We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Great Hallingbury Manor

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Great Hallingbury Manor
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 505: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

my partner and I stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago he booked as a pre xmas suprise getaway and despite there being a xmas party I have to say it was a good stay, I had dinner here and the food was excellent and the service was really good, a couple of dishes were unavailable, the waiter was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsT1978
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the first time we have eaten here. Expectations were high as it was Christmas Day lunch. We were not disappointed! The staff were all very friendly and the room was nice (although we, along with a number of other diners found it a little too warm). The food was lovely and the portion sizes very generous. Santa put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaimesophie4077
Kat H, Manager at Great Hallingbury Manor, responded to this review

Dear jaimesophie4077, Thank your for taking time to leave such a fantastic review of your recent Christmas meal with us. I know that all the staff here worked very hard over the festive period to ensure our guests had a lovely time. I will ensure they receive the praise and thanks that they deserve, they are always appreciative of guest...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Attended my good friends wedding here on nye. The service from all the staff was impeccable, and the food was to amazibg. The dj Lloyd kept the dancefloor buzzing all night!!! A special mention to the bar team, Kat, Ross, Mo and Luke for their enthusiasm, and good humour. A top bunch! They are a credit to the hotel. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baylissbird124
Kat H, Manager at Great Hallingbury Manor, responded to this review

Dear Baylissbird124, Thank you for taking time to leave a lovely review of your recent stay with us. We are all glad you have a lovely time at the wedding of Steph and Steve, you were a fantastic bunch to finish off the year with! I will ensure your comments are passed to the whole team. We hope we have...

Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a xmas meal with work and booked a few rooms, all of which were great! Mine was superior as I took the dog- huge comfortable room but noisy radiator! Meal was good though thought drinks were pricy! There was some confusion with original booking- was told I couldn't book until a month beforehand, when I booked it a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
Kat H, Manager at Great Hallingbury Manor, responded to this review

Good afternoon Sally, Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. Our restaurant booking system only opens 1 month ahead of time, to ensure it doesnt collide with any events bookings that may be taken in the interim. Apologies that you had some difficulty in making your reservation with us, however i am...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great service! Has a nice quaint look to it. Close to Stanstead Airport, but it's a good mile from any bus station or train. I needed to print off tickets for my departing flight the next day, and they did it for me! Overall great stay, and would definitely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor S
Kat H, Manager at Great Hallingbury Manor, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Victor, I am pleased to hear that you recieved great service during your recent stay with us, and that my reception team were able to help you out of a sticky spot with the tickets! Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kat Harter Operations Manager

Isola
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well done, a vast improvement on when we visited a year back when the room was over subscribed, squashed and toilet facilities squalid. This time the place was kept clean and there was space to move in the room without being jostled. We were a large table booked by special arrangement for a Christmas evening and the service staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
Kat H, Manager at Great Hallingbury Manor, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Simon, Thank you for taking time to leave us such a lovely review. We have undergone a number of staff changes this year, and it is good to hear that efforts to raise standards since your last visit, have been successful. Both the kitchen and restaurant staff will be thrilled to hear you enjoyed both the food offering,...

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival another customer was booking in ahead of us we waited patiently when he showed the customer to his room he didn't say apologise and say I will be with you soon etc our presence was not acknowledged on any way when he did see us no apology was forthcoming no conversation other than essential questions nothing to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen p
Management response:

Dear Helen P, Many Thanks for your review. I am pleased to read that you found the level of customer service delivered while you enjoyed breakfast to be of a good standard, and am disappointed that the same experience was not offered during your check in to the hotel. First impressions are everything - and your comments have been taken...

Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the first time i had booked Great Hallingbury Manor as a venue for our company Christmas party. We were a party of 26 requiring nine rooms for the night. From the initial enquiry Sophie the events coordinator dealt with all the meal arrangements and room bookings in a thoroughly professional manner, any questions were quickly dealt with and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
Kat H, Manager at Great Hallingbury Manor, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Lisa, Thank you for taking time to leave feedback of your recent Christmas party and stay with us. I know Sophie was thrilled to receive such lovely comments on her professionalism, and is pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your event. I am glad that all the hotel amenities, and staff you encountered during your time here, delivered a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a table for 8 to celebrate Christmas and experienced the worst meal we can remember. The room was completely devoid of any atmosphere, virtually empty which should have set the alarm bells ringing, no Christmas decorations nor music. The meal was dreadful. It seemed the staff couldn't give a dam, almost like they were sick of Christmas parties....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve c
Management response:

Dear Steve C, The time you have taken to leave your review is appreciated. I am most concerned that you have not received the quality of service which our team strive to deliver on every occasion. All of the concerns you have highlighted will be used to improve on the experience for our future guests. It is disappointing that the...

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We held our works Christmas Party at Hallingbury Manor. They made our experience very enjoyable The staff where so attentive and accommodated every request. The food was of a good standard and hot which is sometimes lacking when catering for large parties. A big thanks from all of us you made our evening really enjoyable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joeasyjet
Management response:

Dear Jo, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent Works Christmas Party. The front of house and kitchen teams have been working extremely hard this festive period, to deliver good quality food in an attentive manner, and it is great to see that their efforts have not gone unnoticed by yourself of...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

209 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Hallingbury
4.9 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,538 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,082 reviews
3.0 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
1,974 reviews
22.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Great Hallingbury Manor

Address: | Tilekiln Green, Great Hallingbury, Great Hallingbury CM22 7TJ, England (Formerly Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Hallingbury
Price Range: $56 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Hallingbury Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Great Hallingbury Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Great Hallingbury Manor
Great Hallingbury Manor Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Great Hallingbury Manor staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Great Hallingbury Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“loud due to party and some aeroplane noise”
 of 5 bubbles MrsT1978, 5 days ago | Read review
“Various locations of room so check first if you have a preference for main house, stable or superior block!”
 of 5 bubbles 35sallyc, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for room in main house otherwise it's a walk from across road or a walk from the stables not ideal in cold weather”
 of 5 bubbles helenp270, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Don`t take your dog - they are not welcome.”
 of 5 bubbles Russell02, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms in the stable, you are on view much like a zoo.”
 of 5 bubbles 233claireo, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay