We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel & Spa Etxegana

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel & Spa Etxegana
Hotel & Spa Etxegana
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 46: English reviews
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Reviewed November 4, 2016

Stayed here two nights, liked everything. Good room with a stunning view, big bathoom with jaccuzi, very good free internet. Food and wine were wonderfull, though a bit expensive, but in such a place you do not expect cheap stuff. Service was exceptionally good: very helpful and amiable people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Beautiful surroundings - ideal for walking, painting or writing your novel! Good wholesome food, lovely rooms, pleasant staff. A bit difficult to find but worth the battle with the satnav. I will go to this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 120margarete
hotelruraletxegana, Director General at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this review

Dear 120margarete Your words make us feel so happy and proud! Thanks indeed. We hope to see you soon here again. Best regards

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed August 30, 2016

Nice hotel and surroundings but not meeting expectations. No outside sunbeds available or swimmingpool. And making use of the wellness facilities is not free. Roomrate is not matching the offering. Staff speaks very poor english but are very friendly and helpfull

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omer Y
hotelruraletxegana, Director General at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this review

Dear Omer Y First of all we would like to thank you for spending your time on letting us know your opinion about our hotel. We are sorry that we were not the hotel your were looking for. It is true we do not have an outdoor swimming pool with some sunbeds. We think we never said that. If you...

Garstang, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2016

We love this hotel and would recommend to anyone. It is simply gorgeous in beautiful surroundings and so welcoming. This was our second visit and we will be back again when we are next in this area of Spain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
hotelruraletxegana, Director General at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this review

Dear Anne T We feel really proud about your comment, who makes us keep on working in order to make all our guests feel as good as you felt in our hotel. Many thanks indeed and hope to see you for the third time soon!

Reviewed August 13, 2016

This hotel is stunning, comfortable and the perfect getaway location. It is a real shame for me to review it so low but it is necessary as I am committed to honest reviews. The hotel is great with no issues but the problem that sets this aside is the service, not by the staff but by the owner. Day 1:After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malachi Z
hotelruraletxegana, Director General at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this review

Dear Malachi Z First of all we would like to beg your pardon if you felt uncomfortable during your stay with us. It is our most important priority to make our guests feel at home. This is a small and family hotel, how could we discriminate customers by race? Did you take notice about our staff origins? We have people...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed August 1, 2016

This fantastic hotel is situated in the midlle of the gorbaia natural park, we made a nice stroll in the humedales, a swamp with a very typical ecosystem. We also used the spa, perfectly maintained and excellent, beautifully done with Balinese theme. The rooms were great, there is wifi too. But the best thing of this hotel is the silence,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katrin B
hotelruraletxegana, Director General at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this review

Dear Katrin B Thanks for your lovely words. You are right. This is a place where you can hear the silence. And nowadays that is not so easy to find... Thank you for sharing your opinion. We hope you feel like coming again someday. Best regards

kfs, israel
Reviewed July 25, 2016

This is a gorgeous elegant traditional hotel, tucked between remote active traditional Basque farms and villages. This place is for the lovers of silence, nature, tranquility, beauty, warm hospitality, friendliness, feeling at home, good food . All these are pampering you in Etxegana in magnificent surroundings. The room was superb. There are about 10 sitting options in the hotel, some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank everfreebird
hotelruraletxegana, Director General at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this review

Dear everfreebird First of all, we thank you for your sincere words that help us to go on improving every day. We hope to see you soon again! Best regards.

Silkeborg, Denmark
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

After arriving to this lovely place hidden behind small roads in the Basque Country we were informed that the place was fully booked due to a wedding. As the staff heard that we have been on a long journey just to visit this place they were so nice to find a vacant suite for us and even offer us free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesper H
hotelruraletxegana, Director General at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this review

Dear Jesper, First of all, we thank you for your comment. We are happy that you had a great experience in our hotel, despite we were really busy that day. We are sorry we could not offer you the same menu as the wedding guest, mainly because that is a menu specially ordered in advance. When you say "tapas" we...

Koeniz, Switzerland
Reviewed March 28, 2016

A perfect and luxurious retreat in the mountains of the basque country. The hotel is part of the relais du silence chain and has lovely rooms, comfortable beds, a superb breakfast, free parking and WIFI and an overwhelming view of the surrounding mountains. The spa has a thai influence, is clean and relaxing. Will definitly come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shams00
hotelruraletxegana, Director General at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this review

Dear shams00 We thank you for your comment. We are happy to read you wish to come back. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our premises. See you soon!

Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights on way home from the south of France going back home via Santander. We felt pampered and looked after in this perfect location. We did not use the spa but this is a beautiful hotel in a breathe taking location. Our room had a lovely four poster bed and large bathroom ( the view was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foodiemum09
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

425 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (171)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Junior Suite (24)
Viewed
Junior Suite Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Royal Suite (30)
Viewed
Standard Double (21)
Viewed
Suite (28)
Viewed
Superior (21)
Viewed
Superior Double (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeanuri
1.7 mi away
Ellauri Hotela
Ellauri Hotela
#1 of 2 in Zeanuri
141 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Balneario Areatza
8.6 mi away
Hotel Nagusi
Hotel Nagusi
#1 of 2 in Murguia
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
23.7 mi away
Hotel Gametxo
Hotel Gametxo
#1 of 2 in Ibarrangelu
99 reviews
23.8 mi away
Aisia Zita Hotel Emperatriz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Etxegana

Address: Ipinaburu 38 | Zeanuri, 48144 Zeanuri, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Zeanuri
Price Range: $125 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel & Spa Etxegana 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel & Spa Etxegana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rural Etxegana Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel & Spa Etxegana staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel & Spa Etxegana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All or them are with wonderful views, quite big and there not that many of them.”
  • View from the room
 of 5 bubbles 6mariat, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
“Both stays have been in lovely rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles annet450, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
“There is no bad room, the facilities location speaks for itself.”
 of 5 bubbles joseaW1215FO, Jul 1, 2015 | Read review
“Don't bother to stay in any room.”
 of 5 bubbles William895, Oct 13, 2014 | Read review
“Get the suite. End book the spa. And eat in. And get a massage.”
 of 5 bubbles Johan-Distillery, Aug 2, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay