We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan at Stoford

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Swan at Stoford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 324: English reviews
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed one night in the family room with our six year old daughter. Others have commented on the road noise, which accepted you can hear but the rooms are double glazed and it caused us little problem. If you accept the hotel for what it is; a traditional coaching inn, then it is comfortable and clean. The rooms are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clive W
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, much appreciated. I am glad you understand the nature of our inn and that you enjoyed your stay. Liz More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Not a good experience, chaotic and not up to standards you might expect at this price. F.eg. the cheapest teabags you can imagine, no taste whatsoever . . . and this is only an exemple. Service is not very satisfying either.

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveladdict48
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your further feedback. I am sorry that you did not rate the service you received or that you did not like our brand of tea-bags. Salisbury is an expensive place to stay in August, due to the number of tourists flocking to see Stonehenge, and our inn is no where near the most expensive. I am disappointed... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Following a great wedding in Salisbury, the bride and groom had booked out a side room at The Swan. We walked in to a very warm welcome from the staff. The room had a skittle alley which the children and adults all enjoyed. The food was marvellous and there was at great atmosphere. Thank you to the staff for adding... More 

Helpful?
Thank danricketts10
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review - we were delighted to be part of the couple's special day and were pleased that everything went so well. Liz More 

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall outside appearance didn't fill me with hope when I arrived but I'm prepared to stick to the old adage "dont judge a book..." Unfortunately the inside lived up to the outsides reputation. Staff were not overly helpful or happy (seriously, how hard is it to smile???). Room was suitable for midday summer Mexican beach temperatures, not great to sleep... More 

Helpful?
Thank MonkeyPebs
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your view. I am sorry that your experience was not great - it is very rare for me to read poor comments about our staff who are on the whole loyal, hard-working and customer focused (as our overall Trip Advisor score bears out). You did stop on one of the hottest days... More 

Brandon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from staying at this hotel with our three children and their families. We were made to feel very welcome and the rooms were lovely. We spent an enjoyable afternoon in the garden by the river where the grandchildren could run around safely. The evening meal was very good and the service excellent as was the breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank bbinnie
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback - the team were delighted that that the anniversary event went well and that you could enjoy our lovely riverside garden which is quite a beauty spot. Liz More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here yesterday after a very busy weekend in Bath. There were 10 of us and stopped for impromptu dinner. The staff could not be more accommodating, we could eat where we liked, kids played skittles. Excellent. I would like to thank them for their lovely welcome. The food was lovely, great portions. It was such a lovely end to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen G
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review We are delighted that you enjoyed your stop off with us especially as part of celebrating such an important milestone. I hope this next year is an especially amazing one for you. Liz More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were on the last leg of a long trip home and decided to stop here for a drink. Upon viewing the menu we were surprised to see some very nice vegetarian options which were much better than the usual pasta or curry options a meat eating chef would provide us. Turns out the chef is vegetarian and has plans... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annie C
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am delighted (as a vegetarian myself) that you found our range good. There really is no excuse for the usual suspects that some restaurants offer these days as there is so much choice of ingredients. I am really pleased you enjoyed our offering. Liz More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely lunch at The Swan today and would highly recommend the Ricotta and Wild Mushroom Tortellini, a tasty and filling veggy dish (even for a meat eaters like me). They also have a good range of interesting soft drinks which make a pleasant change. Service was good as well. I will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed your Tortellini and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Liz More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Having just had a wonderful 5 days in Somerset we drove back past the swan and decided to have a full English breakfast, the Spanish waitress was very polite and attentive. The breakfast was lovely, piping hot and good size portions, good value for money. Will definitely be going in again. Good end to a lovely break.

Helpful?
Thank markglass2014
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and Raquel, a valued member of our team, was very happy to look after you. Liz More 

Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

I have read some of the other reviews and find them bit unfair, the place is not a 5 star palace and there is nothing fancy about it, its a straight forward pub stay, but I paid £48 for an ensuite double room, with a full English and continental breakfast. The car park is on the other side of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fidgety9
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and found us good value for your December stay. Liz More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
4.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#6 of 15 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
5.3 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 15 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
5.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#5 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 stars 766 reviews
4.9 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Price Range: $77 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan at Stoford 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay