We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Glenferrie Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Glenferrie Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 211: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is our third stay at Glenferrie and I am again impressed with the rooms, service and location. We had 4 rooms booked as we had a large family group meeting there and the rooms were all clean, comfortable and well serviced. We had shared bathrooms but this was never an issue as there were 2 bathrooms near our rooms.... More 

Helpful?
Thank KathieLeckenby
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were given a lovely room at the front with a balcony; its an old style building but its been modernised internally and retains high ceilings. The reception staff were very efficient and polite; the garden was an added bonus (especially in summer) and the only setback was the shared bathrooms and toilets but we knew that when we booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank bijou2402
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Clean rooms, shared bathroom which is very clean but would prefer own bathroom. Breakfast is great, location can't be beat. Would consider staying here again on a future trip. Very friendly and helpful staff

Helpful?
Thank jk_494
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Spend a little more and get a room with an en-suite, room comfortable and very clean, great value breakfast as well. We will definitely stay here again...fantastic repurposed old set of buildings, short walk from Kirribilli wharf and to shops and eateries also.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony J S
jcbranch, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, Sincerely thank you for your great review and comments about the Ensuite rooms, Yes they are our best rooms and while more expensive than the normal rooms it definitely does provide a benefit having the Bathroom, ensuite. Also I'm glad you liked that we've repurposed the old buildings, which we feel provides character and something a little different... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was not disappointed, after reading reviews, good and bad. If like me, you cannot justify paying hundreds of dollars for a bed to sleep in after a hectic day of walking and site seeing, Glennferrie Lodge is an oasis of calm, with wonderful comfortable, clean, and deliciously dressed beds, fantastic water pressure from more than adequate bathrooms. (L'Occitane dispensers in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mezz56
jcbranch, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mezz56, It's nice to know that you read prior reviews (both good and bad) and chose to come and visit us, moreover when you did, we were able to exceed expectations. Thank you for noticing the L'oocitane products, safe playground and warm atmosphere. We spend many hours trying to ensure our Lodge is the most hospitable place possible and... More 

Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location but parking extremely difficult. Be prepared to walk (if you're lucky to get a spot at all within 2km). Reception mediocre. Room ok but shared bathrooms not so good. Toilet and shower in small area, no bath mats...Bar fridge on but didn't cool, air con on but didn't warm, extremely noisy- wooden floorboards = stomping from above and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
jcbranch, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Victoria, It is wish great sadness that I read your review. I am sincerely sorry that you had such a poor experience at Glenferrie Lodge. We always hope our guests have a good stay and I suspect that if you had approached us with any of the issues listed above we would have happily resolved them for you. I... More 

coffs harbour
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was a regular guest at the Glenferrie for many years but hadn't visited for the last two years. I still received the same friendly service and my regular room had a few improvements since my last stay.The breakfast was great. How can you go past such a good deal so close to the city and right by the harbour.... More 

Helpful?
Thank coastalmermaid
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

With an early morning start and living out of town I looked for something close to the city, not expensive and not a hostel. Glenferrie came up in the search and didn't disappoint. Kirribilli is a fabulous little village In the most picturesque position possible - directly across from the Opera House. Glenferrie was clean, very comfy bed, $10 full... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very good location with many close transport options. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean and will suit people who don't mind sharing bathroom facilities. Good breakfast and helpful staff. Catching the ferry to Circular Quay from Kirribilli Wharf is a great way to go to the city.

Helpful?
2 Thank byrnesj43
jcbranch, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear byrnesj43, Sincerely thank you for your positive comments about Glenferrie Lodge. We appreciate the feedback and the time you took to write the lovely review. I hope that next time you need to be in Sydney you come back and stay with us. Sincerely JC Branch More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I stayed here for 6 nights in total. We loved it and it suited us perfectly. The buffet breakfasts saved us so much money and were very yummy. The location is superb, you're 5 minutes walk from a fantastic view of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from nearby for... More 

Helpful?
Thank jemmykate
jcbranch, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JemmyKate, It gives me such pleasure to read your review. Thank you kindly for your lovely comments about Glenferrie Lodge. It's clear from your review that you and your family really did get what Glenferrie is all about. We are not a 5 star hotel but want to ensure that everyone has a great time. From the feeding lorikeets... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirribilli
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glenferrie Sydney offers quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation on the shores of Sydney Harbour, a minute's walk from the iconic Sydney Harbour Bridge and a stone's throw from the Sydney home of the Prime Minister in one of the most beautiful suburbs of Sydney. The Sydney central business district is a 6 minute ferry ride away, so guests can enjoy being in the city without the cost of staying there.All bathrooms and amenities are shared; wifi is free; a full hot buffet breakfast is included in the tariff for all rooms. With its beautiful, leafy garden, Glenferrie is an ideal place to stay if you are travelling with a pet or if you simply want to relax and read or have a quiet breakfast outdoors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenferrie Lodge

Address: 12a Carabella St, Kirribilli, North Sydney, New South Wales 2061, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > Kirribilli
Price Range: $63 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenferrie Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenferrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenferrie Hotel Kirribilli
Glenferrie Lodge Kirribilli, North Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay