Hotel Campione

Hotel Campione

View from Room of Lake Lugano
Traveler (187)
grand lit !
Room & Suite (83)
Бассейн и Лугано
Pool & Beach (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 2 hotels in Bissone
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Family owned and runned top tree star hotel, just a few meters from the shore of lake Lugano, recently renowated, at the entrance gate to the italian enclave of Campione with europes biggest casino.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Free private parking nearby
Paid private parking on-site
Parking garage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more

Location

via Campione 62, Bissone 6816 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 44 out of 100
44
Lugano Airport
Malpensa Airport
452Reviews3Q+A40Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 309
  • 90
  • 26
  • 14
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KKimiko wrote a review Jun 2022
Belmont, California219 contributions16 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a pleasant stay at Hotel Campione. Two adults, and two teen boys - the boys loved the pool(s) and the adults appreciated the good AC. We had the "Family Room" which included 2 bunk beds @ a rate of 239.40€ (add 18.60€ for city/tourist tax) - breakfast included for the four of us. We had a lovely terrace overlooking the lake and pool. Parking was an addt'l 15€.

Had dinner at the hotel - had a very nice server who spoke 4 languages so communicating was no problem. Food was average - 156€ for family of 4. The breakfast however, was wonderful: variety of breads, hard-boiled eggs, salmon, cereals, yogurts, prosciutto, etc. And you're overlooking the lake!

Liked staying outside of Lugano, in Bissone. Much more relaxed atmosphere. Campione d'Italia is right outside of the hotel - took a lovely morning stroll here - beautiful church on the lake. Would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armin Rast, Owner at Hotel Campione
Responded Jun 25, 2023
Mrs. Kimiko, We would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel Campione for your stay in our beautiful region. We are delighted to learn from your review that everything went well during your stay. The positive experiences of our guests motivate us to do even better and confirm that we are on the right track with our goal of providing excellent service in an up-to date facility. All rooms of our Hotel Campione have been renovated in contemporary style, and important investments have been made during the last two winters by installing solar panels, a system of heat recovery and geothermal energy combined with the latest generation of heat pumps. Since last spring our Hotel Campione has reduced by 90% the consumption of fossil fuels and has thus become one of the most environmentally friendly public establishments on Lake Lugano. We thank you for sharing your opinion and hope to welcoming you back soon, maybe with one of our popular and interesting pre-high season offers. We remain at your complete disposal for any additional information. Looking forward to meeting you again. A.Rast, gen. manager & owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarah262016 wrote a review Jan 2020
Zaandam, The Netherlands16 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an excellent stay and will come back for sure! The view of the sea is incredible and the distance to many sight seeing attractions is perfect to make this stay complete. Such a friendly welcome at the reception with a lot of good travel tips impressed us so positive.
We say thank you to the hotel team for making our vacation unforgettable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristina C wrote a review Nov 2020
8 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed one night, the hotel is in a very beautiful location. We got a lake view room even though we had a regular room booked. Thank you to the staff for taking care of our stay. I could recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armin Rast, Owner at Hotel Campione
Responded Jun 25, 2023
Dear Mrs. Kristina We would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel Campione for your stay in our beautiful region. We are delighted to learn from your review that everything went well during your stay. The positive experiences of our guests motivate us to do even better and confirm that we are on the right track with our goal of providing excellent service in an up-to date facility. All rooms of our Hotel Campione have been renovated in contemporary style, and important investments have been made during the last two winters by installing solar panels, a system of heat recovery and geothermal energy combined with the latest generation of heat pumps. Since last spring our Hotel Campione has reduced by 90% the consumption of fossil fuels and has thus become one of the most environmentally friendly public establishments on Lake Lugano. We thank you for sharing your opinion and hope to welcoming you back soon, maybe with one of our popular and interesting pre-high season offers. We remain at your complete disposal for any additional information. Looking forward to meeting you again. A.Rast, gen. manager & owner Hotel Campione
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lazeenea wrote a review Sep 2020
6 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Positive things are the view if you get the right room.
Very very basic hotel 1.5 star at very best.
Breakfast very poor for what you pay for stay.
You have to pay for parking wich I think is not fair as you we paid €260 for 1 night.
Would not be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armin Rast, General Manager at Hotel Campione
Responded Jan 18, 2022
Thank you for your stay. very basic 1,5 stars.hotel. Hahaha! that's a good one. The hotel classification offerd me 4 stars, I said thank you I'll keep the 3 I already have. Thanks again and bye bye. Stay safe and choose 5 stars!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah wrote a review Jun 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have not got a clue why this hotel has a half decent rating, I can’t find one positive.
Can’t wait to leave and glad we’re only here one night, worst hotel I’ve stayed in during our 2 weeks round trip of Switzerland, does not feel very ‘Swiss’.
Love hearing what the room next door are talking about? Great because the walls are paper thin so you will. Zero sleep, absolutely dreadful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armin Rast, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Campione
Responded Aug 1, 2022
OMG what a nightmare we invested 3 million little swissies (CHF) in the last 4 winters if this is what you think of a newly renovated hotel we are glad that human beeings are very different and most of our guest do adore our premises and our service I am sure that your unhappyness is related more to the fact that you booked one day before arrival the last standard room for 3 night and then decided to change your plans and wanted to stay only one night. We explained you that you would not have been able to book for only one night there was a minimum stay of 3 nights You wanted to leave anyway and had to pay a penalty for one more night we wish you all the best anyway stay safe and make the best out of what life gives you a.rast, dir.&owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fragmented5 wrote a review Aug 2023
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand164 contributions29 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very small rooms and an expensive stay for what is provided. Not a good choice. Tired.Parking was extra inside. The pool area was overgrown with weeds and very rarely cleaned up during the day so towels, glasses and plates left lying around. Very Average
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TrailBlazer13514 wrote a review Jun 2006
Reno, Nevada3 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location and great rooms. We had six people in our party and wanted to visit Lugano. This hotel is a little ways from downtown Lugano but you can take a bus right to town only 20 min. Bus stops right outside hotel. Across the lake but not far. Had room to park our car also. Rooms were large with very large bathrooms and air-conditioning. Very clean. Great ammenities. Has terrace and pool that over looks the Lake. Beautiful Pool and eating area. Very clean. Had breakfast each morning overlooking Lake Lugano and the town, amazing. Very relaxing. The small town where hotel Campione is located is great. Breakfast was very good, lots of variety. We ate dinner at the hotel one night it was excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2005
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne J wrote a review Jun 2018
Aalborg, Denmark6 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at the hotel thursday the 28th of june for a 2 night stay. When we checked in we were offered a free upgrade to a superior room in exchange for a five star review after our stay. We accepted and went to our room, it was very old, but clean we were disappointed but decided to enjoy our stay regardless. The next morning we went down to get breakfast, the selection was limited to some white bread, cereals and hard boiled eggs. In the afternoon we wanted to go to the pool and after a few hours and big group of drunk young men came and started to splash water on all of the guests. We kindly asked them to have some consideration but that just provoked them to stand right next to us and jump from there. They kept yelling at me to strip and show my boobs, so uncomfortable. We complained to the staff, they just said that there was nothing they could do because they were regular guest and the waiter at the pool was to afraid of them to ask them to stop. We decided that a hotel like that was below our standards and we checked out that same afternoon, they didn’t even offer us any kind of refund until we told them that we had to warn others then they offered to refund our parking and tax 40 euro. Honestly if you are a family, couple or anyone else find another accommodation it would be a terrible experience for you. And all of the good ratings probably comes from free upgrades!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from arminrast, Manager at Hotel Campione
Responded Jul 3, 2018
Yes Madame, exactly! we are the worst Hotel on the planet, ever ever ever. After putting this clear we want to ad the following: You asked us to send away from the hotel the rude group of men that were partying before one of them would get married... You asked us to send them away from the Hotel, ohterwise you would checkout before the expected departure date. Unfortunatly your request was impossible to fulfill for the hotel. Only the police could do this, but you did not help us to do so. We would be glad if we could choose our customers, but as from the time of a reservation there is a contract between the guest and the hotel, are obliged to fullfill it. You had problems with those persons, not with the hotel, in the morning, at the breakfast we did ask you how everything was and you did say to my wife that everything was fine.... Again: We offered you assistance by calling the police but you said that you would not wait for them... By the way: At the checkin we offered you a bigger room because we had one with balcony and lakeview available just for the lenght of your stay. We told you that we would give you the superior instead of the standard you have reserved, so you would be more happy. At this point it's you that said: " I will give you 5 stars...." Of course we did not give you our best room, you did not pay for the superior room....you received one of our 3 rooms, out of 40 rooms, that have still not been refurbished, but it is bigger, it's still a nice room and it's with balcony and lakeview. You had problems with the other group of guest and you did not accept our proposal of solution by calling the police you just wanted to go away without paying the bill of your stay. I wish you all the best of your personal and professional life.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
weryface wrote a review Sep 2014
21 contributions56 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had high hopes for this hotel but were instantly disappointed.

We like old fashioned styles, but this hotel is very shabby and in need of an update inside & out.

It is not right beside the lake, but is separated by a busy (loud) road and another hotel (which seems to have private access to that part of the lake).

The food was poor quality and overpriced (altho there are other nice places to eat near by). Definitely avoid the mass-produced frozen desserts, which should have been thrown away some time ago!

Some staff were helpful and pleasant, however restaurant staff seemed very cross and quite rude.

Pool area was nice but you feel very fenced in and road noise is disturbing. Local lido in Campione is much better, especially if you have kids.

Breakfast was good although on our first day no brown bread / toast or 'healthy' cereals were available.

Sorry but we would not go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Omid S wrote a review Jun 2018
3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived, my first thought was “okay, the pictures online has been taken on a VERY VERY good day” because it didn’t look nice in real life. We booked a normal room but the receptionist offered us a superior room if we gave them a 5 star rating. So the “superior room” didn’t look special. It looked like a simple room and the bathroom had a very small bath. There was nothing complimentary like shampoo or anything.

The pool area looks nice on pictures but they haven’t heated the pool at all. You properly think “why should they when there are 30 degrees outside?” Well, the water was around 13-14 degrees. I know this because I take ice baths 1-2 times a week so it wasn’t nice to be in the water. The breakfast was filled with white bread and cakes.

On our second day, a couple of guys checks in and start to making “bombs” in the water so everybody gets wet. They also harassed my girlfriend and told her to show her chest. That was too much so we complained to the staff. They didn’t do anything and said that it has nothing to do with them. We immediately checked out. Worst experience ever. I will NEVER EVER RECOMMEND ANYONE TO STAY HERE. All the pictures lies and they only get good reviews because they offer their visitors a “superior” room for a 5 star review in exchange. I wish I had a picture of the room but the fact that I didn’t take any should tell you why.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from arminrast, Manager at Hotel Campione
Responded Jul 3, 2018
Yes Madame, exactly! we are the worst Hotel on the planet, ever ever ever. After putting this clear we want to ad the following: You asked us to send away from the hotel the rude group of men that were partying before one of them would get married... You asked us to send them away from the Hotel, ohterwise you would checkout before the expected departure date. Unfortunatly your request was impossible to fulfill for the hotel. Only the police could do this, but you did not help us to do so. We would be glad if we could choose our customers, but as from the time of a reservation there is a contract between the guest and the hotel, are obliged to fullfill it. You had problems with those persons, not with the hotel, in the morning, at the breakfast we did ask you how everything was and you did say to my wife that everything was fine.... Again: We offered you assistance by calling the police but you said that you would not wait for them... By the way: At the checkin we offered you a bigger room because we had one with balcony and lakeview available just for the lenght of your stay. We told you that we would give you the superior instead of the standard you have reserved, so you would be more happy. At this point it's you that said: " I will give you 5 stars...." Of course we did not give you our best room, you did not pay for the superior room....you received one of our 3 rooms, out of 40 rooms, that have still not been refurbished, but it is bigger, it's still a nice room and it's with balcony and lakeview. You had problems with the other group of guest and you did not accept our proposal of solution by calling the police you just wanted to go away without paying the bill of your stay. I wish you all the best of your personal and professional life.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Irina S asked a question Jun 2017
Dubai, United Arab Emirates2,362 contributions368 helpful votes
Здравствуйте! Закончился ли в отеле ремонт?
Desi1967 asked a question Aug 2015
3 contributions1 helpful vote
scusa volevo sapere se c è il phon in camera
J-GVA wrote a tip Mar 2019
Geneva6 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Junior Suite are really spacious and very comfortable!"
Read full review
Peter B wrote a tip Sep 2018
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the suites or make sure you get the good one."
Read full review
Raimondo C wrote a tip Aug 2018
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia30 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a lake view room."
Read full review
Marek D wrote a tip Aug 2018
Pilsen, Czech Republic573 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a lake view room"
Read full review
Ernesto R wrote a tip Jul 2018
Madrid, Spain77 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great accesability, Excellent Service, Excellent Breakfast. Great Value !"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bissone area.
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
minotel lugano, lugano minotel
LOCATION
SwitzerlandSwiss AlpsCanton of TicinoMendrisiottoBissone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Campione

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Campione
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Campione?
Nearby attractions include Santuario di S. Maria dei Ghirli (0.3 miles), Galleria Civica (0.6 miles), and Casino di Campione (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Campione?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Campione?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Campione?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Campione?
Yes, free private parking nearby, free public parking nearby, and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Campione?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grotto Rialdo, La Palma, and Wineout Enoteca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Campione?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Campione have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Campione offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Campione located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Bissone.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Campione?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Campione?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Bissone HotelsBissone Hotel Deals
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars