We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Butlers Hotel

40 Cardigan Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3AG, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground
    0.1 mi
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Best full English breakfast ever!
I came 3 years ago when I was visiting the UK for 6 weeks. I... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Liege, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came 3 years ago when I was visiting the UK for 6 weeks. I usually stayed in hostels so compared to hostels (and for a little bit more money) the butlers was really good. I absolutely loved the full English breakfast, this is the best I ever tasted! Recommend the hotel if you have a small budget and are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefinferno
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay at the Butlers hotel. I have passed your comments on to the team who were delighted. Thank you once more and hope to see you again when next on your travels. All the best, Mark and the team

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 12, 2016

I guess this place is perfect if you are visiting the stadium and need a place for the night or just need a bed for the night. The staff could have been more helpful, and friendlier. First impressions always make the customer feel welcome and safe. I wasn't really shown to my room but pointed in the right direction. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay at the Butlers hotel. So sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We have standard sized bath towels and hand towels not bath sheets unfortunately, I will have look into sourcing some. We have spent time improving the standards of the shower and shower door...

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 7, 2016

Firstly I was told this hotel was close to the heart of Leeds. No it isn't! It is a £6+ taxi ride into town and after midnight it can be £10 or more to get back. Day time buses are available at £2:40 single. However for cricket lovers it couldn't be closer. The overall impression of this hotel is it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeremyaxiom
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review following your stay at the Butlers hotel. So sorry to hear your stay wasn't to your liking or expectation. we are 1.5 miles from Leeds centre, we consider this to be close but agree that a £5-6.00 charge for a taxi is correct. We are slowly making our way round the hotel, decorating...

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

Yes it is a bit tired and old fashioned but it was great value for money. Good location, the staff were friendly and breakfast very good quality. The rooms whilst needing some renovation, we're a good size and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the_calvinator
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review following your stay at the Butlers hotel. We are working tirelessly to re-decorate all bedrooms and reception areas to enhance everyone's future stay. Hope to see you again to show all our improvements. All the best, Mark and the team

Reviewed November 11, 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute, was stuck in the area with work due to unforeseen problems. Staff were very friendly and helpful, even though the hotel was almost full they were able to squeeze me in at last minute, fantastic young guy with glasses greeted me on the Friday night and sorted everything for me. Than You once again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nathan M
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay at the Butlers hotel. So pleased we could help with your last minute plans, hope to see you again!! All the best, Mark and the team

Sheerness, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 29, 2016

Close to town but very basic, shabby, extremely hot and smelt of sewerage when you flushed the toilet. On a direct flight path so plane noise and the bathroom was disgusting. In a time warp but the position was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa c
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have shared your review with the team, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay, we do monitor the cleaning standards regularly and can only apologise for the below par standards you experienced. We are only 6 miles from the airport and not on the actual flight path, its the first time...

HIGH SPEN
Reviewed October 17, 2016

What can I say, read the reviews before we went so kind of knew it was no Buccy Palace. It's a basic and I mean Basic bed down for the night joint. I'm sure in its day judging by the decor 30yr ago it would have been a bit classier than it is now. Appearance indoor and out could be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VICTORYSTARLIGHT
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are currently improving the decoration and standards of the hotel which is a slow process. I have shared your review with all of the team, we would like to invite you back to prove that we can get it right and for you to test drive one of our newly decorated rooms. All the...

Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

The Butlers Hotel provided everything I needed for a late night stopover in Leeds. The rooms are basic, the decor is dated and a bit shabby minus the chic but for the price, access to local amenities and free parking in site it was perfect for me. Don't expect glamour and you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MT1239
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay at the Boundary hotel. Having shared your review with all of the team they were delighted to hear that you had an okay stay. We will certainly be continuing in our efforts to further improve the decoration and standards of the hotel. We hope you will stay again and...

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a lads weekend to Leeds, ticked all the boxes. No noise complaints when pre drinking, cheap in a taxi to town (£6) and you can take people back after the night out. Would stay again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle C
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay at the Butlers hotel. Having shared your review with all of the team they were delighted to hear that you had a good stay Hope to see you on another lads outing again soon. All the best, Mark and the team

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here whilst on business . Ok first of all it's a cheap hotel nothing more, it's very dated and needs a update. But to be honest it's a fraction of the price of a city hotel. Cheap and basic. You get what you pay for If it's a basic simple hotel you want yes it's fine, but if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merseyjay
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay at the Boundary hotel. Having shared your review with all of the team they were delighted to hear that you had good stay. We will certainly be continuing in our efforts to further improve the decoration and standards of the hotel. We hope you will use us in the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
0.3 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ibis Leeds Centre
#28 of 85 in Leeds
1,062 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headingley Lodge
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
11.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Butlers Hotel

Address: 40 Cardigan Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Price Range: $51 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Butlers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Butlers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butlers Hotel Leeds
The Butlers Hotel Headingley, Leeds
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Butlers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“An upstairs room with en suite”
 of 5 bubbles VictoriaL45, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
“It is a budget priced hotel, don't expect too much”
 of 5 bubbles jeremyaxiom, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in the abbey room. Smells of sewerage”
 of 5 bubbles lisacD172TY, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
“if you could get a top floor rear room you may get a view of The Headingly stadium/ground”
 of 5 bubbles zzaatt, Mar 7, 2016 | Read review
“The top floor was quiet, and warm.”
 of 5 bubbles 404ericab, Dec 14, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question