We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Kimi Ryokan

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kimi Ryokan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kimi Ryokan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 267: English reviews
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Kimi is a great place to stay when in Tokyo, despite the 2am curfew. I've stayed there twice now, and each time I've liked the stay. There's wireless internet on the 1st floor, however this is pretty poor in the common area. There's a computer in the classroom that you can use if you're desparate. The common area is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank CurryCricketer
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We planned to stay for a week and we ended up staying one month this is how we loved the place. This ryokan is spotless, it is cleaned constantly throughout the day, has wonderful touches from beautiful flower arrangements to the lovely simple and comfy traditional tatami rooms. The staff is very helpful and the owner super kind and friendly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank FlavioVeruska
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

On viewing the room I thought how tiny, but after a nights stay in the super-comfortable bed it wasn't an issue. The lounge/kitchen with internet and drink making facilities compensated well. The unlimited shower access and many attractive vases of flowers were delightful. Unlike other ryokan you are welcome during the day which is great for tourists who don't know... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mother_plusTeenager
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

My basis for choosing to stay at Kimi Ryokan was primarily the price and I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was a clean and comfortable place to stay for a week. The rooms are small, but so is everything else in Tokyo, and once one folds up the futon, as is tradition, the entire room opens up. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fujiye
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

I stayed at Kimi Ryokan a few years ago for 3 nights. If you are a budget traveler and want a private room in Tokyo, Kimi is a good choice. The room was clean and the futon was comfortable, but there was no TV in the room. I was given a room right next to the shower and it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pooh_bear_tx
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Was about a 5 minute walk from the West exit of Ikebukuro station. Had lots of restaurants/convenience stores around. The room was clean and comfortable and so were the showers and toilet rooms. I was a bit worried about the shared facilites but it wasnt an issue at all as we never had to wait and was always super clean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank sazdunez
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

If you want to stay a cheap and clean place ,KIMI RYOKAN is the best choise for you ,the room is not very big ,but we only come back to sleep ,and the staff and cleaner are all very friendly ,and the owner are very kindly ,he always ask you if you need help . I saw some comment about... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1569676381
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed five nights at kimi Ryokan for the experience and it was absolutely fantastic! The shared bathroom had a bath and a lot of beauty products are provided as well as a hairdryer and curling iron. Wireless was free of charge. It was a very comfortable stay and high value for money. The moriva cafe across the road is... More 

Helpful?
Thank travtrav187147
Leiden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

I stayed here once 11 years ago when I was a student and now returned with my girlfriend to start off our Japan trip. It was bad. By far the worst place we stayed in during our trip. Let me start with the good parts: staff speak english and are helpful, if somewhat uninterested. The common area is ok, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dexterduck
貴美旅館, オーナー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review

Hi, I'm Kisaburo, owner of the Kimi Ryokan. I would like to thank everyone for their reviews, because they help me understand how to make my ryokan better. I was a bit surprised to hear that noise from the showers were waking up guests that stayed in the rooms next to the showers. I had really never considered it, but... More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Coming to Kimi Ryokan was a lovely opportunity that I can't wait to do again in the future. We were in a 4.5 mat private room on the third floor (accessible by lift), which was a good size. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and had great English skills. The room was beautiful and had its own... More 

Helpful?
Thank soundasleepful
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#6 of 55 in Toshima
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
#4 of 55 in Toshima
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Family Inn Saiko
#1 of 55 in Toshima
5.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Ikebukuro

Neighborhood Profile
Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro is an area of massive development. Several thousand tenants occupy two giant department stores and shopping malls, where all sorts of shopping and gourmet foods can be enjoyed. The 60-story building at the east entrance of the station, Sunshine City, is a landmark within Ikebukuro and features an aquarium, planetarium, theme park as well as an observation platform. The popular name for the western side of this area is "Otome Road" (Maiden Road) and there are many shops selling products related to anime with a female theme. It has rapidly become the worldwide headquarters for ‘otaku’ or geek culture.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kimi Ryokan

Address: 2-36-8 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Price Range: $47 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kimi Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimi Ryokan Hotel Toshima
Kimi Ryokan Tokyo, Japan
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Toshima
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Toshima
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay