Manotak Lodge

Manotak Lodge

Perrault Falls,105, Perrault Falls, Ontario P0V 2K0 Canada
Traveler (29)
Walleye caught (and released) in May 2017
Dining (1)
Log Cabins with views of Perrault Lake
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#2 of 5 lodges in Perrault Falls
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.8
Manotak Lodge is a four-star fishing lodge with a reputation for fantastic trophy fishing, quality accommodations, excellent meals and friendly service. Nestled on the shores of beautiful Perrault Lake are modern guest cottages, accommodating from two to twelve each. We immaculately maintain our buildings, grounds, and boats, while our proficient staff takes care of your every need.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quaint

Location

Perrault Falls,105, Perrault Falls, Ontario P0V 2K0 Canada
Getting there
Dryden Municipal Airport
38.7 mi
See all flights
Keewaywin Airport
185.6 mi
See all flights
51Reviews1Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 47
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Gregory and Joyce Heavner wrote a review Sep 2022
Columbus, Indiana1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The wife and I had another great fishing trip to Manotak lodge this year. My wife and I have been going there since 2002 except for the two years the Canadian border was closed for Covid. We had a great time and we both limited out on take home Walleye, Northern Pike, Perch, and Bass. We got 5 Walleye over 21 inch we released and also released many in the keeper slot and smaller. My Wife Joyce had a great fight with a 26 ½ in Northern Pike and all the keepers were over 22 inch and we also released many that size, as well as eat Pike every night on the housekeeping plan. Five of the smallmouth bass we kept were 15 to 17 ½ inches and so fat they should have had NFL on their side.
The owners Christine and Steve are great people. The staff was great. I can not say enough about their 1st year Dock Hand Zak. The lodge cleans, wraps, and freezes the fish. The fish he cleaned had no bones and he was always there to help us.
Truth be told, I am a lousy fisherman, but the lakes are full of fish. If we have problems finding a type of fish the owners, staff, and guest can always tell us areas to try that have been productive the past few weeks.
5 Stars for the lodge and we already booked for next year.

Gregg and Joyce Heavner
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manotak Lodge, Owner at Manotak Lodge
Responded Sep 19, 2023
Thank you so much for your review! We always enjoy when you and your wife visit Manotak! We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve V wrote a review Sep 2023
Maple Grove, Minnesota153 contributions71 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived on September 10th and left on September 15th. I could not be happier with the Staff, Accomodations, Equipment, Food and overall excellent service.
The Wait staff and the people who prepared the meals were so very accomdating and gracious! The quality of the meals were 5*(if you left hungry, it was your fault). The shore lunch boxes had everything you needed.
We had a guide(Mike) and he was excellent as well. Fishing was a little slow( weather related), but Mike kept us busy and prepared numerous great shore lunches(shore lunch spots, 5* as well)
All in all, a great trip!
Thank you Christine and all the staff!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manotak Lodge, Owner at Manotak Lodge
Responded Sep 19, 2023
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review! We are beyond happy that you had an enjoyable time and look forward to you returning to Manotak in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy V wrote a review Jun 2023
Branson, Missouri5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great fishing, amazing staff, and delicious food made this the most relaxing and fun vacation for all of us. I can’t wait to come back! The cabins are not fancy but have everything you need. Just bring yourself and your fishing gear and leave the rest to them! We limited out on walleye and northern. The dock crew will help you find the honey holes if you need to, but you can literally catch them anywhere on the lake.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christine Swafford, Owner at Manotak Lodge
Responded Jun 25, 2023
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you were able to catch lots of fish and relax here at Manotak. We take great pride in our service and everything we do. Cabin upgrades are in our long term plans for the resort. See you next year!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert D wrote a review Sep 2012
Saint Charles, Illinois, United States1 contribution12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Save your money.....the owners will hype this place online and not delivery! If you do decide to go....watch your bill! They charge by the square for TP and other items, plan on adding to your bill. They claim to have BIG FISH here....LOL!!! I didn't see any....had a guide for two days (Dave the owner charged us for 3 days because we cancelled the last day) we cancelled the last day with the guide is because for two 8 hour days we caught NO FISH!! Why pay over $300 bucks for a guide....oh and guess what? Guess who had their pole in first when we stopped......THE GUIDE!! He fished more himself then the people paying the bill.............
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manotak, Owner at Manotak Lodge
Responded Sep 26, 2012
We are David & Linda Becker, owners of Manotak Lodge. We hope that every single guest that comes to our lodge has the greatest experience possible and we will try our hardest to make sure that happens. We have been owners of Manotak Lodge for 12 years and have strived to operate the finest lodge in NW Ontario Canada to the best of our ability. In response to the comments made by this reviewer, we are sorry that their trip did not live up to their expectations but they have made comments that are incorrect. Our brochure states all costs for a trip and specifically speaking, TP is included. All costs are reviewed by the guest prior to arrival and then agreed upon again at time of final payment. We continuously review other lodges in our area to compare our costs to theirs and believe we are very competitive considering the services we offer. We hold each guests financial reservation in strict confidentiality so we will not go into details but we want to be clear that this guest did not pay full price that was originally agreed upon at time of booking. Reasons were not because of lack of service by Manotak Lodge but because the guest stated they had to leave early based on an emergency back home. Manotak Lodge on Perrault Lake has been operating as a lodge since 1945 and we hope to continue the fine reputation it has upheld since then. We also hope you read the many other reviews of other guests fishing trips to Manotak Lodge. Regards and good fishing, Dave & Linda Becker Manotak Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob R wrote a review Jan 2012
Atlanta2 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family has been vacationing at Manotak Lodge for approximately 10 years. It started with just my father and I but has evolved into a trip that I now spend with my children (all daughters). I have also shared my experiences with friends and neighbors and have convinced several to join us....and several have. I have been to other lodges and have also enjoyed various fly-in opportunities with other outfitters. None compare with the personal service and attention that are provided by Dave & Linda.

Life at Manotak during the 3rd week of the fishing season has become a priority for my family and has served as the backdrop for some of the most wonderful times I have ever shared with my daughters. Linda treats my daughters as if they were her own, constantly engaging them in conversations that genuinely strive to find some way to improve their experience.

3 things are clearly evident to anyone that has been to Perrault Lake/Manotak Lodge:

(1) There are businesses on Perrault Lake that are growing and striving to improve their customers experiences and there are those that are bleeding every ounce of use out of their boats/motors, hopefully for one more season, or one more week. The best, most powerful and newest boats and motors on the lake are owned by Manotak Lodge. Every season you see a couple new boats, lots of new paint, various improvements to the boathouse, better water pressure in the shower, etc. Perrault Lake is a very large lake with many tributaries and other connected lakes. As such, the 50hp motors at Manotak make for a fast, smooth, dependable ride each and every day that you will only grow to appreciate more and more when you see other lodges' guests huddled as they slowly crawl across the lake; they do not look comfortable at all and they would not be safe in some of the storms that can kick-up. I have nothing personal against Rainbow Point or Cedar Lake Lodge but I can tell you this, they run the same boats they had 10 years ago. They have small motors, old & small boats and the boats clearly do not receive the TLC that they need.

(2) The food at Manotak Lodge is awesome, both in quality and quantity. I have never seen so much food and the menu is constantly being updated. All-you-can-eat ribs one night, NY strips the next.......fantastic. My only criticism is that there is always too much food.

(3) The staff at Manotak Lodge is kind, courteous, sincere and extremely helpful at every turn. Want to catch Muskies or go on a fly-in? Dave knows where. Want to try a walk-in lake that has rarely been fished? Talk to Dave. Are you a vegetarian or do you prefer certain foods over others? Talk to Linda. Not sure how or where to fish? Talk to Dave or any of the other guests as there is a collegial atmosphere at Manotak where we like to help each other.

Want to know more? Call me at --. I could talk about it all day! Why? Because Manotak Lodge is a priority for my family! It's the one trip we will not give-up, ever! Only 149 days to go.......
Read more
Date of stay: June 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian M wrote a review Sep 2011
Hutchinson, Minnesota27 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My son and I just returned from the lodge, where we spent a long weekend trying our hand at some walleye fishing. This was our first venture to Canada fishing together...so I had some concerns I wanted to allay before we left:

1. I wanted to have a boat that could handle the water comfortably
2. I wanted to know we could manage the lake (not too big)
3. I didn't want to worry about cooking for the two of us...
4. And I wanted to have great odds of catching a bunch of fish (at least for my son)

Not only did Manotak address my concerns...it completely took me by surprise. We were fed well (every meal....even a sack lunch for the drive home); we had very comfortable accommodations; hot showers, deck hands to help with the boats, bait, fish, gas, an awesome fishing guide named Bill, a surprise birthday celebration for my son, 44 degree weather :) in the am. Most importantly, my role for the better part of the weekend was 'boat driver' and 'net man'. I ran the net for my son as he caught walleye after walleye. That was the best part for me.

Thanks to Dave and Linda Becker, Rebecca (Irish chef), our guide Bill, and all the others at the lodge who made our experience a great one. My son started talking about coming back after our first day :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Cabins are rustic...very clean and comfortable
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bzers wrote a review Mar 2016
Appleton, Wisconsin43 contributions38 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm writing this review to warn others who may be considering booking a reservation at this lodge. After reading about my experience, I urge you to reconsider! I entered into a first hand agreement and paid money to Manotak Lodge and the new owners have a strict policy of “no refund of a deposit after March 1 (in advance of a stay) for any reason.” This is stated on their website (click: book your stay, rates, deposits section).

After paying a deposit nearly a year in advance, we had a serious family emergency come up that prevented us from being able to go to Canada (we would be too far away from 2 elderly parents who were having serious surgery). Since the issue on our end occurred after the March 1 cutoff date for a deposit refund, we were denied a refund. We canceled a month in advance of our reservation, as soon as we realized our predicament, however there are no exceptions allowed to the policy of no refunds after March 1 for any reason. We asked if we could transfer our deposit to someone else… surprisingly, the answer was no. We were told we will have a credit on an account for future use.

Because of the two surgeries, and the fact that our aging parents are all still living, it will likely be some time before we could return to Canada. After multiple attempts of trying to negotiate a refund with the owners, we were threatened with legal action by the new owners for writing an honest, albeit negative, review. Seriously?

After this first hand experience with this lodge, we’re not planning on going back to Manotak Lodge. Buyer beware! At the time of this writing, cancellations made in less than 30 days of the reservation result in a forfeiture of the entire deposit. Cancellations after March 1, result in a credit being issued. There are no refunds for any reason after March 1 and the deposit required per person is $250/person. See the lodge website to confirm these details.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christine S, Owner at Manotak Lodge
Responded Apr 14, 2016
This reviewer is upset because they feel entitled to an exception to our policy regarding deposits and refunds which was clearly spelled out on our website and they presumably knew as prior guests. The deposit in question was for $100 for two people and had been paid to the prior owners in 2013. We could have asked them to pay the required $500 deposit for 2015 but did not as we were honoring all the old deals from the prior owners. Our refund policy is and has been the same since we purchased the lodge in October of 2014. The refund policy was explained twice to this reviewer and because they didn't get the answer they wanted, a refund, they are writing a negative review. Just because you don't agree with something, in this case our refund policy, does not make it wrong. We have a very generous policy in allowing the deposit to carry forward as a credit indefinitely. We are sorry this person has chosen to think of us negatively for merely following our policy. Should they decide to return and enjoy the wonderful beauty of Manotak Lodge in the future, they will be welcome to do so and have $100 credit on account. And, they will be treated to the same exemplary service from us and our staff that all Manotak Lodge customers have grown to expect and love.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ladymargaret1743 wrote a review Aug 2016
Duck Key, Florida2 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
For 15 years my husband and I fished on Perrault lake and stayed at Manotak Lodge. The Becker's that owed the lodge were wonderful to us. The cabin, boats and dinners were marvelous. Last year the new owners ended all of that for us; the cabin was dirty complete with mice, the dinner was horrible, they had fired the cook and the wife tried to cook. She is a very poor cook and was overwhelmed by it all. The boat and help at the dock were carry overs from the previous owner so they were wonderful!!!!
In the end we left a week early paying them for the week. We felt that was only right, but sadly will not return to what was a Fabulous Fishing Experience!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christine S, Owner at Manotak Lodge
Responded Aug 8, 2016
Thank you for your review from your stay in August 2015. We are sad and disappointed you did not raise these concerns with us personally while you were here a year ago so we could have the opportunity to address them. We all (owners and staff) work tremendously hard and would do anything to help our guests have the vacation of a lifetime. If you have further feedback that will help continue the Manotak Lodge tradition as a world class fishing destination, please give us a call at 800-541-3431.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris B wrote a review Jun 2014
7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What can I say? Just returned from a fantastic week at Manotak Lodge with my three sons. Trust me this place does not disappoint. If you are looking for a full service fishing vacation, you need to give Manotak a try.

From the comfortable accommodations and boats to the tremendous food and a staff (from the kitchen to the dock) that knows the meaning of attentive service, you won't find a better location than Manotak.

And the fishing? Perrault Lake is a Walleye, Pike and Smallmouth factory! Every day we caught plenty of numbers as well as quality fish.

Dave and Linda Becker run a terrific lodge. Give it a try on your next fishing vacation. I will be back for sure.

Chris B.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Don L wrote a review Jun 2014
Springfield, Missouri11 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a perfect week at Manotak Lodge in N.W. Ontario. First of all the fishing was fabulous. Trophy walleye, northern pike and small mouth bass were caught. As far as the Lodge, the owners know what it takes for a great vacation experience. The boats, cabins and overall facilities were great. The food was another highlight. The dock hands and waitresses were all excellent helping make our stay very comfortable. Thank you Manotak Lodge for a vacation I will always remember. I will be back next year.
D.L. Springfield, MO
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Great place and very affordable
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Columbus, Indiana1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hi, I do not usually respond to question on reviews, but in this case I think I will so you have a much better fishing trip. We have always gone on the fishing trip in late Aug. Lures: I have only gotten good results on lures with Northern Pike or Muskie. I got best results on Split rattle lures. Last year saw an abnormal about of northern pike so I assume that this year will be better. We get our limit of pike 24 to 27 inch, ate about 8 pike 21 to 24, and released about 25 pike 21 to 41 inch. They hit on about anything. (worm, minnow, leech) Hard to not to hook them but we do put on steel leader because we lost many to begin with. We fish Walleye, Perch, Bass with 6 pound test and only a 1/8 to 1/4 jig, (No weight). A lot of Northern Pike hit the line and bite through it or break it. The walleye bite so light up there in norther Ontario that heavy test or extra weight makes the hard to feel. KEEP LIGHT. 6 pound test with jigs Walleye: Never had luck with lures. Use 6 pound test, Only a 1/8 to 1/4 oz. jig. Usually use minnows, but most years worms and leeches work very well. Perch: Go to cabbage grass beds, 7 to 11 feet straight down. Worm or leeches. 6 pound test. Jig only. Bass: Ask other fisherman where to go. I have always given other fisherman places and almost all the other people at the lodge will give you places. Hit on worm and minnow (Not lures), But Leaches are candy to those bass. Muskie: Only caught a few, but we don’t fish for them to often. 3-4 inch medium depth lure that look like perch. My wife and I take two rods. 6 pound test for walleye, perch, and crappie. 12 pound test with steel leader 15 to 20 pound for northern pike, muskie, and bass. In late Aug, and probably in Sep the walleye will be on humps 20 to 28 feet deep. Good luck and it looks you like lures, but Worm, Minnow, and Leeches will for best. That late in the season you will have problem finding leeches. I would suggest calling fishing places in Fort Frances or the lodge to save you some. If the can that late in season. Like bait is cheep for the overall trip and well worth it. We always get our limit and plenty of fish to eat since we do housekeeping. Hope you have a GREAT trip, we always do. Gregg and Joyce
Chris B wrote a tip Apr 2017
7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"While housekeeping cabins are available, do yourself a favor and go american plan. The food is great!"
Read full review
James O wrote a tip Sep 2015
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great Ontario Fishing Lodge, not a hotel / motel! Never had a bad day at Manotak! Owners and staff are the best!"
Read full review
Don L wrote a tip Jun 2014
Springfield, Missouri11 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great place and very affordable"
Read full review
Lou C wrote a tip Jul 2013
Maryville, Tennessee59 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Almost all cabins have a lake view, look at the website and pick a cabin that matches your plan and they will try hard to put you in it. We got a new cabin this year and it was great."
Read full review
Tony B wrote a tip Jun 2013
Mount Hope, Canada5 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Read the blog on the Manotak.com website. Dave updates it weekly, and many guests add their comments daily."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Perrault Falls area.
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioKenora DistrictPerrault Falls
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MANOTAK LODGE

Frequently Asked Questions about Manotak Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Manotak Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Manotak Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Manotak Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.