We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Mauna Loa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Mauna Loa
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 49: English reviews
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2016

My girl friend and I work and live in a rushy beach city, so we called them to stay over night, we did stay 2 nights, it is a very comfortable A/C cabana, private bathroom and just 5 minutes walk to the beach, where there is good surf indeed. They provide towels, open kitchen but there is also a restaurant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SeafarinCR
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2016

A nice quiet place to stay. L Comfortable units. Upper unit has big lanais and a second 1/2 bathroom. Staff are friendly and helpful. Many pools available and never crowded. Close to shopping and a 15 minute drive to many oceanfront restaurants with al fresco dining.

Helpful?
Thank PatC499248
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2016

We visited the Hotel Mauna Loa for dinner after a recommendation from our property manager. Everything was amazing. Refreshing & unique drinks along with delicious food. Great atmosphere. Beautiful setting. Our waiter even recommended a great beach access. We visited the boutique and purchased some beautiful handmade jewelry too. You must stop in on your Avellanas trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank tarnold95
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2016

Such a great place to stay, it's our second time around, first time was just four days and currently over for three weeks :) Great cabins with AC and hot water, hammock on the balcony , and if you get the pool view cabins you're lucky. There is one big cabin with a fully equipped kitchen and a bed room,... More 

Helpful?
Thank yaelaf
MaunaLoaCrew, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Mauna Loa. We got such a nice time with you guys, we will miss you a lot! You know you have a family here, whenever you wanna get back you will be more than welcome, hopefully we can hang out again in Italy or Israel next summer. Love to you all from all... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

The water is not potable, the mattress was unconfortable, there is no breakfast included in the price, staff wasn't Kind, everything was dirty, there is a lot of noise even the door wasn't properly adjusted, the worst WiFi signal ever, even with this bad conditions the administrator didn't wanted to cancel the reservation for the last night.

Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander C
MaunaLoaCrew, Manager at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

dear guest, thank you to make my day! "even with this bad conditions the administrator didn't wanted to cancel the reservation for the last night" is a way to say it; another way is saying you reserve for two nights and you checked in asking to stay just one because your friends wanna host you in them house. As we... More 

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

We can't say enough positive things about our experience at Hotel Mauna Loa. From the minute we drove in until we left it was perfect. Thanks to Michele and Debora and the amazing staff. The cabins are a great size and the ac works great. There's the pool and dining area and the AMAZING homemade food (best tuna I've ever... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank pnktrock1
MaunaLoaCrew, Manager at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

hi guys, I have not enough words to thank you, we spent wonderful days together with you and we already miss you a lot. We found two new friends and we hope to see you soon, here or in NY... Love you More 

Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2015

This place was INCREDIBLE!!!! We drove down to Avellenas for the day. After a full day of surf, we were starving on the ride home. We stopped here and had pizza and cheesecake. It was one of the greatest dinning experiences we had on the whole trip. The kitchen staff and wait staff were incredible. They were friendly and professional... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kinesthetickevin
MaunaLoaCrew, Manager at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thank you so much to share your experience with us. We wish to see you back in town soon and we will be here for you. More 

1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

Great place! Simple, good price and clean. Pet friendly ! I took my 2 pugs and they were ok with it. Yummy Italian food they make Great pizza. Plus owners are super nice . Also nice lil boutique so you can buy some gifts. Breakfast and coffee yummy as well.

Helpful?
Thank Mariel S
MaunaLoaCrew, Manager at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thank you so much to share your experience with others travelers. It's a pleasure for us to keep doing our best to make your stay as beautiful as possible. See you next time More 

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for a week and enjoyed this very well managed cabina-hotel and the awesome hospitality of the owners Deborah and Michele. We loved the environment with its wilderness and closeness to perfect surf (we are California surfers so we are picky). Bring earplugs if you are easily woken up by bird song though. We will... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaEEd
MaunaLoaCrew, Gerente at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience at Mauna Loa. We had a really nice time with you and was a pleasure to give you a relaxing honey moon trip. See you soon! More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

Great place, surrounded by forest, with birds and monkeys very close to you. Family environment, great atention to details by owners. With the beach fairy close, good food (best pizza I've tried in the area). Ideal place to get a real rest, in contact with nature. Definitely: NO artificial ingredients.

Helpful?
Thank marinpiva
MaunaLoaCrew, Gerente at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with others travelers. We try to make your stay unforgettable and your review make us feeling we're going in the right direction. I hope to see you again to enjoy Playa Avellanas More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Avellanas
4.6 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
4.6 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 23 in Tamarindo
2,198 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 23 in Tamarindo
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
El Sabanero Eco Lodge
El Sabanero Eco Lodge
#1 of 5 in Playa Avellanas
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Mauna Loa is about 15 min walking distance from Avellanas Beautiful Beach. Our 7 colourful bungalows can host up to 4 people. They are spread in the garden and around the pool for more privacy. Each bungalow is equipped with A/C, ensuite bathroom with hot water, A/C,orthopedic beds (1 double & 2 singles), and a small terrace. The Hotel has a pool (for both adults & kids), a restaurant and a boutique. There is also a common outdoor kitchen for our guests who prefer to cook. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mauna Loa

Address: Playa Avellanas, Guanacaste, Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo > Playa Avellanas
Price Range: $100 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mauna Loa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mauna Loa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Playa Avellanas
Hotel Mauna Loa Costa Rica/Playa Avellanas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mauna Loa staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mauna Loa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Wonderful restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles tarnold95, May 2, 2016 | Read review
“pool vie cabins are nice, and if with family on long travel we recommend cabin 7 (with kitchen and bedroom)”
 of 5 bubbles yaelaf, Mar 5, 2016 | Read review
“All cabinas similar, probably better to be closer to reception/ restaurant area?”
 of 5 bubbles robzee, Feb 26, 2015 | Read review
“If you want in-room wifi, try for a room close to the main building.”
  • Cabina and guest kitchen
 of 5 bubbles ILoveLondon, Jan 17, 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are private. The owners did a remarkable job in placing each room so as not to disturb other clients. The beautiful plants also add to the privacy of each room.”
 of 5 bubbles Kristy63, Oct 23, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay