We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Birch Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Birch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 178: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had my wedding here last Saturday, cannot fault the hotel or staff. Everything went without a hitch and Shelisa the wedding planner made sure our every need was met, cannot fault anything!! Food was also amazing !!

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
TheBirchHotel, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thankyou for your review we are thrilled your wedding day was a huge success and congratulations! We have a strong planning team and hope that every wedding guest enjoys the whole event including yourself and your partner. We will try to keep this up and thankyou once again for the kind words. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Birch was our 3rd try at a dog friendly hotel in Greater Manchester. Room was clean and big enough for the 2 of us and 1 very large Old English Sheepdog. The grounds are lovely. Lots of green space & a field of sheep next door. Definitely will make this our "go to "place. Very friendly staff and delicious... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
TheBirchHotel, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to please all guests with different needs including dogs as we welcome them in as part of your family. We do have specific rooms for pets also in order to refrain from anyone who may have an allergy from coming in contact. The grounds are maintained and... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and family stayed here in August for 2 nights, we chose the birch because we had stayed here many years ago and liked the place. We had 3 rooms and the rest of our party were generally pleased with theirs but on the first morning after showering we had an awful stench of sewage in the room. I reported... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
TheBirchHotel, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

hi, Thankyou for your review. I am sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with our services however the situation with the leakage in the restaurant has now been resolved and we hope this problem will not reoccur. We are so glad you enjoyed the food and I will pass the compliments on to the chef as we thrive... More 

Travelers are raving about these Heywood hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

The hotel rooms were clean although a bit small. Unless you are attending a function at this this hotel I can't see why you would stay there. It is in the middle of nowhere.The staff were very helpful and friendly. My father in law is disabled I thought the disabled access to the bedrooms could do with being improved. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave W
TheBirchHotel, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry to hear you wasn't satisfied with your stay. Firstly, we like to see our hotel as a relaxing getaway with no busy roads and noisy night life on our doorstep. A place where you can visit and and gain a peaceful and calming experience which we understand may not suit everybody. I am happy to hear... More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

We stayed here for 10 days found it a very nice and friendly place it was very quiet for end July beginning august but we were to busy to notice the Breakfast as mentioned in other reviews was and is indeed very good the room we had was very clean the cleaner very good and attentive we didn't eat there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keefypat
TheBirchHotel, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thankyou for your review! we are very happy you had a nice stay and found the hotel rooms cleans and comfortable. I am glad you enjoyed breaskfast I will pass compliments onto the chef. In regards to the coat of paint we are undergoing some refurbishments at the moment and will be working hard to make sure our hotel... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

I have reviewed this hotel before but after stopping here since january , 3 nights a week every week its time for a progress update . Reading back through reviews over the last 8 months there are lots of comments from the hotel relating to it under going a refurbishment . I have stopped in many rooms here , and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank David B
TheBirchHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We were pleased to hear that you found the staff at The Birch Hotel friendly and welcoming. We were also delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast during your stay. We do take any comments and complaints from guests very seriously and would like to deal with your remarks in turn. The Birch... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

We stayed at this Hotel about 3 weeks ago. When we arrived on a Saturday afternoon we asked what time the Restaurant served. "It's closed tonight but there's a pub over the road", not a good start. I had to write down my credit card details at check-in. (unknown in these days of identity theft). We went to our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for my brothers wedding and it was a lovely hotel with lovely staff ! The food was beautiful and nothing was to much trouble. The room had everything we needed and was clean and would come back here just for the breakfast !!! If it wasn't for the distance I would love my own wedding... More 

Helpful?
Thank kerixx82xx
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

The hotel was chosen and booked for me by an agent so I can't comment on the value, but I assume it was the cheapest room and hotel going? The hotel is in desperate need of a full refurb. The decor, carpets and linen are all very very old and worn out - holes rubbed into the duvet covers, nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Timothyboja
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for work for 5 nights with 6 work colleagues & would pay not to stay here again!!! My room & the rooms of every one of my colleagues were filthy! Everybodys bed was creaky & all of the rooms were very dated. The sink in my room & the shower in a colleagues room didnt need a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Swit65
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heywood
1.7 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just two turns from J19 on M62, ideal place to stay over if you visiting Manchester or Greater Manchester destinations. Relax in our cozy lounge. If you fancy a swim or work out we have an arrangement with The Heywood Village Centre which guests can use for free.Free Wifi & Free Car Parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Birch Hotel

Address: Manchester Road, Heywood, Rochdale OL10 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Heywood
Price Range: $68 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch Hotel Manchester
Birch Hotel Heywood, Greater Manchester, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay