We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Swan & Minster Mill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Swan & Minster Mill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,681 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Swan & Minster Mill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,665: English reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

A lovely hotel, set in a hidden away sleepy village in Oxfordshire. The rooms were clean and very nicely decorated, the setting is fabulous for walking/cycling locally or just taking time to chill out by the river in the lovely gardens. This is however not the best venue for a business meeting. There is no phone signal, an appealing though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jude H
HostManager, Public Relations Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear JudeH Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your comments are very much valued and we take everything on board. I am sorry you feel that your stay during your meeting was frustrating due to the lack of phone signal - we are working on this issue so that phone signal will be stronger in the...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 21, 2016

Well signed location in a beautiful part of the Cotswolds. A special mention to Sandra our hostess who was extremely helpful during our stay. We even received a free room upgrade upon arrival 😀 which was a lovely gesture. Food was excellent. Would definitely return to the characteristic Old Swan & Minster.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maria c
HostManager, Guest Relations Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Maria C Thank you for your lovely review, it is so nice for the staff to read such positive comments. We do hope to see you again very soon, the spa will be open soon so why not try a relaxing spa treatment. Best wishes, Caroline

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 18, 2016

A weekend away at the Old Swan and Minster Mill is not long enough. With it's beautiful buildings, extremely friendly, helpful staff and tranquil setting, you'll wish you could stay forever. The rooms were very well equipped and to a high spec and the carafe of sloe gin was a very nice touch. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
HostManager, Guest Relations Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear RachelM Thank you for your lovely review, so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay so much - come back and see us again soon, why not try a spa treatment next time to add to that relaxed feeling. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Caroline

Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel and food. Lovely location. Very quiet and peaceful.Staff very friendly and helpful. If you hire a bike from them wear padded shorts though as I am still recovering if you know what i mean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
HostManager, Guest Relations Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Tim D Thank you for your lovely review and so glad you enjoyed your stay & managed a bike ride - the Pashley's are great aren't they! Hope to welcome you back again very soon, you can always have spa treatments next time instead of bike rides around the village. Best wishes, Caroline

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 17, 2016

The property is beautiful ('chocolate box') & the room in the old part of the property (the Swan) was also beautiful & well appointed. BUT the service disappointed from start to finish... Restaurant staff confused, and poorly organised, food mostly good but errors made (and not admitted - defensive attitides). We asked for a table in restaurant (having booked 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickS-Barnes
HostManager, Guest Relations Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear NickSBarnes Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay and I am glad you enjoyed your room in the Old Swan, it's a charming part of the world. I am however very sorry to hear you found the service so slow in the restaurant and that your day started earlier than you would have...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 17, 2016

Enjoyed a relaxing stay in this beautiful hotel where service and staff very friendly yet professional at all times. Food was outstanding, we ate in the hotel both nights as we had booked for dinner bed and breakfast which we were glad we did as dinner prices were on the expensive side. The only negative point I can make is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KazBn
HostManager, Guest Relations Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear KazBn Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your comments are very much appreciated and valued. I do hope you come and visit us again, why not try a larger room, we have some lovely rooms by the river that have their own fire pit where you can toast marshmallows or why not try one of...

Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the old swan part of the pub, it was beautiful, with lots of character. The room was lovely very comfortable, and there were nice touches such as a carafe of sloe gin to help ourselves to. Rooms were cleaned daily and beds turned down in the evening. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donski67
HostManager, Guest Relations Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Donski67 Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Caroline

Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewed May 17, 2016

Lovely modern rooms in a lovingly restored mill.Beautiful grounds.Excellent restaurant.Complimentary Sloe Gin in the room.Guide to walks in the area.Ruins of medieval Minster Lovell Hall in the village.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _lfenton_2001
HostManager, Guest Relations Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear _lfenton_2001 Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us, so glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the sloe gin - it's great isn't it. Next time you visit you must try more of the walks & why not try one of the guided tours around the village with our local historian and then come back...

Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a romantic three days and found the room, grounds and food outstanding! Even so, two of the staff, Sandra and Zena (sp?) truly went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, but these two ladies helped make us feel at home. We cannot recommend the Old Swan &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
HostManager, Guest Relations Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Steve H Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it means a lot to the staff to read such lovely comments & it's great to read you enjoyed your stay so much. Do come back and stay with us again, the spa will be open soon for treatments and relaxation by the pool or why not...

Grove City, Ohio
Reviewed May 12, 2016

We personally have nothing but positive comments regarding our stay. Front Desk Staff was so accommodating at check-in, especially Caroline and our dining experiences were most satisfactory. The property is located in an idyllic setting in the Cotswolds and great location for day trips to Stratford on Avon, Village of Bampton for Downton Abby fans, Stonehenge & Bath. Would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nora B
HostManager, Guest Relations Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Nora Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay, I know we have been on your list of places to visit for a long time so I am delighted you had a relaxing & enjoyable time and visited lots of the local area. I hope you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

869 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (465)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (152)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
1:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (213)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Garden Room (27)
Viewed
Garden Room with Patio and Wood Stove (32)
Viewed
Old Swan Churchill Room (27)
Viewed
Old Swan Dovecote Room (27)
Viewed
Old Swan Luxe Early Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
River Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster Lovell
14.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
337 reviews
4.8 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,576 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
770 reviews
23.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic Cotswold inn and boutique hotel, the Old Swan & Minster Mill is privately owned by Andrew Brownsword Hotels. Set is the picturesque village of Old Minster alongside the River Windrush, the 15 bedroom inn is stunningly romantic. A further 37 contemporary guest rooms and suites are available in Minster Mill. Family rooms and dog friendly rooms are available. For those looking for more privacy and space, the adjoining newly restored Swan Cottage offers three ensuite bathrooms and a private garden. Dining in the 600-year-old inn feels like stepping back in time with stone floors, beamed ceilings, roaring log fires and delicious gastro-pub food based on fresh, local, seasonal ingredients with a modern twist. Over 65 acres of gardens and 2 miles of fly-fishing on over a mile of the River Windrush ensure a tranquil and picturesque setting. Children have a wealth of activities. There is a tennis court, badminton, gym, croquet, petanque and spa treatments available. Located between the medieval town of Burford and historic market town of Witney, the inn is a short drive from Blenheim Palace and Bicester Designer Shopping Village. Oxford is 20 minutes drive. Nearest train station Charlbury is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Swan & Minster Mill

Address: Minster Lovell Mill Old Minster Lovell | Cotswolds, Minster Lovell, Witney OX29 0RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney > Minster Lovell
Price Range: $138 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Swan & Minster Mill 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Old Swan & Minster Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan & Minster Mill Hotel Witney
Old Swan And Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill Minster Lovell, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Old Swan & Minster Mill staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Old Swan & Minster Mill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A river room would be our choice again”
 of 5 bubbles LynPaul546, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“De luxe rooms in the upstairs of the Minster Mill overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles njanelondon, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“We only ate, did not stay.”
 of 5 bubbles beverleypawson, Feb 20, 2017 | Read review
“They have only certain rooms for dogs - If you have a dog would not recommend to stay in room 132 and there is no room for a dog bed.”
 of 5 bubbles keoghanita, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
“The Old Swan has 14 older character rooms whilst the Mill has 60 newer build rooms. all are well furnished.”
 of 5 bubbles Irvine-SoA, Feb 3, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question