We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Swan at Stoford

Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Swan at Stoford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 313: English reviews
Nether Stowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We chose to stay here on our way home from Southampton where we had stayed for 2 nights in an excellent B&B. The contrast was incredible. From a beautifully appointed en suite room to a really tired room with a cracked sink! Being on the roadside of the building you get not only traffic noise but constant sun in our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin P
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight for a wedding close by. The Swan is a typical old coaching inn. The room we stayed in was pleasant with an en-suite bathroom and was warm and pleasant. Bathroom was clean and (surprisingly!) had an excellent power-shower (far better than a lot of chain hotels). However there are problems; the decor of the rest of the hotel/pub... More 

Helpful?
Thank kubilay
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our inn. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and that the staff looked after you well. As a small family business we are renovating the inn as we go (it is sprawling old building which takes a lot of maintenance), the toilets are programmed in for later this year. I will pass... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This started off being just a place where I planned to spend the night after an evening visit to the Stonehenge, but one look at the place ,after reaching, told me there was something special about 'The Swan' in its own right. Sure enough, the photographs adorning the walls of the corridors leading to the rooms told the story of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank karthikbalaji84
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review - I was delighted that you think it is a special venue and pleased that the staff impressed you too. Liz More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i was attending a wedding reception near by and picked this hotel for its location. Would not choose to stay again. Cold rooms, not the most pleasant of bath rooms. The whole place looked abit tired and run down. Trying to cross that busy road to get to the car park is a night mare... god help you if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig M
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am surprised you found our rooms cold - although we do not have the heating on at this time of year. Yes, we are on the side of a road that can be busy at times, but we are an old coaching... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Meals are delicious and beautifully presented. There's lots of choice on the menu. Staff were very friendly and the food was prompt. The place had a very warm and cosy atmosphere. I'd definitely go there again.

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui W
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice feedback, I am delighted your enjoyed your food. We hope you do return one day soon. Liz More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have passed here on numerous occasions and finally decided to stop and go in. Greeted by a very helpful man who took our order. Food was lovely, I had lamb shoulder, loads of meat and really tasty, wife had slow roasted pork belly, which was bit smaller portion but still enjoyable. Some of the other meals going out looked nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gardenerrich
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

It is always a joy to read nice feedback, thank you for yours. We are pleased that you enjoyed your food with us. Liz More 

Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

caught in traffic jam on A303, made detour to Salisbury and on the way found excellent pub stop in Stoford. Food was excellent, small open garden, dog friendly, service was very good and prices very reasonable. Definitely go again.

Helpful?
Thank margaret P
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am sorry you were caught on the A303, but pleased that you visited our inn. We hope you do come back again next time your are passing. Liz More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for my niece's wedding in the next village 5 minutes walk away. I confirmed the booking was still in place days before our visit & asked if i could leave my car in the car park while at the wedding as the wedding was hours before we could check in. The staff were pleasant, the room clean,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason E
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope that you enjoyed the wedding. Liz More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I visited for Sunday lunch and we disappointed with the services we received. The food was nice although I couldn't find any gravy for the Calvary. However the services we received was abysmal. It took ages before we offered menus or anyone came to greet us, after the food arrived we we were not offered and condiments... More 

Helpful?
Thank bunit172
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your food (the gravy is in a well at the front of the carvery). I can only apologise that you did not receive the usual high level of customer service that we pride ourselves on, I will share your comments with the team. Liz More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well it was really a stick a pin in the map about half way between our homes and that's how The Swan came up and we were both of us pleased that it did. A little bit of a strange set up, as I saw the pub on my right as I approached and turned right assuming the car park... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, which we value very much. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and the food, and that Scott, who is a valuable member of the team, looked after you so well. Thank you once again. Liz More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
4.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#6 of 15 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 15 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
5.1 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Price Range: $82 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan at Stoford 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay