We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Coach House Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Coach House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This place has so much potential. The concept is charming, with several outbuildings round a central courtyard complete with a fountain and seating. However, the room we had was absolutely tiny with no sign of the luxury bathroom, trouser press, iron and hair dryer that are all advertised on the website. I would not have minded this if this had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Rooms 20 and 21 very small 22 better. 23 the room above us had extremely squeaky floorboards every time the youngsters above us moved. (They were very inconsiderate . The girl slammed the door, she was outside having a cigarette every hour until partner arrived at 4am. They had a row then they made up and you wouldn't want to... More 

Helpful?
Thank debsdelight18

Travelers are raving about these Royston hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here before. I had a spacious room then, but this time the room wasn't spacious and the bathroom is probably the narrowest one I've ever seen....although it was clean with a working shower. The bedroom was like the one pictured above - compact, small TV, reasonable desk and shelf space. If you're overweight you might not get in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding on 1/8/16. Lovely venue and room was just what I needed. Breakfast was lovely (although no sausages but no issue haha! Owner was very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend this place and visit again!

Helpful?
Thank Coxy_MK
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

We booked the Coach House because we were going to a function in nearby Melbourn. We were very concerned about staying there due to the poor reviews on Tripadvisor. We shouldn't have been because although it isn't what you may expect from a chain hotel, it met our requirements of a clean comfortable bed and a shower. The breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank marstonal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

A very nice friendly hotel, nice food good service and clean spacious room. We used it as an overnight stop to allow us to get to Flying Legends airshow early and this worked very well, lots of people up for breakfast before 7am and the staff worked hard to ensure everyone left happy. Only minor downside wasn't the hotel but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

We ended up in the Bridal Suite when asking for a room with a King Size bed...expecting something very special we found ourselves joking at the long list of issues, poor unfinished decorating, damp smell, wi-fi not working, TV signal so poor not unwatchable, missing door, the wiring and sockets bordering on dangerous and the smallest KS bed ever. Seldom... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
Royston
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Popped in to try the carvery after it was recommended in a local Facebook group and was not disappointed! There was a choice of 4 roasted meats, Yorkshire puddings, stuffing, roast potatoes, mash, and an assortment of veg. All very hot. Large portions, didn't have room to try the puddings. Excellent service. Friendly staff. We will definitely be back. Thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheDgbys
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I and our two children had a lovely stay in the family room. We had a good experience in booking on the phone and a friendly welcome by the down to earth staff. The room was inviting with plenty of light through the velux, the radiator had thermostatic control and the room was warm. The shower was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Baugh
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2016

Meal was awful; all the vegetables were all cold. When I complained that all the vegetables was cold the woman went away to check, came back with a digital thermometer to make some temperature measurements at the Calvary but did not tell us the results, I can only assume that she found the vegetables to be under temperature but did... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Dave M
36michelleg36, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your meal with us. I did check the temperature of the vegetables as promised and found they were up to the correct temperature of 55 degrees. I had other customers after you had left have a meal and I asked them if everything was hot enough and they said it was fine. As for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royston
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
4.7 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sheene Mill
The Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
10.6 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
11.7 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Coach House Hotel, primarily built of local flint and previously known as the Coach and Horses Inn, has maintained its old world charm and offers a warm friendly welcome to all our guests. After major refurbishment by the new management it now has all modern facilities, including free wireless broadband and internet access. Once here you can either relax in our 5 acre gardens and enjoy our traditionally cooked meals.All our 22 rooms have been upgraded and are designed with your comfort and care in mind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel

Address: Flint Cross Newmarket Road | Newmarket Road, Royston SG8 7PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Royston
Price Range: $98 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Royston, Hertfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay