We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 13: English reviews
Cama, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'm arrived Tuesday evening around midnight and I've been in this hotel until Friday. After 22.30-23,00 there is nobody at the reception. No problem because I've warned that I would be arriving late and they give me all the information to enter. at reception there are a lot of warnings that the hotel is undergoing renovations and they apologized for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Massimo_Ronchetti67
Claudia U, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen, responded to this review

Dear Massimo R. Thank you for your return visit to our hotel. We appreciate you as regular guest and are very sorry that your recent stay was not satisfactory. We will discuss your complaints with our team. I hope that your next stay is will be to your complete satisfaction. Many regards More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

Several things disappointed us when we stayed here. Firstly, we booked this hotel mainly on the reputation of its restaurant so to be told that the restaurant was fully booked that evening was a big shock. It has been our experience with other hotels that have popular restaurants that they email you to ask it you need a table reservation.... More 

Helpful?
Thank britabroadUk
Claudia U, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately your stay was not to your satisfaction, which we really regret. As you have already been mentioned, our restaurant is regionally very well known for our meat specialities. For this reason we are very often fully booked days in advance. We inform our hotel guests in the confirmation that we are pleased... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

We were a group of 5 to celebrate my dad's B-Day. The Restaurant is rustic and charming. The service attentive and with a good sense of humor. The food was fantastic. As my girlfriend is glutenintolerant she got all glutenfree food including cookies and homemade Spätzle. Delicious and well worth what we paid for, which wasn't much at all. Highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank egyguru
Claudia U, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thanks for your excellent review. We are happy that you enjoyed the birtday dinner with your familiy. Hope to welcome you again. Many greetings to Zürich. More 

Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Stayed here for two nights and it was a great little find. Really charming little town with some nice shops and restaurants. Rooms were nice and spacious with comfortable beds, there free water, drinks and fruit provided to each guest which is a really nice touch. The hotel is next to a pizzeria and part of a very old butchers... More 

Helpful?
Thank shan4179
Claudia U, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your review. We are always happy to get positive feedbacks from our guests. We are glad that you liked your stay in our hotel and the picturesque surrounding of Arlesheim. We would be pleased to welcome you again. Kind regards from Switzerland More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful Hotel in the centre of Arlesheim. We made 2 short visits and both rooms were very well-appointed and clean and had charming views overlooking the town square. The rooms are full of light and feel clean and fresh. Breakfast was wonderful and the service faultless. I have just booked another week at Zum Ochsen in September.

Helpful?
Thank MissPonsonby
Claudia U, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Liebe Miss Ponsonby Vielen Dank für Ihren wiederholten Besuch und die lobenden Worte. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir Ihnen... More 

Toulon, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

We stayed in room 212, spacious with big bathroom and toilette. View on street in front, but not too noisy. Service, cleanliness, quality of bed, breakfast, free beer and water, everything great. But SFr 489 for two nights, of which one was at a reduced weekend rate, is steep, simply not justified for a hotel in a small village outside... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1aatoulon
Claudia U, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lieber Gast vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung und ihre lobenden Worte. Es freut uns, dass es Ihnen bei uns in... More 

Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Very comfortable small hotel that avoids the Basel traffic if you're business in outside of the city. well appointed rooms, facility kept very clean, attentive and accommodating staff, free WiFi, good breakfast. As well the hotel has a very good restaurant. They are tied to a butcher shop adjoining the property, so the best choices are the meat dishes. Dinner... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DHG716
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Although this hotel is expensive, it is effectively a 4-star Swiss Hotel, so you must expect to pay handsomely for the rooms and food compared to the UK. We had just driven all the way from Calais (and in a lot of rain) but the meal we had in the restaurant was excellent as was the service. The rooms are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bev C
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is the noisiest Hotel that I have ever stayed at anywhere in the World. The church bells every 15 minutes are bad enough, delivery trucks start at the rear from 5:30 am and continue for hours with guys pushing trolleys over cobble stones. Room are spartan, bathrooms small, water runs hot the cold. Tried to an iron but "... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RealDogLover
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

195CH Francs for the room which has the classic Swiss/German single beds with Duvet, so about 20 years out of date, curtains which don't block out the street lights at the front, annoying waiting staff in the Restaurant and 109 CH francs for 2 courses and a glass of wine. You are better than this place.

Helpful?
5 Thank DSG01
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlesheim
Schloss Binningen
#1 of 1 in Binningen
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Hotel Baslertor
#1 of 2 in Muttenz
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Alban
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#31 of 50 in Basel
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Courtyard Basel
#1 of 2 in Pratteln
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoyment of meat with a long tradition There is scarcely another restaurant that can equal the Ochsen’s close association with the enjoyment of fine quality meat. For several generations the perfect symbiosis between our warm hospitality and excellent meat has produced high culinary standards. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen

Address: Ermitagestrasse 16, Arlesheim 4144, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Arlesheim
Price Range: $170 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay