We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hurley Riverside Park

Traveler (80)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Our family-friendly park sits alongside the River Thames in the picturesque village of Hurley between Henley-on-Thames and Marlow and has been run by four generations of the same family for over 50 years. With direct access to the River Thames and the Thames Path we are perfect for lovers of the river and walkers alike. For those with a boat or canoe we have two slipways and for those without we have over a mile over river frontage for picnics. With the lush green countryside of the Thames Valley all around, red kites circling above, and the river traffic gliding it is hard to believe we are only an hour outside London. We have won the prestigious David Bellamy Gold Award for Conservation for the last 15 years and even won their rare Special Distinction Award. To teach children about the local wildlife we also have a self-guided nature trail which follows the length of the campsite.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
301Reviews
13Q+A
17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 195
  • 64
  • 21
  • 11
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were lucky enough to get a spot on the Henley regatta weekend despite ringing up that morning. It was a really nice location, kids loved the nature walk especially the goats. We ended up staying extra days as we used it as a base for some trips into London. Only issue was the lack of hot water some times but all in all it was a nice camping spot.
Read more
Positive: - Good location - park well maintained - photographs and description representative of site - Access to the river is a bonus - Clean site Negative: - No hot water at all in shower block 2, and really unhelpful staff. When I came out of the shower cubicle in a towel and asked the cleaner if there was a knack to get the hot water running he simply replied "I always find it helps to turn the shower on mate" in a very sarcastic manner. He then more helpfully explained that this was a frequent issue and that engineers had been to look at it recently but it had not been resolved, and "remained a mystery to man". - The site advertises that you can bring two cars, but must pay a £10 charge for the second vehicle. We did this, but it was made very clear to both us and friends we were with that this was unhelpful as several other campers (unrelated to us) had already arrived with two cars. For a few minutes it was not clear that we would be allowed in with two cars. There is no where else to park on site as far as I am aware. - Our children were playing frisbee in the camping area and we were asked to go to the Paddock, as no ball games were allowed in the camping area (not unreasonable). We then moved to the Paddock, but were visited 20 minutes later by another member of staff and said that he "wasn't going to move us this time, but next time could we play at the other end of the Paddock as far as possible away from other campers, as we were playing "enthusiastically"...". This was at 3 pm on a Saturday afternoon. - The site rules state that dogs must be kept on a lead at all times. This rule interestingly did not seem to be applied. With a more friendly attitude to guests, and some hot water this could be a lovely site.
Read more
Response from Hurley_Riverside, Owner at Hurley Riverside Park
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor and Google Reviews. We are sorry that you found there to be an issue with the hot water in one of our three shower blocks this weekend, we will need to look into what the issue was. The shower blocks are closed off when they are cleaned so it may be the case that this person was not an employee but we are sorry that you felt they were not helpful. If you could contact us to let us know when this happened we will need to look into who this person was and what caused the issue with the water temperature. We allow two cars per pitch but it does sometimes cause problems depending on how many additional cars are already in the area as customers do not normally want to be surrounded by cars, but we always try to accommodate customers whenever possible. We are pleased to hear that this was resolved in the end, however we are sorry that you felt this was not handled correctly. We have 20 parking spaces outside the touring park reception which we do not make a charge for so and would be available to use in instances like this so we are sorry if this was not explained to you fully. If you could contact us to let us know who dealt with you we can look into this issue as well A member of our staff did speak to a group in the paddock as his son plays the sport competitively at a high level. He suggested that it might be an idea for the group, which was made up of 30+ adults and teenagers, to play future games further away from the campers so as to avoid disturbing the other guests. He has said that no one objected to this request at the time and were understandable of doing this. We are not sure if you were unhappy with this request though you have listed it as a negative. We do always ask that customers keep their dogs on a lead to ensure the happiness of all customers and we will always enforce this rule when the wardens notice that this rule is being broken. We did not receive any reports from customers of this happening but I am sorry that we were not able to enforce this fully during your stay. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and would always try and resolve any issues if they were reported at the time so we are sorry that you felt you could not do this while you were on the park If you could contact the park directly we can hopefully investigate and resolve the issues for you.
Read more
Spent a very happy 2 nights in this lovely campsite. Receptionists very helpful and the site almost pristine. Very spacious, quiet, although large influx of families on Friday afternoon. Would definitely return.
Read more
Had the pleasure of enjoying a three night stay here as part of a group during a charity kayaking event that some colleagues and i were participating in. We could not have asked for more from Hurley Riverside Park, the staff were so friendly and attentive and the facilities were absolutely spot on. The location is amazing, it is so peaceful and quiet and with a array of things to do right on the doorstep from paddling on the Thames to Legoland. Can not recommend Hurley Riverside Park enough and will definitely be visiting again.
Read more
A very clean and friendly campsite. We used this as our base for a Charity Weekend event and found the staff superb over the entire weekend receiving the participants for the event and guiding them to our pitch. This was an absolutely superb location, both close to the river bank and enough space to have a few games. there's even a small football pitch and table tennis table for the kids.... The on site staff went that extra mile you often don’t see at touring caravan parks, we will be visiting again and thoroughly recommend to families wishing to stay at a quiet respectful campsite close to the river.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWindsor and MaidenheadMaidenheadHurley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing