We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Mauna Loa

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Mauna Loa
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 47: English reviews
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

We visited the Hotel Mauna Loa for dinner after a recommendation from our property manager. Everything was amazing. Refreshing & unique drinks along with delicious food. Great atmosphere. Beautiful setting. Our waiter even recommended a great beach access. We visited the boutique and purchased some beautiful handmade jewelry too. You must stop in on your Avellanas trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank tarnold95
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016

Such a great place to stay, it's our second time around, first time was just four days and currently over for three weeks :) Great cabins with AC and hot water, hammock on the balcony , and if you get the pool view cabins you're lucky. There is one big cabin with a fully equipped kitchen and a bed room,... More 

Helpful?
Thank yaelaf
MaunaLoaCrew, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Mauna Loa. We got such a nice time with you guys, we will miss you a lot! You know you have a family here, whenever you wanna get back you will be more than welcome, hopefully we can hang out again in Italy or Israel next summer. Love to you all from all... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

The water is not potable, the mattress was unconfortable, there is no breakfast included in the price, staff wasn't Kind, everything was dirty, there is a lot of noise even the door wasn't properly adjusted, the worst WiFi signal ever, even with this bad conditions the administrator didn't wanted to cancel the reservation for the last night.

Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander C
MaunaLoaCrew, Manager at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

dear guest, thank you to make my day! "even with this bad conditions the administrator didn't wanted to cancel the reservation for the last night" is a way to say it; another way is saying you reserve for two nights and you checked in asking to stay just one because your friends wanna host you in them house. As we... More 

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

We can't say enough positive things about our experience at Hotel Mauna Loa. From the minute we drove in until we left it was perfect. Thanks to Michele and Debora and the amazing staff. The cabins are a great size and the ac works great. There's the pool and dining area and the AMAZING homemade food (best tuna I've ever... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank pnktrock1
MaunaLoaCrew, Manager at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

hi guys, I have not enough words to thank you, we spent wonderful days together with you and we already miss you a lot. We found two new friends and we hope to see you soon, here or in NY... Love you More 

Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

This place was INCREDIBLE!!!! We drove down to Avellenas for the day. After a full day of surf, we were starving on the ride home. We stopped here and had pizza and cheesecake. It was one of the greatest dinning experiences we had on the whole trip. The kitchen staff and wait staff were incredible. They were friendly and professional... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kinesthetickevin
MaunaLoaCrew, Manager at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thank you so much to share your experience with us. We wish to see you back in town soon and we will be here for you. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

Great place! Simple, good price and clean. Pet friendly ! I took my 2 pugs and they were ok with it. Yummy Italian food they make Great pizza. Plus owners are super nice . Also nice lil boutique so you can buy some gifts. Breakfast and coffee yummy as well.

Helpful?
Thank Mariel S
MaunaLoaCrew, Manager at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thank you so much to share your experience with others travelers. It's a pleasure for us to keep doing our best to make your stay as beautiful as possible. See you next time More 

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for a week and enjoyed this very well managed cabina-hotel and the awesome hospitality of the owners Deborah and Michele. We loved the environment with its wilderness and closeness to perfect surf (we are California surfers so we are picky). Bring earplugs if you are easily woken up by bird song though. We will... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaEEd
MaunaLoaCrew, Gerente at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience at Mauna Loa. We had a really nice time with you and was a pleasure to give you a relaxing honey moon trip. See you soon! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

Great place, surrounded by forest, with birds and monkeys very close to you. Family environment, great atention to details by owners. With the beach fairy close, good food (best pizza I've tried in the area). Ideal place to get a real rest, in contact with nature. Definitely: NO artificial ingredients.

Helpful?
Thank marinpiva
MaunaLoaCrew, Gerente at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with others travelers. We try to make your stay unforgettable and your review make us feeling we're going in the right direction. I hope to see you again to enjoy Playa Avellanas More 

Playa Avellanas, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

We are an older couple and love Avellanas we have come here for many years and own a house here but are renting it out long term. We have had some health challenges while here but Debora and Makaily had a Doctor here within half an hour of my wife falling . They also delivered breakfast to our room when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
MaunaLoaCrew, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Hi Roy and Margaret, thank you for your great review. Was so nice to have you here, everybody in the crew falled in love with you and your friends. We couldn't ask for better guests, enjoying' the time we spent together talking, chilling and playing jam sessions! We were so sad the day you left, we miss you and i... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Hotel consists of 7 cabinas on edge of forest. Cabins spacious with a/c and wifi,, which is often not working. Serves breakfasts and dinners which are good but fairly small, but not alot of choice elsewhere in playa avellanas. Is quite a distance from the beach, about 20 mins walk, not pleasant in heat of day. Great place to stay... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank robzee
MaunaLoaCrew, Manager at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with others travelers; i apologize for the internet inconvenience, i know was a problem of the whole region for the strong wind we had at the time you got here, damaging the lines everywhere. We try to give the best service we can offer, hoping to let you enjoy your stay More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Avellanas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#8 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.0 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Mauna Loa is about 15 min walking distance from Avellanas Beautiful Beach. Our 7 colourful bungalows can host up to 4 people. They are spread in the garden and around the pool for more privacy. Each bungalow is equipped with A/C, ensuite bathroom with hot water, A/C,orthopedic beds (1 double & 2 singles), and a small terrace. The Hotel has a pool (for both adults & kids), a restaurant and a boutique. There is also a common outdoor kitchen for our guests who prefer to cook. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mauna Loa

Address: Playa Avellanas, Guanacaste, Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo > Playa Avellanas
Price Range: $102 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mauna Loa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mauna Loa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Playa Avellanas
Hotel Mauna Loa Costa Rica/Playa Avellanas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay