We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan at Stoford

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan at Stoford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 383: English reviews
Start your review of The Swan at Stoford
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Very expensive food for what it is £15 for one chicken breast, which came out to be nothing like it was described on the menu. The accompanying vegetables were soggy and over cooked. Also the tables were very sticky, even after being wiped which was off putting. The waitress was great. The only good thing about the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
sallisbury
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On entering there were two other couples eating. Our table was sticky and one of the other couples asked for their table to be wiped clean as I did. However even after this still sticky to the extent that the napkins stuck to the table. The fork was very dirty. The main course was chicken but sadly we did not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mena W
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A few days break the Swan is situated 6miles from Salisbury. A good B&B pub offering an assortment of rooms from couples to family, including the dog. Room clean and well proportioned only downside the TV is rather small. Breakfast were very good going from continental to the full English. A sound 8/10.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blakey3
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review, it is much appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. Well cooked and presented food both at dinner and breakfast. Bedrooms nicely prepared and presented. Rooms facing A36 rather noisy despite triple glazing. Typical country pub restaurant with comfortable rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlanD411
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you found our team helpful and that you enjoyed your food. Thank you for your custom. Liz

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely long walk with friends on a glorious day - we had booked. Nice enough place and staff were pleasant and helpful. Was somewhat perplexed by my lunch - ordered prawn and avocado salad with lemon and cracked pepper dressing....Lots of varied salad leaves, some very thinly sliced tomatoes, about six or seven prawns and a large dollop of Marie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonrd45
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was very worried when you said you had warm prawns as we have robust procedures for defrosting shellfish. The chef on duty had pan-fried the prawns in question, and I apologise if this wasn't what you were expecting. The delays with the coffee was because you were a large table ordering speciality coffees, and...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in for a lunch time meal with elderly parent and our 9 year old son on way back to Bath. Had eaten here a few years ago and menu and food had been lovely so we thought it would be a nice place to stop halfway through our journey and treat my elderly father. Ordered two lots of ham...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments which I will pass on to the kitchen. I am sorry you were not happy with your meal. Had you raised it at the time we would have been very happy to change your food for you. I can only apologise at this stage for your disappointment. Liz

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had not visited The Swan restaurant for some considerable time and decided it would be nice to give fresh management a try and eat away from the city for a change. We ordered a chicken dish for my wife and a lamb shoulder for myself and were both a little disappointed given the medium to high end prices We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brianford
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry if you were not happy with your meals, without specific feedback it is difficult to understand where you felt it let us down, but I will feed back your comments to the kitchen. Liz

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are great fans of the weekend away the country pub the relaxed day spent exploring in a new town or a vigorous day's walking. The Swan has plenty of potential to be a great place to stay yet it seems to miss out on some of the simple things. It is at a great location close enough to Salisbury...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mintmoocher
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the time you have taken to give your views. I have discussed your comments with the team. The windows do get dirty very quickly in wet weather, due to the fact we are roadside, but they are cleaned on a regular basis as you have noted. Liz

Calne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We met as a family for Mothers Day lunch. First impression on arrival was wow to the setting next to the shallow fast flowing chalk stream river. We were not disappointed once inside. The welcome was warm & friendly and the service excellent. Presentation of starters and sweets were impressive and certainly delicious. We all chose the carvery option for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed Mother's Day with us ad hope you visit us again soon. Liz

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very disappointing food standard did not match the price, were over charged for one meal luckily it was spotted!As it was my mother's day treat from my son and we had all travelled a fair distance I felt really let down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with you meal. We do try to rectify any disappointment at the time if you tell us your issues. I am sorry to hear you were over-charged - we have rectified the issue with the till now. I can only apologise.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

140 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Price Range: $78 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan at Stoford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Low number rooms overlook the river but also overlook the road.”
mintmoocher, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't choose room 3”
badger762015, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Advise against room 2”
oebep, Feb 21, 2017 | Read review
“Higher numbers not so near the busy road.”
Philferry, Feb 15, 2017 | Read review
“Don.t eat in the restaurant”
270christinec, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question