We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Bull Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Bull Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bull Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 268: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

Room entirely unacceptable and a management attitude that would make Basil Fawlty blush. Restaurant good and the stay's only saving grace. My better half and I were looking forward to a relaxing break in the Kent countryside but it was not to be. We were shown to the room (No 2) and as soon as we put down our suitcases... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
BullManagement, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to provide your comments. The travelzoo deal through which you you made your reservation is infact a rare offer including accommodation, evening meal and breakfast that equates to an exceptionally reduced room rate. It is for this reason that in order to upgrade we charge a standard fee of £40 to all travelzoo guests which... More 

Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

The rooms are clean & functional, with compact en-suites. However it represents great value for money, & you only pay for breakfast if you wish to take it, & we did!! At only £8 we felt it was good value, with a choice of cereals, fruit juice yoghurt & cooked. The full English was great!

Helpful?
Thank Clare720
BullManagement, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments. We are glad to hear that you found that the Bull Hotel represents great value for your stay and we hope to welcome you back very soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016

Very friendly, helpful, attentive staff made our stay at The Bull Hotel, Wrotham very enjoyable. The food was also of a high standard, both evening meal and breakfast. Our room was clean, quiet and very comfortable, with great views over old Wrotham. Wayne and Jack were particularly very helpful, providing high levels of customer service - thank you very much.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon A
BullManagement, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016

Had lunch here with a friend for the first time. Situated in a Kent village, there is plenty of parking, welcoming staff, a relaxing atmosphere, with a cosy fire at each end of the bar area, and good food. We chose to eat in the bar are but the restaurant looked just as inviting. Definitely one to return to.

Helpful?
Thank Razor2016
BullManagement, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your lunch experience her at The Bull. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the quality food in cozy, relaxing surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016

We were out pottering around Kent and came across The Bull and decided to stop for lunch and were we glad we did! The young man who greeted us was very friendly and we ordered from the a la carte menu. It turned out to be one of the best meals we have had in years. Delicious doesn't do it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda T
BullManagement, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

We are really pleased that you stumbled across The Bull and enjoyed the quality of our food. Thank you for your excellent review and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Kent, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

Fair enough, I booked the room via a Travel Zoo Voucher so couldn't expect the red carpet treatment, but the room we were given (room 2) was awful. Nothing like the pictures on the website, it was dated with a tatty looking carpet and terrible decor. The windows in both the bedroom and bathroom let the cold air in and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MegaWat463
Bull W, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the room you booked with your travelzoo voucher. We are in the final phase of refurbishing all of our rooms. More 

Kent Uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile

This outpost in a small village is worth a visit. We ate in the "smokehouse" which has a southern style slow cooked bbq meat menu. I have now been to this place on more than one occasion and food is always top notch. Order the wagyu steak if you are hungrier otherwise the pulled pork burgers are pretty good. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank appledene
Bull W, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2016

This hotel is a lovely old building - it does creak a bit but that is because it's old and we found that charming. The food was DELICIOUS - I had the lamb shoulder and it was really tender; I also had the creme brulee and that was one of the best I've ever had. New Zealand Crossings (can't remember... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trisha R
Bull W, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

I knew of the Bull as I used to live in Kent and meet for drinks with my partner 10 years ago. So there was history for me. We had a deluxe room, which was very spacious and clean. The Laura Ashley decor and natural wooden floors were very much in keeping with the old cottage style of the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillyone281
Bull W, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

We are really pleased that you were happy with your room, in particular the modern bathroom and comfortable bed. We are always able to accommodate vegetarian breakfast requests, but we do ask that specific dietary requirements are mentioned at the time of booking. We are indeed an 11 bedroom "Inn" as opposed to a hotel as we do not have... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

Is a lovely building in a lovely small town. Food was amazing as it was the previous time i stayed. Staff are very freindly and helpfull but seemed to be occasionally under-staffed but not really to the degree it became a problem. Only thing is its a very old building and you can hear the whole building waking up. Would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
Bull W, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrotham
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
4.0 mi away
Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone (A26/Wateringbury) Hotel
10.3 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 16 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated between Sevenoaks and Maidstone with easy access to M20, M26 and M25. Newly renovated in 2012, this privately owned 13th century inn is now a 4 star AA rated hotel. In the historic village of Wrotham, The Bull Hotel has retained its original charm and has a spacious lounge bar with sofas and open fires. There is a large car park on site and the hotel has free wi-fi access. The AA rosette restaurant serves delicious a la carte and bar meals made using fresh local produce. Ideally situated for local country walks, golf, Brandshatch race circuit and shopping at nearby Bluewater and Lakeside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Address: Bull Lane, Wrotham TN15 7RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Wrotham
Price Range: $96 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Wrotham, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay