We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Maxis Kritis 161, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 74100 Greece
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
$56
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (377)
Room & Suite (143)
Dining (60)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#10 of 22 hotels in Platanias
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.1
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice

Nefeli Hotel is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Platanias, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

The rooms offer a refrigerator and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as paid internet access is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Nefeli Hotel features a 24 hour front desk and a concierge. In addition, as a valued Nefeli Hotel guest, you can enjoy a pool and a lounge that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

If you like Greek restaurants, Nefeli Hotel is conveniently located near Sky Park Grill House Restaurant, Taverna Yiannis, and Bella Casita Taverna.

Enjoy your stay in Platanias!

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Babysitting
Kids club
Airport transportation
Parking
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Car hire
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, German, Greek
299Reviews11Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 124
  • 104
  • 44
  • 15
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MariaGeo11 wrote a review Jun 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed in this hotel 31st May-7th June. Hotel is predominantly German which wasn’t an issue although they tended to constantly stare which was extremely uncomfortable. We definitely felt out of place in this hotel. The general manager constantly speaking in German to us. The general manager was EXTREMELY rude in regards to talking to myself and my partner, he proceeded to raise his voice and tell us where to sit at what time in German even though I explained I was greek and my partner was English. This felt uncomfortable and dinner was ran like you was in the military. After this we did not eat in the hotel for dinner again, due to the food being below average and the manager being extremely rude. Food was below par. All Service staff were amazing, very helpful and polite. (Excluding the Manager) The rooms were nice and clean. The location of the hotel is perfect, I would only stay here on a room only basis.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikos Koumnas, Owner at Nefeli Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Maria, thank you for reviewing our hotel. I would like though to express my opinion as well concerning your comments. I would like to begin with the quality of our buffet at breakfast and dinner. Our quality probably is unknown to you as our food consists in great level from local products of high quality. This is because we would like to offer our guests exactly a piece of Cretan gastronomy which is really famous in the world apart from being also extremely healthy. Moreover, I would say that the conversation between you and Nikos-our restaurant manager- was a huge misunderstanding, just because he is used to speak in German, he spoke also to you in German. That is reasonable. Anyway, I would not like to continue this story. If a misunderstanding for you is rudeness, then there is nothing to talk about. Thank you very much again and we wish you all the best Nikos Koumnas and the team of Nefeli Hotel
Read more
1JaneE wrote a review May 2022
Norwich, United Kingdom36 contributions23 helpful votes
We were bumped to this hotel when the one we were supposed to go to cancelled 2 weeks before our holiday! When we walked in I was very surprised at the look of the hotel. It has obviously had a make over recently and looks lovely and well appointed. The rooms are luxurious by other standards. The beds especially comfy and the air con (free!) was very quiet. A Kettle, fridge and hairdryer in the room. The staff were fantastic. This is a predominately German hotel with a smattering of French guests but their English was excellent and they just couldn't do enough to help you - especially Olga in the dining room and Artemis on the front desk. The food unfortunately was just ok. It was an extensive spread but, very often the hot dishes were cold, especially at breakfast. Considering the eggs were fried in front of me, by the time I sat down, they were stone cold, literally. The area is very quite, not in the main town at all but you can get the local bus in very easily and cheaply. If you need an excursion - go to Thalia Travel, just down the road. It is a family run business and their customer service is second to none. (Tell them a blonde English lady recommended them!) Do I recommend this hotel - yes I do. You can always go out for food elsewhere but the room and service can't be replaced.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The rooms nearer the pool are the quiet ones.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikos Koumnas, Owner at Nefeli Hotel
Responded May 16, 2022
Dear guests, We would like to thank you very much for your very positive rating of our Nefeli Hotel. We were very happy about it. We will continue to make every effort to ensure you, our guests, a relaxing, pleasant and memorable stay. For advice and suggestions from our guests, we are of course always very grateful. Thank you again for recommending our hotel. We hope to see you soon at Nefeli Hotel Best regards Hotel manager Nikos Koumnas and the entire Nefeli team
Read more
Raspousia37 wrote a review May 2022
14 contributions7 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel, good food, friendly staff. Close to shops and beach. No complaints Arrived home yesterday booked again for August Well equipped modern room. Cant wait to return Beautiful beach. Cheap prices. Really impressed with the hotel🏖🏖🏖🏖🏖
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikos Koumnas, Owner at Nefeli Hotel
Responded May 1, 2022
Dear guests, We would like to thank you very much for your very positive rating of our hotel Nefeli. We were very happy about it. We will continue to make every effort to ensure you, our guests, a relaxing, pleasant and memorable stay. For tips and suggestions from our guests, we are of course always very grateful. Thank you again for recommending our hotel. We hope to see you soon at Hotel Nefeli. Best regards Hotel manager Nikos Koumnas and the entire Nefeli team
Read more
Chloe' Leigh W wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Hotel was quiet nice, very small pool area. Food seemed to be nice but a shame not really any traditional greek meals on offer. Hotel was full of Germans, who seemed to take priority. TV channels basically all in German, only 2 channels were English and that was a random news channel or an Asian culture channel. Rooms were standard, nothing special but not awful. The door to open the room was like a reubix cube trying to get in, not sure if it was just our room but it was very annoying. Staff were ok. Overall felt out of place being English but the hotel is standard, shame about the size of the pool area and types of meals. They were good with covid rules though, you had to wear gloves and masks when getting food from the buffett. Hand sanitiser on all tables. And very airy with windows and doors open to circulate air. The area is quiet nice, typical strip of shops and resturants. Beach is nice. Took a bus ride to rethymno old town, was nice and worth a visit. Only cost €3.60 for return ticket which you can buy in shop opposit. Over all it was a nice holiday, just a shame to feel out of place in the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikos Koumnas, Owner at Nefeli Hotel
Responded Oct 6, 2021
Dear guests, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am though obliged to comment on some of your review points. Priority in a specific nationality in Nefeli Hotel is out of the question. I am really sorry that you felt this way but it is totally inaccurate. English speaking guests have 4 english speaking channels and not 2 "random" ones in the room TVs. Our rooms are really beautifully decorated and they have the standard size of a 4 star hotel. Actually, every year, we are redecorating parts of the hotel even if sometimes they do not need to be redecorated. But, having many many repeaters from several countries, it is nice that they see always something new when they visit us. The room doors are totally new and I cannot understand why it was so difficult for you. Maybe you are not used to electronic locks. Our staff is really trying to make all guests feel like home and it seems that we are doing a good job according to the comments from our guests. Moreover, I am proud of our cousine-gastronomy as we are mostly using local ingredients and we offer our guests original cretan and greek cousine. You have to keep in mind that greek gastronomy is not only moussaka and gyros. Concering the use of the word "shame" about the pool and the meals, I do not wish to comment on it. I leave it for my other guests. Thank you very much
Read more
Helen S wrote a review Nov 2019
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom121 contributions79 helpful votes
We recently spent two weeks at this hotel and were very happy with all aspects. Yes, the majority of the guests seemed to be German but we were not made to feel second-rate at all. The staff on reception were very helpful with any queries we had. The dining room staff, too, were lovely and friendly. We were certainly impressed with the meals and the range of food available at the buffet both for breakfast and for the evening meal. Our room was spacious and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikos K, Owner at Nefeli Hotel
Responded Nov 17, 2019
Dear guests, We would like to thank you very much for your very positive rating of our Nefeli Hotel. We were very happy about it. We will continue to make every effort to ensure you, our guests, a relaxing, pleasant and memorable stay. For advice and suggestions from our guests, we are of course always very grateful. Thank you again for recommending our hotel. We hope to see you soon at Nefeli Hotel Best regards Hotel manager Nikos Koumnas and the entire Nefeli team
Read more
ChristianZ wrote a review Jun 2019
3 contributions
The hotel is located in a good place and the town is not far away. Easy access to the beach. The staff is very friendly and everything is clean.I enjoyed my stay. Thanks for everything guys.Best regards. Im sure that if i visit Crete again in the future i will choose you again. :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikos Koumnas, Owner at Nefeli Hotel
Responded Aug 29, 2020
Dear Christian, We would like to thank you very much for your very positive rating of our Nefeli Hotel. We were very happy about it. We will continue to make every effort to ensure you, our guests, a relaxing, pleasant and memorable stay. For advice and suggestions from our guests, we are of course always very grateful. Thank you again for recommending our hotel. We hope to see you soon at Nefeli Hotel Best regards Hotel manager Nikos Koumnas and the entire Nefeli team
Read more
the travellers2gether wrote a review Dec 2018
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Firstly they tried to "upgrade" us to a slummy apartment-we were dragging our suitcases from one room to another. The room was horrible, old and only a downgrade from what we had paid. They only cater for german guests- not one channel in english or greek to watch- thought its ok, we have wifi- another failure -didnt work in the rooms at all, so once in your room nothing to do. The staff were rude and obnoxious lying through their teeth. Wanted to leave and they wanted a cancellation fee- I said you are not catering to our needs and feel unwelcome. they took so long to reply that there was nowhere else to stay and we were stuck there. We git sick from air conditioning too. We came to platanes for sentimental reasons being my dads hometown but this hotel left a very bitter taste. I would not recommend it to anyone. They are liars and cheats trying to swindle people. To top it off you can only change pool towels every 2 days after paying a deposit for them. Room does not get serviced on sundays as they do not want to pay staff penalty rates. Thisis not even 2 star service!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: do not go there. pick another hotel unless youwant to get sick
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Anna wrote a review Nov 2018
Varna, Bulgaria191 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
Very good hotel near the beach. New renovation rooms, well furnished and clean. The food was amazing - we had breakfast and dinner. There is a lot of parking space behind the hotel. The animation is good. There is a supermarket next to the hotel if you need something to buy.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikos K, Owner at Nefeli Hotel
Responded Nov 14, 2018
Dear guests, We would like to thank you very much for your very positive rating of our Nefeli Hotel. We were very happy about it. We will continue to make every effort to ensure you, our guests, a relaxing, pleasant and memorable stay. For advice and suggestions from our guests, we are of course always very grateful. Thank you again for recommending our hotel. We hope to see you soon at Nefeli Hotel Best regards Hotel manager Nikos Koumnas and the entire Nefeli team
Read more
Amy S wrote a review Jul 2018
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom10 contributions
If you'd rather avoid vast, bustling hotel complexes then Nefeli is perfect for you. The layout is similar to a Cretian village, creating a private and personal feel. On arrival we were given the opportunity to view two rooms with the possibility of upgrading to a superior room for forty euros each. We took this option simply because the superior room had more modern facilities and the decor was more to our taste. All of the staff at Nefeli will go out of the their way to assist you and greet you with a friendly smile. We would particularly like to thank the reception staff for giving us helpful information on travelling into Rethymnon and making us feel so welcome and valued. On check out we were given a beautiful fridge magnet and box of soaps as momentos of our stay. The food and cocktails at Nefeli are beautiful, there is clear attention to detail and flavour and we enjoyed making our way through the cocktail menu! We'd particularly like to give a mention to Niki, a key member of the bar staff. Even though she was extremely busy, at times the only waitress taking orders, she always had time for a chat with us and would advise us on the best cocktails to order. Niki, we'll miss you! x Overall, we cannot recommend Nefeli enough. The only issues as such were the size of the pool and the amount of sunbeds, though this was not a problem as the beach was only a short walk away, as was Baja Beach Club. We'd certainly like to return to Nefeli one day. Amy and Kev, Middlesbrough, UK.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikos K, Owner at Nefeli Hotel
Responded Jul 31, 2018
We would like to thank you very much for your very positive rating of our hotel Nefeli. We were very happy about it. We will continue to make every effort to ensure you, our guests, a relaxing, pleasant and memorable stay. For tips and suggestions from our guests, we are of course always very grateful. Thank you again for recommending our hotel. We hope to see you soon at Hotel Nefeli. Best regards Hotel manager Nikos Koumnas and the entire Nefeli team
Read more
philip903 wrote a review Jul 2018
Netanya, Israel1 contribution
Difficulty in offloading luggage as the hotel is on a main road. Parking area is round the back of the hotel and a bit complicated to find. The first room we were shown to was down a dark corridor. I had to use the light on my mobile phone to find the door lock It seemed the corridor light only came on at night. This was not acceptable so we returned to reception and were offered a superior room at an extra cost which we accepted. The room (195) was modern, brighter and nicely furnished although lacking in cupboard space, The following day we received a bottle of wine and a large bowl of fruit in the room which we thought was a very nice gesture. The restaurant was busy. Staff were well turned out and very helpful. The food display was excellent and very Club Med, Plenty of choice and very tasty. Obviously hotel popular with German visitors, Nice pool area. When we came to leave the receptionist gave my wife a very nice farewell gift Enjoyable stay
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Took a day to find our way round the hotel . Nice to have had a plan of the hotel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikos K, Owner at Nefeli Hotel
Responded Jul 27, 2018
We would like to thank you very much for your very positive rating of our hotel Nefeli. We were very happy about it. We will continue to make every effort to ensure you, our guests, a relaxing, pleasant and memorable stay. For tips and suggestions from our guests, we are of course always very grateful. Thank you again for recommending our hotel. We hope to see you soon at Hotel Nefeli. Best regards Hotel manager Nikos Koumnas and the entire Nefeli team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nefeli hotel platanias
LOCATION
GreeceCreteRethymnon PrefectureRethymnonPlatanias
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Nefeli Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Nefeli Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Eyes Live Lounge (0.2 miles), Platanes Shopping (0.2 miles), and Mini Golf Beach Platania (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Nefeli Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Nefeli Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Nefeli Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Nefeli Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nefeli Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taverna Yiannis, Pagona's Place, and Bella Casita Taverna.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Nefeli Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Nefeli Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Nefeli Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Nefeli Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Nefeli Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Nefeli Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Venetian Fortezza (3.4 miles), Agia Irini Convent (3.1 miles), and Monastery of Panagia Chalevi (3.1 miles).