We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Morrillo Beach, Playa Morrillo Panama
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (226)
Pool & Beach (55)
Dining (38)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 07/18/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Morrillo Beach Eco Resort
Updated 07/18/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Morrillo
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
5.0
Value
4.9
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Beautiful beachfront Eco Resort with access to all levels of surfing, paddle-boarding, and other ocean adventures. We also guide adventurous visitors to waterfalls, and the Cerro Hoyas National Park. We have a great little restaurant with a focus on the farm-to-table concept and a bar with home brewed artisan beers to compliment the tasty foods. Built in 2018, with A/C, hot water, french linens, and incredible views of the ocean, estuary, jungle, and gardens. Come, take an adventure, learn to surf, experience the raw nature of the jungle and finish it off with a cold-cold microbrew at the bar and a peaceful nights rest in our comfortable beds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Hiking
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Massage
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
290Reviews0Q+A41Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 281
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Silke F wrote a review Jul 2022
Torhout, Belgium8 contributions4 helpful votes
We ended up at the Morrillo Beach Eco Resort by coincidence and stayed there for 2 nights. We needed some rest and that is definitely what we got. The resort is only a couple of footsteps away from some beautiful black sand beaches and still you feel like you're in the middle of the jungle. The common areas are nice and open, while your room and bathroom have all the comfort you need (even an AC). The owners and staff are very friendly and everybody does their best to be sure you're having the best possible time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cari Mackey, Owner at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dearest Silke and Jay, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your crazy and unpredictable travels through Panama lately. We know that must have been a crazy trip for you guys. We are happy to hear how you enjoyed the surrounding beauty of this location and the comfort of our rooms. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for the high score! Your Friends Always in Morrillo, Cari, Ryan, Princessa, Tila, the whole team and the monkeys too!
Read more
Eliester L wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Cari and her husband treated us like royalty. My wife is celiac and they went the extra-mile so she could eat without any worries to get sick on the trip. Cari made sure all of our details were perfect, and that we had an awesome time on their facility. They loaned us some buggy boards and they kids just loved the experience. Overall, this was a perfect family vacations. Even the kids had their own interesting experience on an nearby island where Cari and husband buried a "treasure" and left the map for the kids. That completed their trip on a very high note! Food was amazing, and they made sure we knew how the different ingredients were gathered. We humbly thank Cari and her husband, because they possess a quality rarely seen in the tourism industry in Panama: They are hospitable and care that the client experience the best time while being hosted. Hope to see you soon again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cari Mackey, Owner at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Oh my goodness Eliester and family, This is so incredibly kind of you to take the time to write such a sweet and detailed review about your stay with us. I am so happy to hear how much your wife enjoyed our foods which is quite common dietary preference / allergy and easy for us to accommodate. What's more is that it is our great pleasure to more than meet our guest needs in this way because we understand how hard this can be when traveling. We really enjoyed hosting your adventurous family in this magical place. Thank you for you kind words about our service and our team. They will very much enjoy hearing your feedback and be inspired to continue to take care of our future guests while also waiting for your return. Your friends always in Morrillo, Cari, Ryan, Princessa, Tila, our entire team and the monkeys too!
Read more
Jeff B wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Totally enjoyed our visit to the resort which is surrounded by jungle and on the beach. Cari and Ryan (owners) have created a wonderful resort with an outstanding staff that is blended into the jungle in this remote part of Panama. We loved our room with a wall sized painting of one of the local Howler Monkeys. The organic food in the restaurant was delicious and prepared and served by an attentive staff. And Ryan's homebrewed beers were great tasting!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cari Mackey, Owner at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Jeff for sharing your experience of staying with others. We love to hear how you enjoyed the beauty of this place and our outstanding staff. They will love to hear that! Thank you for taking the time to share this and for the high rating! Your Friends Always in Morrillo, Cari, Ryan, Princessa, Tila, the whole team, and the monkeys too!
Read more
Peter C wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
This place is absolutely one of the last places on Earth that you can call true paradise! Foremost the location: If you are looking to get away from it all, in a beautiful tropical jungle, beaches where nobody has set a footprint on, surfing that is from beginner to advanced, this place has it. It’s one of the few places on Earth where you are guaranteed to score no matter when you visit, although, rainy season is the beat for surfing. Their are multi Points to take off from lefts and rights. AND you do not have to bring a board, you can rent soft-tops surfboards, top notch surfboards, paddle boards, kayaks, beach umbrellas, etc… you do not need to worry about bringing your own a equipment because they have you covered. You have 2 options of getting there: they will provide a shuttle service from the airport or you may rent a car. I highly suggest an AWD or 4 x 4 because the last stretch. The Staff: Cari, Ryan, Carlos and the rest of the crew treat you like family! You don’t speak Spanish, no problem. You only speak Spanish, no problem. If they make it happen they will. The food: Every-time I go away my stomach feels a little off. This time it couldn’t be happier! The food is absolutely delicious! All ingredients are locally sourced and made fresh that day! And they are other fabulous places to eat within a short drive. The vibe: True relaxation or true adventure! You pick! They have adventures that you can add on in advance that our incredible! Ask about them. Or you could do what we did, went for walks on the beaches & surf! The price: You can’t beat it! I actually think they should charge more but because of their remote location their will be technically difficulties but nothing that an open mind can’t handle. The nature: The monkeys are truly unique and amazing! Marine creature are in all oceans but they aren’t to worry about. Overall: After reflecting on the week, my husband (and yes, the absolutely LGBTQ friendly) and I spent there, it was truly one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had. This is what Costa Rica was like 20 years ago. Pure Vida!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you do not arrange the shuttle from airport, make sure to have: A 4 x 4 or at least an AWD -...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cari Mackey, Owner at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort
Responded Jul 3, 2022
PJ, your review actually brings a bit of tears to my eyes. I love the way it helped bring me back to our time here with you and Harry and how much we enjoyed your story telling, your kindness, your adventurous spirits, and just overall making new friends with you both. You definitely scored amazing waves every day and I'm so happy for you to have had the experience of such amazing and uncrowded surf. Thank you for taking the time to share the finer details for future travelers planning a dream stay with us so they know what to expect and can be prepared to experience a remote paradise with great food, incredible nature, family style service and even better waves. We are so thankful to have made great new friends with both of you and truly hope to see you again here some day or perhaps in FL or on the waves somewhere on this beautiful planet. Sending you both so much love, Cari, Ryan, Tila, Princessa, Melikki, our entire team, and the monkeys too!!
Read more
Resort494730 wrote a review Jun 2022
Petoskey, Michigan15 contributions
+1
This is my 7th visit, I now go about twice a year. I love knowing my trip with be packed with fun adventures, great food capped off with delicious drinks and blissful sleep. Each morning I am greeted by monkeys and a beer after a surf session. All this and the only thing I have to do is show up ready for fun. I’m already planning my next trip. I recommend this place for families, couples and singles who love adventure and relaxation.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cari Mackey, Owner at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to write another review about your stay with us. Your family is amazing and we always have so much fun surfing, adventuring, eating, and drinking with you all. We too are counting the days until you return. Thank you for the high score and great recommendation to other families like yours. Your Friends Always in Morrillo, Cari, Ryan, Tila, Princessa, the whole team and the monkeys too!
Read more
Joey wrote a review Jun 2022
The Hague, The Netherlands2 contributions
Our stay was perfect. What a beautiful location! If you're on a roadtrip from Panama to Bocas, it's definitely worths a stop for a couple of nights. Rooms are clean, nicely decorated. The balcony is really nice to relax. Bar/restaurant terrace is amazing with good food and beers. Thanks to Cari, Harold and all other crew for a great stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cari Mackey, Owner at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review about your stay with us! We really enjoyed hosting you here in this magical place. Thank you for your kindness to our team and for taking the time to enjoy the surrounding nature. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the food, col-col beers, and making the trip to stay with us. Your Friends Always in Morrillo, Cari, Ryan, Tila, Princessa, the whole team and the monkeys too!
Read more
Vicki Y wrote a review May 2022
San Francisco, California47 contributions35 helpful votes
The reviews here are all on point - Morrillo Beach Eco Resort is freakin amazing. From the time we inquired about booking to the time we got home, Cari, Ryan and the team took care of us and showed us a wonderful time. Some highlights: -SPECTACULAR location. The cove and beach in front of the lodge are like a movie set. -Great accommodations. The rooms are huge and very comfy. The lodge (where we spent a big chunk of our time hanging out) was warm, had a nice breeze blowing through, and always had someone helpful nearby -The wildlife viewing! We saw and definitely heard howler monkeys, cicadas, birds, bats, frogs. -Successful surfing. I’ve surfed for more than a decade and found the location quite fun. My spouse had no clue what he was doing. But by the end of the week, after Ryan’s teaching and helpful hand (or 40) in the first few days, my husband was out catching waves by himself. Also, the nearest beach has very few rocks, so it’s a GREAT place to learn (meaning, to fall) - we have some great compilation videos of this learning process. -The hiking and visiting a local family for lunch were a lot of fun (the latter might have been the highlight activity of the trip). -The food… *drool* We kept saying the food was so “clean” - every meal was hand-prepped, delicious, and felt great to eat. Not sure how to better describe it, but the food was one of the best parts of the stay! -The team. Everyone treated our stay with so much care. Cari and Ryan felt like family by the end of the week (we had some pretty good games of Qwirkle and Code Names!), and their team was always available, helpful, patient, and fun (my husband said to shout out Diego for some awesome Witcher 3 conversations) 100% recommend and will definitely return. Thanks Cari, Ryan, and team! Hopefully see you again sooner rather than later :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cari Mackey, Owner at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort
Responded May 27, 2022
OH Wow Vicki!! We didn't want you to leave either. Freakin?! I just love this, your review has me in stitches! You are hilarious. You pretty much covered all the aspects of your stay here and we couldn't agree more with you. By the middle of the trip you felt like family. We enjoyed our time with you both, playing games, sharing stories, eating a LOT of tasty clean food, and going on adventures together. Thank you for your unbelievable kindness to our team and when Diego reads this review, he's gonna love the final comment. Our team reads every review and they so much appreciate your words and appreciation. We hope you will come back again soon for more surfing (or falling), adventure, food, and kind Panamanian culture. Until next time when you kick all our butts again in Qwirkle. Your Friends/Family Always, Cari, Ryan, Tila, Princessa, The whole team and the monkeys too!
Read more
Kirk H wrote a review May 2022
Ouray, Colorado31 contributions5 helpful votes
Just where I needed to be with everything I needed. Not your typical “ Resort” which is just the way my family likes it. Cari and Ryan and staff made our trip seamless, we only had to make the small decisions like, should I go surfing , Take a nap, go on a jungle hike , eat killer homemade food, go for hike on the beach ! We really enjoyed the cultural immersion , wether it was hanging out with the staff or hiking into the Jungle and having lunch with the locals. Surfing was amazing for all levels and they had the best surfboard selection I have ever seen in a resort( probably because Ryan and Cari are bad ass surfers ) . I just love the vibe here , Rooms are so comfortable and the company was amazing. This will be a family trip that we will always remember.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cari Mackey, Owner at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort
Responded May 27, 2022
Hey There Kirk and Family, Thank you so much for this amazing review about your stay with us. We are so happy to hear how comfortable you felt here with your family, how you appreciated the ease of the all-inclusive package travel, and of course the surf, comfort and vibe of this magical place. Your group was so much fun to host here, take on adventures, and share the waves with. You all did so well surfing, it was just amazing to see how much the kids liked it too! That way, you are sure to return here some day. We hope those memories bring back all the fun stories of your time here with us and of course the random monkey surprise you had! That's not something you'll ever forget for sure. Thank you again for the kind words, high score, and recommendation to other adventurous families like yours. Your Friends Always in Morrillo, Cari, Ryan, Tila, Princessa, our team, the monkeys and Steve too!
Read more
Roberta E wrote a review May 2022
7 contributions
+1
When your alarm clock is a colony of endangered Howler Monkeys, you know you're staying in the right place. I can't say enough good things about the proprietors, the staff, the room and the bed (Comfy!). You just need to come here to stay for your vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cari Mackey, Owner at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort
Responded May 15, 2022
Oh Roberta. Your words are like music to our ears! Thank you for your sweet and kind review about us, our team, and the comfort of our rooms. Natures alarm clock is unlike anything in the world that, as you said, can only be experienced to appreciate. Thank you again for the high rating and recommendation to future travelers like you guys. We enjoyed meeting you and hosting you in this magical place. Your Friends Always in Morrillo, Cari, Ryan, Tila, Princessa, our team and the monkeys too!
Read more
B.V. wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Had reservation cancelled by owner and money gone. No refund, no voucher. Tried booking 2 rooms for our family vacation with 3 teens who were visiting from overseas. The queen room + 1 single bed said "sleeps 3"on the website, but turned out not available for our child+12. Suggested to let him sleep on a mattress, offered bringing our own mattress. No. Ended up booking 4 kms away for the kids, but Cari (owner Morillo Beach Eco resort) did not allow the kids visiting us, not even when we offered to pay day passes for them. The day after we received an email that our reservation for the double room had been cancelled, our money was taken from our bank account. No refund, no voucher. Did not stay and money is gone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cari Mackey, Owner at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort
Responded May 15, 2022
Dear Barbara, I'm so sorry you and your family weren't able to come and stay with us during that holiday week. I am sure you would have had a great time together in this magical place. Despite our conversations on the phone and via text I made it very clear with you that we were full and didn't have room for your family at that time. I know how much you wanted to be here but your last minute plans, especially for international travelers on one of our busiest holiday weeks just didn't work out unfortunately. You had a reservation for one room and we waited for you that day as well as the next without notice from you and in fact we thought you had maybe been in an accident. We tried to contact you without any response from you until a week later. So you are correct, you did not qualify for a refund. Our policies are very clear and in place to protect our guests, our team, and our business. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience so future travelers remember to read our reservation and cancellation policies. We wish you the best in your future travels. Respectfully, Cari Mackey Owner and Host
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$116 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PanamaVeraguas ProvincePlaya Morrillo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Morrillo Beach Eco Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Morrillo Beach Eco Resort?
Nearby attractions include Playa Morrillo (1.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Does Morrillo Beach Eco Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Morrillo Beach Eco Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Morrillo Beach Eco Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Morrillo Beach Eco Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Morrillo Beach Eco Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Morrillo Beach Eco Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.