We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Minster Lovell Mill Old Minster Lovell Cotswolds, Minster Lovell, Witney OX29 0RN England
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (675)
Room & Suite (277)
Dining (83)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Old Swan
Updated 06/25/20

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Located just 15 miles from Oxford and 11 miles from Blenheim Palace, Old Swan is nestled in 65 acres of idyllic grounds in the picturesque village of Minster Lovell. This quintessentially English inn seamlessly blends the rural charm of its historic setting with contemporary design, luxurious comfort and delicious menus crafted from the best seasonal produce. The magical gardens, wild flower meadows and woodland which enclose the mill and inn come alive during the summer months – fishing, walking, croquet and tennis are the order of the day while throughout cooler weather roaring log fires provide a welcome retreat.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Heated pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
2,236Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,369
  • 503
  • 232
  • 80
  • 52
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
VStone22 wrote a review Dec 2020
Longcot, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
We went to the Old Swan for our first date as husband and wife, having celebrated our engagement there last year. The food was sublime, the wine was wonderful and the ambience was exactly as we remembered it, which was so lovely to see given what everyone was been through during 2020. We had the most amazing time and we will definitely be making it a regular anniversary trip in the years to come. Wishing you all the Merriest of Christmases to end the oddest of years!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
LeeFraser007 wrote a review Dec 2020
London, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
Where to start ! After a lovely long walk we arrived for our booking at The Old Swan. A beautiful chocolate box styled old inn with Cotswold stone and manicured lawn, nestled into a picturesque village. A friendly face greeted us and we already knew we were to have a lovely afternoon. Famed for its pies, we got to ordering, a lamb shoulder and a beef pie, with an order of seasonal vegetables (red cabbage, mashed root vegetables and sprouts), creamy mash and a lovely deep gravy! A fabulous local Windrush Ale and a glass of Pinot Grigio Blush. Our small dog was given a bowl of water and another bowl so she could enjoy her Kibble! The food absolutely did not disappoint! The pie a perfect balance of pastry and filling, the vegetables and mash again excellently prepared and delicious! We thought the service was excellent and friendly! A special call out to the manager who helped us as we needed a butcher for the evening meal! He helped source what we needed and as he was already on an errand he kindly picked up our order!! Thank you again! This enabled us to sit back and enjoy a lovely glass of Red (Primitivo) and a game of backgammon. We then worked it all off as we walked back!! In all a lovely afternoon, really the best pies and drinks and service! Do stop off or certainly go out of your way to book, you will not be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Denny, General Manager at Old Swan
Responded Dec 9, 2020
Dear Lee, Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back on your recent visit to the Old Swan, i am so pleased that you enjoyed it. The Pie and Brew is proving very popular and i hope it will continue this way. Your feed back has incapsulated what we intend to give our guests, good food and drink, great friendly service in a relaxed environment. I do hope you will have the opportunity to return soon and enjoy more of the same. Kindest regards Sean
Read more
HannahMathews2013 wrote a review Dec 2020
Essex, United Kingdom17 contributions9 helpful votes
Can’t recommend the food more highly - We had black pudding balls then beef & ham/chicken pies with mash, accompanied by the recommended IPA and cider. All were delicious and they gave great service. Highly recommend a trip and supporting our pubs through this difficult time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Denny, General Manager at Old Swan
Responded Dec 9, 2020
Dear Hannah, Thank you for your feed back, i am over joyed that you had a great visit and enjoyed the food and service, the Pie and Brew concept is proving to be a great success and i do hope you have the opportunity to visit again soon. Regards Sean Denny
Read more
Kezza1989 wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
I don’t normally write reviews but the more Iv left it the more it’s annoyed me. The picnic box labelled as an afternoon tea for £12 is a disgrace. 1. You don’t even get tea that’s usually the point of and afternoon TEA 2. You don’t even get a whole sandwhich, 1 thin slither of white bread and 1 thin slither of brown bread. I could of got a whole afternoon tea 3 tiered elsewhere for 50p more including tea!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Denny, General Manager at Old Swan
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Dear Kezza1989, Thank you for your feed back on your recent visit. I am sorry and disappointed you were not happy with your afternoon tea picnic box. We put the picnic boxes together to fit the market of guests that wanted to either take the food away boxed, to enjoy socially distanced around the grounds as a picnic or eat on the terrace or inside the Old Swan, we have found it to be a great success so far. If we misled you in to believing it was a traditional full afternoon tea as we have always done before lock down at £20, which would of course come with a choice of tea or coffees, a selection of sweet and savoury items, please except my apologies that was not our intention. I of course will take your comments on board for any future decisions we make. Regards Sean Denny Hotel Manager
Read more
JustaDerby72 wrote a review Aug 2020
Derby, United Kingdom21 contributions16 helpful votes
I don’t very often write poor reviews but in this occasion have no choice. We stopped here for lunch - the only options were ‘Picnic lunches’ which we thought considering the current climate was understandable. However, when they were bought out we could barely believe it - The ‘afternoon trading consisted of 2 tiny sandwiches with dry bread (a sliced cheap loaf too) a piece of cheap shop bought chocolate cake (Lyons ?) and a dry scone. Not homemade and straight out of a packet . The only decent thing was the small tub of clotted cream. The ‘Ploughmans’ box had some ham, some cheese, 2 tiny pieces of bread and half a small pork pie and half a small scotch egg !!! The price for these pitiful lunch boxes ? £12 !!!!!!! Absolute daylight robbery along with charging £18 for 3 cokes and a pint of bitter shandy !! I know these are difficult time’s but this is just disgraceful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$128 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
old swan & minster mill hotel witney, old swan and minster mill
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandOxfordshireWitneyMinster Lovell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Old Swan
Which popular attractions are close to Old Swan?
Nearby attractions include Crocodiles of the World (2.4 miles), Minster Lovell Hall & Dovecote (0.4 miles), and The Witney Blanket Hall (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Old Swan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
What food & drink options are available at Old Swan?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Old Swan?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Old Swan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sandwich de Witney, Bird in Hand, and The Lamb Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Old Swan?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a heated pool during their stay.
Is Old Swan located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Minster Lovell.
Are pets allowed at Old Swan?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Old Swan offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Old Swan?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Minster Lovell Hall & Dovecote (0.4 miles), St John the Baptist (4.1 miles), and St Mary’s Church (2.6 miles).
Does Old Swan have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.