We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

La Casona de Cosgaya

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Casona de Cosgaya
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend to visit the mountains of the Picos de Europa and book a package with SPA. Arriving we were well greeted by an Latin receptionist. Pretty room however small. The shower is very strong excellent. We went down to dinner and were Served with the menu we chose the package. Risotto made with fish r vegetables...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CASTELARSantander, Gerente at La Casona de Cosgaya, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit. I´m glad you enjoyed almost everything. Now daýs when yo require a profesional yo can´t discriminate by sex and when a business has only one employee you hav e to chosse the best person, and that is what we have, said by many clients. Hunting trophies are hung in the restaurant and the Access but...

Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

A few miles on from Potes, this hotel offers a truly magical setting, with mountain views, a rippling stream and gorgeous rooms with cosy (yet classy) boutique lodge style decor and fabulous bathrooms - all very spacious and clean. We loved it! The downside was that we appeared to be one of only a few guests, which honestly made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aweight82
CASTELARSantander, Gerente at La Casona de Cosgaya, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and we are very glad you liked the hotel ant the decoration. As you well say your stay was along the week, out of the weekend and at this time of the year, unfortunatle we aren´t full during the week. I´m sorry you didn´t enjoy our restaurant, because I´m sure you would have recomended it...

Bilbao, Spain
Reviewed January 12, 2015

We had a very nice stay in this hotel. Both rooms were big and lovely furnished, specially the bathrooms. We had booked the spa in advance, and we had a nice time although we would have rather liked the water temperature slightly higher. The dinner and the breakfast were delightful, with fresh orange juice and excellent homemade desserts. Our daughters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blanca U
CASTELARSantander, Gerente at La Casona de Cosgaya, responded to this review

I´m very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our breakfast, I can understand your daughters might have not liked the animal in the walls, but the place tries to be a hunting lodge, and I´m sure they were able to identify new animals they might not have seen before. We hope to have you again with us,...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 10, 2014

We had an excellent room in this hotel, but the food was a disappointment. We should have been made suspicious by the huge menu. However, the service is friendly and everywhere is clean. The hunting theme is VERY prevalent, so if you find that sort of thing upsetting this is not the hotel for you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LordHemsworth
CASTELARSantander, Gerente at La Casona de Cosgaya, responded to this review

I´m glad you liked your room at our hotel and that you considered our service as friendly, as we always do our best with our clients. It´s nice to see that you are pleased with the cleaning of the hotel. I´m sorry you don´t like so much the hunting decoration, but it´s true that the hunting theme is our identity...

Reviewed June 12, 2014

There are not a lot of options to stay in this area. From the outside view, we had high expectations. The room was certainly large and very nice (nicely updated bathroom). The check in staff was very friendly. The restaurant and bar area are adorned with stuffed animals and photos of safaris. The major downside was the food. The restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sharon-Stephen
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed the La Casona de Cosgaya in April-2014 as a base to tour the Picos area on a motorbike, The hotel is in a quite location (not far from Potes if you want some noise) although the bar can get lively (in a friendly way) with some of the locals. The room was spotless, fitted with everything you need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eamon w
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 10, 2014

It's a good hostel, in a good place. The surroundings are nice (maybe too full of hotels and hostels), and you have many routes to walk. The hostel is beautiful, and is in a good place, 10 minutes from Potes, and Fuente De. The room was beautiful, and the owner was nice. But there are some negative points, that for...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank shixinhun
CASTELARSantander, Gerente at La Casona de Cosgaya, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment about our hostel and the surroundings. We are glad you liked the area, the place where we are and your room. We are very sorry you couldn´t use the SPA when you desire but after closing the SPA the sunday before your arrival, we had a serious problem in the machine room and the pool...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our first trip to northern Spain.. I hadn't realised the Picos mountains or the scale of the trip..Coming off the ferry in Santander the initial roads are dual carriageway and easy...turning onto the mountains takes some readjustment for a london driver. The hotel is situated 14kms outside of Potes..The views left and right are stunning..Its a quite location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john p
CASTELARSantander, Gerente at La Casona de Cosgaya, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our house. I´m sorry we didn´t speak about stalking and fishing in the area, cause we would enjoyed the chat. Hope to have you back here soon, so we can make your visit hopefully better.

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a comfortable hotel with well appointed rooms.The staff for most of our stay did not speak a word of English and unfortunately as we do not speak a word of Spanish it could be a bit difficult getting our requests across,although the stake were very pleasant.The food was a bit disappointing ,we paid 28 euros for a steak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm F
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Rooms and evening meals of this good hotel are more than up to standard. Why we won't go back is because of the poor breakfast. The ham and cheese was processed, unforgivable when the local produce is so good. The bread was stale on most of our four mornings. Although the quality of the food served up from the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldw190736
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cosgaya
4.7 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
548 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hostal Remona
Hostal Remona
#1 of 2 in Espinama
93 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
#2 of 3 in Cabuerniga
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
#1 of 1 in La Hermida
242 reviews
22.5 mi away
El Bosque de La Anjana
El Bosque de La Anjana
#1 of 3 in Cabuerniga
319 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Maria Manuela
Hotel Maria Manuela
#1 of 1 in Benia de Onis
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about La Casona de Cosgaya

Address: Barrio Arenos Cosgaya | Camaleno, 39582 Cosgaya, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Cosgaya
Price Range: $74 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casona de Cosgaya 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Casona de Cosgaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Casona de Cosgaya staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Oso and Lobo”
 of 5 bubbles 574blancau, Jan 12, 2015 | Read review
“better at the front of the hotal - its quiet our room was partridge”
 of 5 bubbles 937johnp, Oct 2, 2013 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay