We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Roman Camp Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylmerton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Roman Camp Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 226: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having had stayed at this inn for many years,I always find the staff to be very welcoming and to go the extra mile for their customers. Both the food and room were of an exceptional standard and i highly recommend it for people who stay in the Norfolk area. The duty manager Steph and all staff are a credit to... More 

Helpful?
Thank PhilipSaunders20
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sunday lunch; we did not book but turned up on spec, only one roast (beef) with all the trimmings but very nice, tasty and a suitable portion. Other choices included crab. Staff were friendly and helpful. A clean environment. Would recommend

Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
Norfolk
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is fairly local for us and we quite often use it for a drink as it is usually a bit quieter than some places and you can actually hold a conversation without loud music, TV and games machines, it's also really comfortable. However on this visit for a joint birthday meal with friends we were a little disappointed. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank SDNorfolk
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've given the Roman Camp Inn the 5* rating as the front of house staff, lager, comfort & atmosphere of the bar & restaurant remains exceptional. Unfortunately we can't say the same for our food choice. We are regular visitors during the summer season & always opt for the Roman Camp's Chilli Bowl & their Rocket Salad. Approx. 4/5 weeks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simply M
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Our sincere apologies to you both. What a shame you didn't say at the time of dinning with us. The First time you had complained you were offered a complimentary sweet. The second time you visited us , our Duty Manager had checked with you if everything was to your liking , which the response we got we thought it... More 

Tuxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

All the staff were good from management to bar staff to waitresses to housekeeping. Food was lovely and well presented. Probably the only thing I would look at as an owner is the coat hangers in the bedroom mine was room one (a great room by the way) they look the sort that detatch leaving the top part in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank musselandcrab
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our food was to your liking and all the staff professional. The coat hangers in the wardrobe are designed not to take home with you they do detach by lifting the wooden part up which comes out from... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

One waitress doing an amazing job trying to do the work of three. The chef did an excellent job with poor quality ingredients. Nice comfortable surroundings but seems to be run by an accountant saving money with low staff numbers and cheap ingredients. We won’t go again.

Helpful?
Thank BEESTONBOYS
romancamp, Manager at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to discover through your review that you will not be visiting us again. We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfortable surroundings whilst dinning with us. The 21st May a Saturday with a Full Hotel and a very busy Restaurant , we were not understaffed but just... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

We popped in for dinner, ended up having 3 courses And staying all evening. I would happily pay £25-30 in London for this main course at Oxo. was very good value too, main course was only £13. Brilliant food, lovely staff, very sweet place. Was fully booked when we arrived. Not near a town so this in itself is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juliette C
sheringham
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

We called for just a light meal on a beautiful sunny day. We sat in the garden which is really lovely and south facing. I ordered the open crab sandwich with chips - lovely and quite substantial, my companion chose the crab pot with melba toast which she really enjoyed. We also had white wine spritzers which went perfectly with... More 

Helpful?
Thank gailSheringham
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile

Have walked here a couple of times for drinks with the family. The beer garden is fairly sheltered and really nice. A terrace at the top and well looked after lawn and garden at the bottom. Drinks not cheap but where is?! Not had food there yet but menu looks good

Helpful?
Thank Dinky15
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

Whilst the rest of my family enjoyed beautifully presented well balanced meals my gluten free vegetable curry was literally a bowl of curry, on a huge plate. The non gluten free version was served with orzo. The gluten free version was served with nothing. It was very disappointing, the waitress felt that telling me, the kitchen didn't keep rice in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn S
romancamp, Manager at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is invaluable to us. The Menu is quite clear that the Gluten Free Butternut Squash, Chickpea, Lentil & Spinach Curry you refer to, does not come with a side dish and the waitress that served you did try to explain that none of the meals on our menu... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
5.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 4 in Holt
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Felbrigg Lodge
Felbrigg Lodge
#1 of 5 in Aylmerton
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have our own membership at a local exclusive Leisure Club 5 minutes drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Roman Camp Inn

Address: Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Price Range: $105 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roman Camp Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Roman Camp Hotel Aylmerton
The Roman Camp Inn Aylmerton, Norfolk, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing