We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Olde Bell

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Olde Bell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

771 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 764: English reviews
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

On 22nd Monday August 2016 we booked a family lunch .The restaurant was empty except for another couple. We had to wait over an hour to be served which is far too long a wait especially with children involved. When the food arrived it was stone cold. With such a short limited menu there is no excuse.Won't be back again... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

On arrival told that the restaurant was closed for the evening no reason to why. We had looked at the menus before we had come and was looking forward to eating in the restaurant, the bar menu didn't appeal to us so we booked a table at the rising sun up the road which was lovely. We made our way... More 

Helpful?
Thank donnamaynard237
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Staying here in business due to proximity to office. The only way to describe this place is odd. It looks so quaint from outside ....then the experience begins....staff that have poor command of English and not welcoming ; Haphazard lay out of bar, restaurant - what's with the large high back sofas/ chairs covered in blankets with a strap around?... More 

Helpful?
Thank JAM058
Paul M, General Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Good day JAM058, I thank you for your review and yes indeed me are training new staff due to the demand in our business, I appreciate your patience in understanding where we are going and look forward in welcoming you again soon More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked a table for 3pm (Sunday lunch) (had email confirmation - this is important!) Rang ahead as was 5 mins delayed (no problem look forward to seeing you) arrived to an empty restaurant, with two trainee's that didn't acknowledge us, but looked more confused that we were actually there. I said we had booked a table - the trainees looked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LpSd
Paul M, General Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear LpSd, I am very surprised to this review and cannot agree to all said, when I personally arranged a table in our gardens to serve you with our Restaurant and Bar Snack menu for your children, as we do not normally serve our Restaurant menu in the garden, but as you were disappointed with us running out of Cod... More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To visit here during the day for a drink is a lovely place. Great garden and relaxing place to have a drink. However.... At night its not nice at all. We had an awful nights sleep. There was just too much noise coming from the place itself. There were doors opening and closing all night. Yes i know this is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LukeB1981
Paul M, General Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Good day LukeB1981 I thank you for your comments and apologise for other guests disturbing your sleep, we have a lot of functions here and the hotel is busy for a number of reasons, please let yourself be known to me again on your next visit and I will give you a nice quiet area of the hotel, we offer... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had our wedding party here this August and had the best time. Our events planner, Rebecca, was attentive and helpful throughout the whole process and throughout the day. When one of our suppliers didnt turn up she found an improvised alternative. There was only one small hitch with the late night bar being closed early but this was swiftly... More 

Helpful?
Thank cjhhep
Paul M, General Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Good day cjhhep, Thank you very much for your comments, its always motivating for my team to receive compliments, we wish you all the best in future life and happiness and hope to see you again soon at The Olde Bell More 

Portaferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited this location for a family wedding in the middle of July 16. On appearance the place was stunning and what one would call quintessentially English with that old world charm. I had booked four room via a booking site and got them all at a great price compared to what the hotels wedding package was offering. On arrival... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jimmcr
Paul M, General Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear jimmcr, I thank you for your comments and apologise for the inconsistencies, our housekeeping department is now under new supervisors and much improved, I hope you will come and visit us again soon, and ask for me when you arrive. Kind Regards More 

Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

what an awesome place, steeped in mystery, great rooms, squeaky floorboards,.. what more do you want ,, great place to stay, super staff,.. oh and by the way.. ask where the entrance to the secret tunnel is ....

Helpful?
1 Thank steele_ashley
Paul M, General Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear steele_Ashley, Thank you for visiting The Olde Bell, we appreciate your compliments and look forward to seeing you again soon, kind regards More 

Cheltenham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room dirty- shower and sink blocked with hair so did not drain away. It's a shame as this could be a first class hotel with a little care and attention sometimes management do not do their daily checks. Please please pull your socks up before you find no one comes to stay Tripadvisor is a powerful review tool and I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith3hodge
Paul M, General Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Judith3hodge, We thank you for your review and apologise for hair being in the drain causing your blockage, unfortunately sometimes we only find out these things when they happen, but hope we will see you again, in appreciation More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have never experienced such terrible customer service or poor hospitality, which should have been their highest priority considering we were there for a wedding. The staff were all miserable and under-trained, none of them could tell me which food was gluten free even though it had been specifically requested. Even though I had asked 3 different members of staff,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Weddgest
Paul M, General Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear gemmanich0lls, I appreciate your comments and remember your visit at our Hotel, we did discuss all your issues, however more mentioned here, we did apologise for your experience and appreciate you bringing to our attention some of your short comings in the hotel, however we are continually improving our standards since your visit and hope we see you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

213 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (185)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurley
4.9 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#5 of 12 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful 12th century inn, set in the heart of the pretty village of Hurley on Thames. The coaching Inn, updated. Using locally sourced food cooked simply, the Inn provides eating, drinking, lodgings. Parts of the building date back to 1135, with nooks and crannies and crooked floors. For the warmer months, enjoy local ales and eats from our summer kitchen in our huge meadow garden, or in the winter, make yourself at home inside by our open fires. We also have 48 bedrooms and 7 individually designed rooms in various auxiliary buildings, seating from 8 to 150 people for weddings, meetings and private parties. Only 45 minutes from central London, 20 minutes from Heathrow with good road transport links and Maidenhead Train Station 4 miles away and free wifi throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Olde Bell

Address: High Street, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead > Hurley
Price Range: $71 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Olde Bell 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Olde Bell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bell Hotel Hurley
Ye Olde Bell Hurley
Ye Olde Bell Hotel Hurley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay