of the staff. Best regards,
Read more
Karel J wrote a review Aug 2020
Audun-le-Tiche, France20 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
The castle and the environment are impressive, the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The biggest disappointment was the room. Total lack of attention to detail: mold in the corner of the bathtub, shower holder broken, sachet dispenser next to the toilet hanging loose, missing labels for hot/cold water, asymmetricly mounted screws for soap holder, mirror needs replacing, dirty wall in the corner around the luggage area, fan broken and dirty, cracks in the ceiling... And no AC. The hotel has a lot of potential bit at this moment I wouldn't consider another visit nor recommend to a friend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Community manager Chateau de Gilly, Autre at Chateau de Gilly
Responded Aug 22, 2020
Dear Guest, We have acknowledged your remarks and have forwarded them to the concern service. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Burgundy. Best regards,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$153 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau de gilly hotel gilly-les-citeaux, chateau de gilly vougeot, chateau de gilly hotel vougeot
LOCATION
FranceBourgogne-Franche-ComtéCote d'OrGilly-les-Citeaux
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau de Gilly
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau de Gilly?
Nearby attractions include Fromagerie Gaugry (4.5 miles), Le Cassissium (3.1 miles), and Ferme Fruirouge (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau de Gilly?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau de Gilly?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau de Gilly?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau de Gilly?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Clos Lenoir 1623, La Toute Petite Auberge, and Le Millesime.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau de Gilly?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Chateau de Gilly located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Gilly-les-Citeaux.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau de Gilly?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chateau de Gilly?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chateau de Gilly offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chateau de Gilly?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.