We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Chilton Apartments & Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chilton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chilton Apartments & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We are delighted to give this excellent accommodation in the picturesque village of Chilton a five star review! When we arrived after a long and difficult journey we were given a very warm welcome by Shiela, who very kindly and quickly sorted us out with our dog who had been overlooked at booking (our fault). The cottage (Lewis) had everything... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Trish D
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed at the Churchill Apartment for 2 nights (from Friday to Sunday). Giles who was dealing with us since the beginning of the booking (through emails) was very helpful at all times. The house is an amazing 600 years old building, well kept with all commodities, kitchen, comfortable living room, 2 bedrooms and bathroom (and 2 parking spaces as well).... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank laura r
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I warn you not to book this accommodation! Booking Chilton apartments was initially difficult as the manager seemed unwilling to accommodate a girls only party. I was constantly asked for more money to cover any sort of extra request made (linen change, use of the sofa bed and 2 hour delay on checkout) which totaled nearly £100! The accommodation was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Genny B
Gilo101, Owner at Chilton Apartments & Cottages, responded to this review

I do love this review! This was a hen party. Due to the quiet nature of the village we do not allow hen parties. This is clear on our website. Despite numerous emails before & after the guest confirmed the booking she did not think to mention this at any time!! Funny that! I do love this bit - ‘I... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed in one of the apartments for 2 nights in December along with a group of girl friends. Unfortunately I accidentally dropped an iron on the carpet in one of the bedrooms. This caused a small burn in the corner of the room, which to be honest was hard to see. Of course as a consequence the management kept... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth2303
Gilo101, Owner at Chilton Apartments & Cottages, responded to this review

This guest caused major damage to the carpet & we had no alternative but to replace it. Due to the extent of the damage it was clear that the iron was not ‘dropped’ but in all likelihood was unplugged then immediately placed down on the carpet while still hot. This inevitably burned through the carpet. The damaged carpet was not... More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Myself and a colleague had a months work, on Didcott power station so rather than stay in a B&B or a hotel we looked for something more comfortable. The apartment was brilliant a home from home in a charming part of the country we stayed in the Rutherford apartment.

Helpful?
2 Thank Qujaho
Carterton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Hawking apartment in October. The accommodation was very spacious & just ideal for us as we were attending a local wedding. The apartment was spotlessly clean & had everything we needed. We only cooked on one of the nights but the kitchen & dining area was great for a family of 4. The village... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Miranda E
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The process of booking Chilton apartments went smoothly and our conversation on the phone with Giles was both straight forward and welcoming. We were a party of four friends with the possibility of 2 more friends joining us. Giles suggested Churchill as he said it was his largest apartment and could accommodate 6 people if needed. We arrived ( 6... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sumac2013
Gilo101, Owner at Chilton Apartments & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review & I’m sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Having read your review I must admit to a sense of amazement at its content. Back in March you reserved the apartment for a 2 night stay in September for 4 guests. This followed your initial enquiry where you were sent an e-brochure as... More 

Ness, Isle of Lewis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We (three adults, two children and a dog) had a very pleasant stay at Chilton Apartments in September 2013. The apartment proved ideal for our short stay: It was very comfortable and clearly planned with family living in mind. The proximity of the local park was ideal for walks with the dog. We were re-assured by clear and helpful communication... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David G
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

During our three week trip we stayed at various times in Rutherford, Lewis and Churchill apartments. All were a real home from home - comfortable, well-equipped and clean. We were all made really welcome, especially the children and were given plenty of local information plus other travel tips further afield. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay - we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JudeBest
Hillegom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Chilton Appartments enormously. Kind, warm welcome; spacious, clean appartment. Well equiped kitchen, fine wi-fi and great choice of TV channels. Ideal for explorign Oxford and surroundings! Hope to come back some day..

Helpful?
1 Thank Annelies V
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilton
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
2.8 mi away
De Vere Venues Milton Hill House
5.9 mi away
The Crab & Boar
The Crab & Boar
#1 of 2 in Chieveley
4.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kingswell Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 2 in East Ilsley
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Greensands Guest House
#8 of 12 in Wantage
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Chilton Apartments & Cottages

Address: Chilton House Townsend, Chilton OX11 0SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chilton
Hotel Class:3 star — Chilton Apartments & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing