We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 160: English reviews
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I visited with my boyfriend's family for his parents birthdays, and they had booked a table for 6 of us. It was nicely laid out and prepared, and the restaurant area was nice and set away from the bar. We had starters and mains and I think the portions were reasonable. There were a few options which I fancied but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryony H
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff are rude , owners think they are something they really are not , if you make a complaint about the place or food , they really don't care . The place is very dated and seriously needs updating . The food is clearly a frozen special and not very nice at all . Wouldn't waste your money going there... More 

Helpful?
Thank luckylady100
TheAbbeyHotel, Manager at The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Luckylady100, We do not believe this review to be genuine. We always do our best to resolve any problems reported, as guest satisfaction is our priority. Good luck collecting tripadvisor points. More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Check in and service was good. Rooms clean and wi fi average in terms of connection. The problem is that the rooms have very thin walls between them and so you can hear everything: tv, coughing, turning, sneezing etc etc.breakfast was average but again good service.

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
TheAbbeyHotel, Manager at The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Paul G, Thank you for your feedback. If we had been informed of the points raised in your review we would have tried our very best to reslove them (at any point of your stay). We would have moved you to another room with a better wifi hotspot, or given another login connection. We will for sure make your... More 

Level Contributor
243 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night, room was pretty basic, bathroom and sink a little dated but everything was in order. Room we had was a bit like a motel room but perfectly good for one night. Music from nearby function was a bit loud into the night but probably not the fault of the hotel! Breakfast was good, freshly cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank kdw72
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A spotlessly clean,friendly hotel.Smiling happy staff who couldn't do enough for you.Good food available nearly all day.This hotel does every thing to make your stay enjoyable.Would definitely recommend this hotel.Top marks to the management for their kindness and caring.

Helpful?
Thank Christine W
TheAbbeyHotel, Manager at The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi christine, An absolute pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments. Look forward to seeing you soon. kind regards Abbey Hotel More 

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a special occasion for my mum and dad's anniversary. We already had sent what food we wanted, which worked out well. There were approx. 50 of us and due to their small kitchen they served one table at a time to make sure the food was hot, which it was. I had the lamb shank and it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrissie06
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

romm clean and tidy some problem with water heat but that sorted by staff food evening meal very good breakfast no fruit cheese or cold meat staff very nicein dinning room reception need to smile more complaint was handled by manager very polite all areas l clean domestic staff very nice and helpful good value night away

Helpful?
Thank Diane J
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

yet again a great 10 nights spent at a friendly very well run hotel. staff always go above and beyond. Food is great. Are room was once again clean and very comfortable. so we have booked again for 2017. Thank you for helping make are holiday one to remember for all the right reason. Well done abbey hotel and staff.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
TheAbbeyHotel, Manager at The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Power, A pleasure as always to have your family stay with us. Thank you for your kind words. See you next year. kind regard, Abbey hotel More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

I stay at The Abbey throughout the year and it's always a pleasant stay. Rooms are a reasonable size and the shower is powerful and hot. Very clean rooms and beds are comfy. I have never had dinner at the abbey as I normally go on a evening stroll along the beach and end up at 'The Playa' pub on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christian A
Whitehaven, Cumbria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016

I stayed at the Abbey for just over 3 months whilst working on the island. The rooms are an adequate size, very clean and the shower is hot and powerful. I didn't have breakfast on many occasions due to me leaving early but I was offered a packed lunch instead. The bar/lounge area is large and modern with a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonyindarwen
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheerness
3.0 mi away
The Shurland Hotel
The Shurland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eastchurch
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sittingbourne Kent Hotel
6.6 mi away
Hempstead House
Hempstead House
#1 of 1 in Bapchild
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#4 of 6 in Sittingbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tonge Barn
Tonge Barn
#6 of 6 in Sittingbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
7.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 18 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Abbey Hotel is an excellent base from which to explore Kent and South East coast as well as the historic towns of Canterbury and Rochester. We are also ideally located for Sheerness Deep Water Port, the Channel Tunnel Terminal and central London is only an hour away. The Abbey Hotels 50 bedrooms all have en-suite bathrooms, flat screen televisions with free view channels, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee facilities and wireless Internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: The Broadway | Minster on Sea, Sheerness ME12 2DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Sheppey > Sheerness
Price Range: $87 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay